We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
305
49
12
17
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
305
49
12
17
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housefire pitother guestscold cutsget awaybeautiful lakerow boatpool tablehot breakfastheated poolbethel woodshiking trailcatch and releaseping pongdancing catsullivan countybilliard room
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed for weekend just to get away and rest. As for the previous review, the Inn is old. It was built in the late 1800's. It is a beautiful inn and the owners managed to keep it's charm and character with their renovations. You have to be able to appreciate those qualities to enjoy your stay here. It's a B&B not the Ritz. I've been to many B&B's, this was worth the money.
The rooms are very clean, the staff are helpful, the owners are full of information and recommendations. We stayed in the Kingfisher room the bathroom is beautiful, the bed is comfortable, the fireplace is romantic and the whirlpool tub overlooking the grounds and the trees is amazing.
We had an in room massage by Maria Pappas and a partner. She was reccomended by the inn. It was fabulous and relaxing. I highly reccomend it. Breakfast is good. There are a few choices of hot breakfast in the morning in addition to a continental breakfast- the homemade granola was delicious. The refrigerator is stocked with drinks and light lunch items.
The grounds are beautiful, the lake is beautiful and walking the trail was fun.
I thought the only downside would be that there wasn't much to choose from for dinner dining. I hoped for a very romantic, fancy dinner but we would have had to drive at least 15 miles away for that and with this weekends snow storm we wanted to stay as close as possible. I'm glad we did! We had dinner at Mr. Willy's. It is pub food and it was delicious. The staff was really nice, our food was very good (and there was plenty to choose from). The owners were so friendly, provided some great conversation and had lots to tell us about the area. I can't say enough wonderful things about it. We loved it! We can't stop talking about how glad we are that we ended up going there for dinner.
I highly reccomend staying here. The innkeepers are really nice, helpful, interesting and informative. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DP808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We came to forestburg to research family history. There were four in our party so we booked two rooms. My husband and I stayed in the kingfisher room and our friends in the bluejay room. After reading the reviews online and looking at the photos we decided this place looked like the best in the area.
The prices are steep but we have paid as much or more for other 5 star accommodations.
When we arrived, our first impression of the outside was that it was a beautiful property but in need of maintenance but we did see a man painting outside on the porch. No problem with that.
Upon entering we noticed a shabbiness to the place. Yes, it is an old home and some of the furnishings are old. I like that but it had stains on the carpeting. Both on the stairs and in the dining room. Now after reading the other comments, I would have assumed this would have been taken care of but overall we noticed a lot more poorly done maintence projects. The wallpaper in our room was never completed properly in the corners of the room and over the doorway leading to the outside. The bathroom tile work was done wrong. The lighting updates were crazy with three switches to turn on three different lights in the bathroom. It just seemed like the owners, either the ones who own it now or the previous ones didn't know how to do restorations or didn't care. As for another comment I read, the plaster buckets were left sitting out in the living room the whole time we were there. Not only that but whoever was doing the plaster repairs, left a glob on one of the paintings on the wall! Do they not know about drop clothes, masking tape, etc..
The food was mediocre.
We found really good restaurants around the area and didn't mind driving to find them. The area is beautiful, we saw alots of deer.
I didn't have a chance to go to the lake but our friends did and had fun using one of the boats provided. The short walk to the lake was not a problem for them either.
Overall, I felt the inn didn't live up to the better reviews and would not recommend it or return myself. It was too dirty for my tastes.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Justsain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivan066, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

We are sorry this guest was disappointed with her experience at the Inn, however she did indicate that those who were with her did enjoy their stay. Never the less, we would like to address her concerns. The day prior to her arrival the Inn hosted a private business group celebration and indeed the carpeting had an unusual amount of staining which was professionally machined cleaned the afternoon of her arrival. Upon careful inspection we discovered in the far corner the Kingfisher guestroom, a wallpaper seam had opened slightly which has since been repaired. The guest claimed the bathroom tile work was done wrong. The tiles on the walls of the sink and shower in the bath are not manufactured ceramic. They are of natural slate, hand-picked and sorted from European quarries. Because they are naturally multi-gauged, (different thicknesses) the use of grout would distract from the esthetic design intent of the style. As for the lighting in the bathroom, one switch is for the overhead general lighting; another if for the vanity lighting and the third is for the stall shower light. A small bucket of compound was inadvertently was left behind in the far corner of one of the public rooms. But no glob of plaster was found on any painting. And finally she said that after reading the reviews online and looking at the photos she decided that the Inn looked like the best in the area. We would like to leave the reader with this thought: Although no destination is perfect, we have earned the reputation of being responsive to our guests’ needs and requests, in addition to offering one of the most desirable getaway destinations in New York State. For almost 30 years, this reputation has been reflected in dozens if not hundreds of impartial guest reviews, as well as many articles by experienced professional travel writers throughout the country. Again, we’re sorry this guest was disappointed, but perhaps she might consider a second visit to experience what we are really all about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We came from as far as CA to help celebrate a friend's 60th birthday; a surprise at the distillery in Bethyl. And we stayed just down the road at Inn at Lake Joseph. What a lovely inn!! It is truly a gem in the woods, just off the lake. Very nice rooms (there were a lot of us and we covered the less expensive rooms up to their deluxe cabins). All were excellent. Lots of history, wonderful proprieter(s), great breakfast, and the only place we saw in Sullivan County that we'd return to. And we did a lot of driving to see what's what. The Inn is a standout establishment!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gvhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This was our first trip here and certainly not the last. It is the perfect place to relax and it's very peaceful. We stayed in the Kingfisher room in the main house. The inn keepers are very friendly and made us feel at home immediately. We checked in and they offered lunch right away. You can go into the kitchen throughout the day as you please, and help yourself to lunch and snacks.
Our room was very cozy....the bed sheets were extremely soft and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and roomy. The room itself was very clean and the jacuzzi tub was pleasant. There was a fireplace in the room and an outside deck too. We slept great and could hear a pin drop in the room.

We didn't see a lot of people even though the place was booked up, that is what's nice about this. You can come and go as you please and use the grounds, as if you are home.
We hiked the trails in the woods and used the row boats at the lake....it was very peaceful and relaxing.
At night we sat outside at the large firepit and roasted the marshmallows that were available in the kitchen.
The breakfast the following morning was delicious. I had an omelet and pancakes and the food was great!
I have no complaints about this place, and will definitely return!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nyrlisa35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Only 2 hours away from the bustling New York you are in the middle of wonderland
of wood and lake.
And very close by are the beautiful Catskill mountains.
The inn is beautiful with wood cottages and spacious rooms.
The rooms are very pampering and make you feel very comfortable and relaxed.
I would increase a little the morning breakfast veriaty but still it was very good
and the service very attentive.
The hosteses of the place are very friendly and you realy feel the change after a busy
week in NYC.

Room Tip: every room differs from the other but all are charming I am sure.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josefhabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews