We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn at Lake Joseph”
Review of Inn at Lake Joseph

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Lake Joseph
Ranked #1 of 2 Forestburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Inn was wonderful. Beautiful setting, and very pet friendly. Our yellow Lab Luke loved the place, including the lake and trails. Staff was very attentive. Rooms have all the amenities you need with great internet and satellite TV. Decks have grills for cooking. Breakfast was fantastic. Very idyllic.

Also lots of good restaurants in the area. Piccolo Paese in Liberty is some of the best Northern Italian food you will find. Soy is Monticello is also fun, with excellent food.

Room Tip: Eagles' Nest and the Loft are both spacious and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdbartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thanks for letting others know what a great area this is. And we love our furry guests, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Awful - at a cost of of $300 + per night - the house was dirty and smelly. The room was dark and uninviting with plastic flowers that were full of dust. We could not wait to leave, and did so at the earliest opportunity. There was dust on the blinds and windowsill-which I had to clean. Carpet filthy. No coffee in the morning until after 7:30 am - but we were told we could microwave the coffee from the previous night - unacceptable for a B &B.
There was no point in complaining, as we could tell that the owners obviously think this is okay or do not care.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

We’re sorry these guests didn’t enjoy their stay at the Inn at Lake Joseph. As innkeepers, one of the things we most enjoy about this business is interaction with guests; we live on inquiries, suggestions and constructive comments. In many of the hundreds of reviews that we’ve received, our guests mention that our innkeepers are friendly and very responsive to guests’ needs. If these guests had let us know that they weren’t satisfied, we would have made every effort to correct their situation. Another frequent comment that is made in reviews is that guests find our buildings and rooms attractive, bright and clean. However, we’re in the country, and at this time of the year cobwebs and dust can appear almost instantly after a cleaning. Our housekeepers take pride in their work, and are very careful to try to leave the rooms of the Inn in excellent condition every day; but if there’s anything that doesn’t meet our guests’ expectations, we’re ready to make it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

For the past 13 years, my wife and I have enjoyed visiting the Inn at Lake Joseph, and we always look forward to being welcomed back by Ivan, Rue, Matt & Michelle. We’ve always been blessed with perfect weather for kayaking on the private lake, biking, hiking, swimming and just relaxing by the heated pool or the fire circle. Over the years we’ve also been impressed with several enhancements to the rooms and property including the new pool & deck and new lawn furniture and tables throughout the property this year. The Inn’s breakfasts always are delicious, and we especially appreciate the unique open kitchen service with interesting salads, fresh deli items and desserts available throughout the day. We’ve enjoyed visiting many of the interesting local attractions, but during most of our visits we can’t resist staying on the property! This past weekend, several relatives joined us in taking over the main inn for a reunion. Although we love the Inn, we weren’t sure if they would feel the same way, but all of them already are planning return visits with us, as well as visits with other friends and families. Can’t wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGNITTANY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thanks so much for your many stays! We try to be sure that perfect weather is always available for you! Looking forward to your next visit...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We stayed in the Tack room which was so nice and had everything we needed to enjoy a nice relaxing vacation away from all the day to day noise. The Inn at Lake Joseph has a magic lake filled with lots of fish. We love the catch and release program. Boats are included with your package along with a morning breakfast, fresh
bake goods, jams, and very friendly staff. They are very pet friendly which help us make our decision when looking for a get away. They have a beautiful pool that is heated. Bikes, boats, Kayaks are included with your stay.

Room Tip: The Tack room had a nice deck and great hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lynnshelby20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay--we try to be sure the fish are hungry when our guests bring along their fishing rods! Thanks for the many kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We stayed in the Cupola Room, which had a sleep number bed, a jacuzzi (unfortunately it didn't get hot and took an unreasonable amount of time to fill), a full kitchen (stove, fridge, and microwave) and a deck with a grill. The bathroom was really nice with a double shower and rustic decor. The room did not have a dresser, chest or wardrobe to unpack, just a small night-table sized chest. The highlights were the excellent breakfasts, the 24/7 kitchen access, and the fire pit. The lake was nice - we used a rowboat one day and kayaks another day. Enjoyed local excursions: hiking at Mongaup and Bashakill, the Bashakill winery, Museum at Bethel Woods, and dinners at the Dancing Cat Saloon, Pickled Owl, and Ciao Bella. No cell service at all - we were not able to make any phone calls. All in all it was nice, but we would probably go to the Finger Lakes or the Poconos next time to have more to do in a nicer location.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lh0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thanks for your constructive criticisms of the Cupola room at the Inn. We’re sorry you weren’t totally satisfied with your stay—it’s suggestions and comments like yours that we appreciate, so that we can continue to improve the Inn. Unfortunately, we can’t do anything about the cell service here, but we do tell our guests that they’re welcome to use the phones in the rooms—we don’t charge extra for phone calls. Many of our guests are able to connect their phones using our excellent wifi connections (and some guests welcome the opportunity to go ‘off the grid’ and shut down their phones entirely during their stay!)
We try very hard to assist our guests in having a great time while they’re here, and we look forward to having you stay with us again, so that your ‘nice’ stay becomes an ‘excellent’ one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forestburgh
10.9 km away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
30.5 km away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#1 of 6 in Milford
383 reviews
33.1 km away
Courtyard Middletown
Courtyard Middletown
#3 of 9 in Middletown
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.8 km away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
447 reviews
19.7 km away
Catskill Mountains Resort
Catskill Mountains Resort
#2 of 5 in Barryville
54 reviews
29.1 km away
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Lake Joseph? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Lake Joseph

Address: 162 St Josephs Rd, Forestburgh, NY 12777-6230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Forestburgh
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forestburgh
Price Range: ₹ 16,766 - ₹ 26,579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Lake Joseph 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, with working fireplaces, whirlpool baths and private sundecks, is located in Upstate New York on a 250-acre private lake. Like resort lodging, Inn at Lake Joseph provides a variety of summer and winter recreational facilities, including access to a health and fitness spa. But unlike larger hotels, with just 18 guestrooms, a luxurious, yet informal, casual country retreat that assures guests a relaxing, private, rustic mountain lake environment awaits. Very much like the Berkshires, White Mountains, Adirondacks and Poconos, the Catskills surrounding the Inn offer spectacular scenes of lakes and rivers, as well as hiking trails with views of majestic peaks and isolated waterfalls. However, unlike these other regions, The Inn is no more than 2 hours from New York City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Lake Joseph Hotel Forestburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing