We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grove Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Dune Point(Cherry Grove)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Belvedere Hotel(Cherry Grove)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Blue Waters Hotel(Ocean Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Clegg's Hotel(Ocean Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
5
8
7
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
8
7
5
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

As a few said previously, some TLC is needed. The beds are only full size, (& a bit noisy) so you may want room w/2 beds if you're large adults. I thought I'd enjoy being by the pool, but it's also by the club, so if you go to bed before 4am it will be loud. Next time I would get a room around back. We did enjoy our stay here. The pool was relaxing & fun. The bartenders were all nice. They had a poolside show on Sunday afternoon. All of the entertainers were great that we saw. Porsche is not to be missed; her live vocals are amazing & spot-on! The Grove is close to all the fun & night life too. I did get a "day pass" at Belvedere to check it out. It's not that far a walk; but it may be if you were leaving the bars at 4am. Their small pool was very cold & hardly worth the $40 day pass charge. But I wanted to check it out...All said & done, we would stay at the Grove again, we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pianoflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

It really is a dump! For $300 (some Ritz Carltons are about the same price) we had the tiniest room...with exposed plumbing from a sink that used to be there...electrical wires just hanging...old unused phone jacks remain.... Non-level floors that you wouldn't want to touch with bare feet, a cheesy FULL SIZED bed for my 6'3 BF and I, a tiny shower, $5 Home Depot plastic blinds that were all wonky, nasty Mexican-blanket-looking bedlinens, and a poster framed in plastic as decor. To add insult to injury, they also demand a $10/key deposit (insulting) which you can't get back anyway if you leave the island early -- since the office doesn't open until 9:30. The construction of the whole place is poor...the upkeep is minimal and the clean-up crew sleeps late -- so if you getup early, it looks like Mardi Gras just went by.

On the plus size... it's a fun place to be. So -- party there but STAY elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the QUIET side if you want any sleep at all.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElizabethR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

If you are looking for a casual stay at a fun hotel, this is a place to be on Fire Island. Great bar, friendly staff, pool, store, dance club. The music will keep you awake if you are on the pool side. The pool atmosphere is lovely (but sadly it closes at 6PM) and the beach is a stroll down the boardwalk. There might be sand in your carpet and there is no maid service, but I enjoyed myself here. Low key and casual. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Pool side is fun for watching, not for sleeping.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackoutpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed at the Grove recently and had a great time. The staff were friendly, the pool was a laugh and the clientele were a fun crowd.

Room was a little noisy at night (especially at weekends) due to people congregating on the balcony at the front of the complex.

Entertainment was generally very good apart from one annoying act that seem to go on for an eternity.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room stay at the back - however you dont get the pool view. Get to the pool early at weekends because the sun loungers get taken by non-hotel guests!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LitchyFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I read through some of the reviews and thought that yes, some people make some valid points but things need to be put into perspective. There are THREE hotels in the Grove and they all have to make an entire year's income in less than 6 months (in reality, the season is about 2 months!) I challenge anyone here to operate a business with 6 months of no income and 4 more months of mediocre income at best. Yes, if you want to go for invasion, you're going to pay a HUGE premium to stay there and you will get the same room that is $69 on a weeknight in May so you may think it's not worth it but if you are going to Fire Island for the room, you're missing what Fire Island is all about.

Staying at the Grove Hotel puts you right where the action is. If you do Fire Island right, you're only going to sleep in your room so you won't care about the TVs (which have all been upgraded to flat screens), it's cool at night so you won't care that they installed an A/C in every room now, you will be out of your room and at the pool or the beach for the day so you won't care that the room is small. What you will notice through all the deficiencies is that the room is clean, the pool is sparkling, the shows are amazing, and the location is the best.

If you have an attitude, get yourself a share in the Pines. If you want to be around people and actually have fun, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: If you're on a budget, they have amazing weeknight specials in the late spring and early fall.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NRC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews