We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to love it but not satisfied!”
Review of Inn at Lake Joseph

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Lake Joseph
Ranked #1 of 2 Forestburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2016

My wife and I stayed in the Dogwood (gold level) on October 7th and 8th. We checked in and loved our room. Private deck,fireplace, awesome bed, and what sold us on booking here....the jacuzzi! We had a lovely Friday evening meeting some great people at the fire pit. Upon returning to our room and preparing to enjoy the hot tub, we realized that we had NO hot water....therefore No hot tub! We were extremely disappointed and went to bed. Next morning...still no hot water so we could not shower before breakfast. I complained to the innkeepers and was informed that this is an ongoing problem and so far the "professionals" they brought in have not been able to solve the problem. We were informed that we would have hot water after breakfast which we did.The problem here for us is that all we received was a "sorry" from the inn and no offer of how they could make up for what we feel was a huge deal. We paid nearly $800 for a 2 night stay.....We only had 2 nights to enjoy the inn and one was a loss. Even upon checkout all we received again was another "sorry"..........not good enough. I did send a message to the inn the night we returned home and did not even receive a response......although the inn is lovely we will not return.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hertzie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

We’re very sorry that these guests’ experience wasn’t as great as it should have been. We work very hard to give our guests a relaxing, fulfilling time here at the Inn, and it’s extremely frustrating for us when something happens that interrupts that experience. We didn’t respond as quickly as we should have, and we apologize for that. We have since spoken with these guests to try to make amends, and we hope that they’ll take another chance with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2016

room, locations, service are wonderful. Location is perfect for summer time. Lake is so beautiful. The best breakfast from all hotels I was stay. And unlimited lunch is very good. Everybody were helpful and pleasant. Defiantly return again.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Spent 4 days here and loved every minute of it. The Inn, staff, and food are great. Very peaceful and the staff are so accommodating. Loved having the deer,chipmunks, etc. walking around while we were relaxing.Wonderful place to enjoy nature. Great place to stay. Will go back.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This Inn is absolutely beautiful. The area is so beautiful and peaceful and the place is so wonderful....the staff is fantastic, so nice and helpful. It is kept so nice, we did not want to leave. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gianna1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Beautiful lake and property. The hosts, Ivan and Ru along with Matt, could not have been more hospitable and welcoming. My husband spent hours fishing at the lake and caught quite a few good size Bass. We also had the unexpected pleasure of meeting the great grandson of the original owner of this beautiful manor house and was fascinated by the history of this family. The website is particularly well done and fairly represents the property. All in all, a wonderful 2 night stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forestburgh
10.9 km away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
30.5 km away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#1 of 6 in Milford
383 reviews
26.2 km away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
319 reviews
28.8 km away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
447 reviews
19.7 km away
Catskill Mountains Resort
Catskill Mountains Resort
#2 of 5 in Barryville
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Lake Joseph? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Lake Joseph

Address: 162 St Josephs Rd, Forestburgh, NY 12777-6230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Forestburgh
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forestburgh
Price Range: ₹ 16,788 - ₹ 26,223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Lake Joseph 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, with working fireplaces, whirlpool baths and private sundecks, is located in Upstate New York on a 250-acre private lake. Like resort lodging, Inn at Lake Joseph provides a variety of summer and winter recreational facilities, including access to a health and fitness spa. But unlike larger hotels, with just 18 guestrooms, a luxurious, yet informal, casual country retreat that assures guests a relaxing, private, rustic mountain lake environment awaits. Very much like the Berkshires, White Mountains, Adirondacks and Poconos, the Catskills surrounding the Inn offer spectacular scenes of lakes and rivers, as well as hiking trails with views of majestic peaks and isolated waterfalls. However, unlike these other regions, The Inn is no more than 2 hours from New York City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Lake Joseph Hotel Forestburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing