We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
307
49
13
17
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
307
49
13
17
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housefire pitother guestscold cutsget awaybeautiful lakepool tablerow boathot breakfastheated poolbethel woodshiking trailcatch and releaseping pongsullivan countyfrench toastwoodstock museum
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Awful - at a cost of of $300 + per night - the house was dirty and smelly. The room was dark and uninviting with plastic flowers that were full of dust. We could not wait to leave, and did so at the earliest opportunity. There was dust on the blinds and windowsill-which I had to clean. Carpet filthy. No coffee in the morning until after 7:30 am - but we were told we could microwave the coffee from the previous night - unacceptable for a B &B.
There was no point in complaining, as we could tell that the owners obviously think this is okay or do not care.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

We’re sorry these guests didn’t enjoy their stay at the Inn at Lake Joseph. As innkeepers, one of the things we most enjoy about this business is interaction with guests; we live on inquiries, suggestions and constructive comments. In many of the hundreds of reviews that we’ve received, our guests mention that our innkeepers are friendly and very responsive to guests’ needs. If these guests had let us know that they weren’t satisfied, we would have made every effort to correct their situation. Another frequent comment that is made in reviews is that guests find our buildings and rooms attractive, bright and clean. However, we’re in the country, and at this time of the year cobwebs and dust can appear almost instantly after a cleaning. Our housekeepers take pride in their work, and are very careful to try to leave the rooms of the Inn in excellent condition every day; but if there’s anything that doesn’t meet our guests’ expectations, we’re ready to make it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

For the past 13 years, my wife and I have enjoyed visiting the Inn at Lake Joseph, and we always look forward to being welcomed back by Ivan, Rue, Matt & Michelle. We’ve always been blessed with perfect weather for kayaking on the private lake, biking, hiking, swimming and just relaxing by the heated pool or the fire circle. Over the years we’ve also been impressed with several enhancements to the rooms and property including the new pool & deck and new lawn furniture and tables throughout the property this year. The Inn’s breakfasts always are delicious, and we especially appreciate the unique open kitchen service with interesting salads, fresh deli items and desserts available throughout the day. We’ve enjoyed visiting many of the interesting local attractions, but during most of our visits we can’t resist staying on the property! This past weekend, several relatives joined us in taking over the main inn for a reunion. Although we love the Inn, we weren’t sure if they would feel the same way, but all of them already are planning return visits with us, as well as visits with other friends and families. Can’t wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thanks so much for your many stays! We try to be sure that perfect weather is always available for you! Looking forward to your next visit...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We stayed in the Tack room which was so nice and had everything we needed to enjoy a nice relaxing vacation away from all the day to day noise. The Inn at Lake Joseph has a magic lake filled with lots of fish. We love the catch and release program. Boats are included with your package along with a morning breakfast, fresh
bake goods, jams, and very friendly staff. They are very pet friendly which help us make our decision when looking for a get away. They have a beautiful pool that is heated. Bikes, boats, Kayaks are included with your stay.

Room Tip: The Tack room had a nice deck and great hot tub!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lynnshelby20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay--we try to be sure the fish are hungry when our guests bring along their fishing rods! Thanks for the many kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We stayed in the Cupola Room, which had a sleep number bed, a jacuzzi (unfortunately it didn't get hot and took an unreasonable amount of time to fill), a full kitchen (stove, fridge, and microwave) and a deck with a grill. The bathroom was really nice with a double shower and rustic decor. The room did not have a dresser, chest or wardrobe to unpack, just a small night-table sized chest. The highlights were the excellent breakfasts, the 24/7 kitchen access, and the fire pit. The lake was nice - we used a rowboat one day and kayaks another day. Enjoyed local excursions: hiking at Mongaup and Bashakill, the Bashakill winery, Museum at Bethel Woods, and dinners at the Dancing Cat Saloon, Pickled Owl, and Ciao Bella. No cell service at all - we were not able to make any phone calls. All in all it was nice, but we would probably go to the Finger Lakes or the Poconos next time to have more to do in a nicer location.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lh0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thanks for your constructive criticisms of the Cupola room at the Inn. We’re sorry you weren’t totally satisfied with your stay—it’s suggestions and comments like yours that we appreciate, so that we can continue to improve the Inn. Unfortunately, we can’t do anything about the cell service here, but we do tell our guests that they’re welcome to use the phones in the rooms—we don’t charge extra for phone calls. Many of our guests are able to connect their phones using our excellent wifi connections (and some guests welcome the opportunity to go ‘off the grid’ and shut down their phones entirely during their stay!)
We try very hard to assist our guests in having a great time while they’re here, and we look forward to having you stay with us again, so that your ‘nice’ stay becomes an ‘excellent’ one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

The Inn at Lake Joseph is extraordinary in every way.The main building, the Inn itself, is a charming large old house from perhaps the first part of the last century, I believe. It's nicely furnished, and you'll feel like family exploring the various rooms. You have access to almost all of the house--which includes rooms of various sizes on the second floor, and on the 1st floor, sitting and dining rooms, a billiard room, a library, a music room with a piano, porches, etc.

The rooms in the Inn are quite attractive, very comfortable with jacuzzis, fireplaces, some with decks overlooking the beautiful and extensive grounds, all with Sleepmaster beds, A/C, Wifi, more. A delicious breakfast is served to order (eggs. omelettes, pancakes, etc.) and delicious food is available free of charge in the pantry 24 hrs (meats and cheeses for sandwiches, chicken and other salads, home made desserts, etc.) Iced tea, coffee, well water, etc. is also always available gratis, and a machine dispenses bottles of wine and liquor at reasonable prices if you didn't gring your own. The innkeepers, all of whom are friendly and helpful, will give you a list of nearby restaurants when you check in. Parking directly in front of the Inn is free.

If you have a large party you might consider staying in one of several unique buildingd set apart, but not far from from the Inn proper, some (or all?) being pet friednly, some with more than one bath, decks, etc. There are also large fire pits available for groups, and the staff will light them and provide mashmellows (etc.--I think). We have only stayed in the Inn proper, but speaking with folk who have inhabited the other dwellings suggest that they offer quite an extraordinary experience.

On the grounds is a wonderful, heated pool and comfortable deck, badminton/volleyball net, a large variety of lawn chairs, many large, comfortable hammocks and rope chairs. A short walk or bike ride away--bikes are free to use--is the amazing lake where you can swim, fish, row boats, or kayak--all at no extra charge. You might also just wish to lounge on waters' edge, or take a hike (a map of hiking trails is provided).

Nearby is the Bethelwoods Center for the Arts which includes the grounds of the original Woodstock Festival (quite extensive grounds--the short route takes you around a small lake and botanical garden), and the Woodstock Museum, vert well worth visiting. There are also often special exhibits, concerts, theater, events for children, etc.

The Forestburgh Theater, about 10 minutes from the Inn, is excellent with several very professional productions offered each summer. Order your tickets online in advance, and come early to enjoy the gardens, have dinner or drinks, take in a cabaret performance between shows, etc.

Monticello is just beginning to come back after nearly boarding up after the demise of the Borscht Belt era grand resorts. But there are some good restaurants there, however, but not much shopping to speak of. We also watched a harness race at the Monticello harness racetrack, but the track has also seen better days. But parking and entrance is free--so check it out for at least a race or two. A race form is $2.

Still, why even much leave the grounds of the Inn at Lake Jospeph? If you are there just to relax, one could imagine your spending most all your time simply enjoying the Inn, its grounds, and the Lake. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Everyone in your party will need to be able to climb stairs. Having a good GPS system for driving is very helpful.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank garyrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thanks for this most comprehensive review! I think you've covered just about everything we offer here at the Inn, and we appreciate your kind words so much. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews