We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“travelzoo score”
Review of Belhurst Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belhurst Castle
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Erie, PA
Level Contributor
198 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“travelzoo score”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

While cruzing the web, I found a deal on travelzoo for the Belhurst Castle in Geneva NY. I made reservations without delay. I was able to get the date that we wanted and eagerly looked forward to the trip. Upon arrival, we were not disappointed. The castle was wonderful. Our room # 209 did not have a direct view of Seneca Lake, but it was very impressive. It had a King size bed, and a jacuzzi in the room. The bathroom was large with it's own shower. It had a fireplace in the room, but we enjoyed warm temperatures so we did not get the opportunity to use the fireplace. Part of the deal, was $100 of our cost, as a certificate to spend at Belhurst. We enjoyed a wonderful lunch at Stonecutter's. Cost was fare, service was good. Later after visiting a few wineries in the area, we returned to the Castle for a nightcap and dessert. The dessert was delicious, but the service was poor. The next day, we enjoyed the lunch buffet in the main dining hall. The food was wonderful but again the service started out great and then started to go downhill rapidly. Our server acted as though she didn't remember that we were even there. Overall, I gave the Castle a high rate, because considering everything... just know going into the restaurant.....DON'T BE IN A HURRY.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    139
    77
    66
    101
See reviews for
60
410
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My daughter just had her wedding at the Belhurst Castle - amazing staff, service, rooms, top notch wedding coordinator (Carmen kudos!!!) from start to finish. My husband and I arrived Thursday afternoon with enough baggage (including the wedding dress, bridesmaids dresses, 6 cases of wine glasses, 10 pounds of chocolate, cake cutter, guest book, etc, etc.) We were greeted by Carmen, our fabulous wedding coordinator, who very graciously took everything to her office and told me nothing more was required - she and her staff would set up the favors, etc for the wedding day. i had only talked to her once before and had never met her but she made me feel instantly at ease. We went to dinner in Edgar's and had a fantastic meal!!! Delicious... Breakfast buffet in Edgars the next morning with made to order omelettes and a variety of other choices was excellent. The staff and service was top notch. We also used the services of the Isabella Salon and were not disappointed. I had my hair done there for both the rehearsal and wedding. The day of the wedding, Carmen and staff greeted us as we arrived from the church with cocktails - first class! Everything was perfect - so beautifully orchestrated! As I told Carmen, all that was lacking was the EASY button. I would rate this experience as 5+ plus stars if i could. We finished the night at the Stonecutters pub sitting outside around the fire pit and raving about the perfection of the day! Thank you, Belhurst.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDeSignor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Awesome place to relax, eat and drink. My wife and I stayed at Whitesprings Manor in the Dining Room. Very nice room. Brunch is very delicious with lots of food to choose from. Also try stonecutters menu.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wjh282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We were there for our son's wedding. The property is beautiful, and the staff was more than courteous.

However.....

We stayed in the "Study" room on the 3rd floor of the "Castle". Once you ascend the stairs with all of your luggage (no elevator), you can begin to feel the heat in the summer. We confirmed this with a number of the staff, that they cannot cool the place properly. We entered the room to find a single, old window air conditioning unit, and the room was probably over 80 degrees, easily. That was as cool as it got all weekend. We had a miserable, sweltering two nights, and we left. They simply cannot cool the place in the summer. We were offered no deduction on our bill for the horrible experience. The grounds are beautiful, but save yourself money and visit the castle and stay in town.

Also, another member of our party rented one of the cottages on the property. When they checked in to the cottage, they found it also sweltering, and filled with Spiders!! They immediately left and checked into one of the hotels in town. Their children were scared to death.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, I would try the Winery rooms and avoid the castle at all costs, at least duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My wife and I spent two days at Belhurst Castle. The food and service was exemplary. WE drove to Watkins Glenn (15 miles) and returned stopping at the local wineries. The wineries' staffs were very accomodating and even offered tours of the facilitities. We ate at EDGAR'S, set in the castle. Absolutely gorgeous setting over looking Seneca lake. Unbelievable experience and voted "the most romantic place in the Finger lakes". The jacuzzi in the room was a plus. Definelty a great escape from the everyday struggles and a splendid place to celebarte our 44th anniversary.

Room Tip: request one facing the lake. No swimming pool or fitness facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loutwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
3.1 km away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
3.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
3.5 km away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#2 of 11 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
16.4 km away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belhurst Castle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belhurst Castle

Property: Belhurst Castle
Address: 4069 Route 14 South, Geneva, NY 14456
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,888 - ₹ 25,397
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belhurst Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Seneca Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes Wine Region, Belhurst takes you away to a place filled with history, beauty and breathtaking views. Visit our newest addition ~ Isabella Spa, open to the public and perfect for bridal parties. Belhurst also offers a winery and gift shop, 2 restaurants, 2 large ballrooms accommodating 250 people for weddings and 8 breakout rooms for corporate and business meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Belhurst Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belhurst - Chambers In The Castle Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing