We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly, more improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cherry Grove Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cherry Grove
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surprisingly, more improvements”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

As you will read, this is NOT a New York City 5 star resort. This is a basic hotel with the BEST parties. As I've said in the past, if you have an attitude, stay in the Pines. Cherry Grove is party central.

With the Pavillion closed, EVERYONE seems to end up here during the day. They have added new loungers with umbrellas at the end of the pool. My room had a new floor in the main room and a new kitchenette which had pretty much everything you would need.

The bathrooms still need to be renovated but this place is not about the rooms. It's all about the parties. The poolside shows were great, the nighttime shows have amazing talents and you won't find a better party than the Friday night underwear parties. These alone are worth the price of the room.

If you want luxury accommodations, stay elsewhere. If you want to have the time of your life, stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside are quieter but not silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    7
    5
    10
See reviews for
1
11
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

As a few said previously, some TLC is needed. The beds are only full size, (& a bit noisy) so you may want room w/2 beds if you're large adults. I thought I'd enjoy being by the pool, but it's also by the club, so if you go to bed before 4am it will be loud. Next time I would get a room around back. We did enjoy our stay here. The pool was relaxing & fun. The bartenders were all nice. They had a poolside show on Sunday afternoon. All of the entertainers were great that we saw. Porsche is not to be missed; her live vocals are amazing & spot-on! The Grove is close to all the fun & night life too. I did get a "day pass" at Belvedere to check it out. It's not that far a walk; but it may be if you were leaving the bars at 4am. Their small pool was very cold & hardly worth the $40 day pass charge. But I wanted to check it out...All said & done, we would stay at the Grove again, we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pianoflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

It really is a dump! For $300 (some Ritz Carltons are about the same price) we had the tiniest room...with exposed plumbing from a sink that used to be there...electrical wires just hanging...old unused phone jacks remain.... Non-level floors that you wouldn't want to touch with bare feet, a cheesy FULL SIZED bed for my 6'3 BF and I, a tiny shower, $5 Home Depot plastic blinds that were all wonky, nasty Mexican-blanket-looking bedlinens, and a poster framed in plastic as decor. To add insult to injury, they also demand a $10/key deposit (insulting) which you can't get back anyway if you leave the island early -- since the office doesn't open until 9:30. The construction of the whole place is poor...the upkeep is minimal and the clean-up crew sleeps late -- so if you getup early, it looks like Mardi Gras just went by.

On the plus size... it's a fun place to be. So -- party there but STAY elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the QUIET side if you want any sleep at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElizabethR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cherry Grove hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

If you are looking for a casual stay at a fun hotel, this is a place to be on Fire Island. Great bar, friendly staff, pool, store, dance club. The music will keep you awake if you are on the pool side. The pool atmosphere is lovely (but sadly it closes at 6PM) and the beach is a stroll down the boardwalk. There might be sand in your carpet and there is no maid service, but I enjoyed myself here. Low key and casual. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Pool side is fun for watching, not for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackoutpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed at the Grove recently and had a great time. The staff were friendly, the pool was a laugh and the clientele were a fun crowd.

Room was a little noisy at night (especially at weekends) due to people congregating on the balcony at the front of the complex.

Entertainment was generally very good apart from one annoying act that seem to go on for an eternity.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room stay at the back - however you dont get the pool view. Get to the pool e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LitchyFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherry Grove
5.6 km away
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
#1 of 4 in Ocean Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
5.7 km away
Clegg's Hotel
Clegg's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ocean Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
13.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Islip MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Residence Inn Long Island Islip/Courthouse Complex
30.1 km away
Best Western Bar Harbour Inn
Best Western Bar Harbour Inn
#1 of 1 in Massapequa Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
32.2 km away
Danford's Hotel & Marina
Danford's Hotel & Marina
#1 of 2 in Port Jefferson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Grove Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Grove Beach Hotel

Property: Cherry Grove Beach Hotel
Address: Dock Walk, Cherry Grove, Fire Island, NY 11782
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Fire Island > Cherry Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cherry Grove
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,232 - ₹ 25,858
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove Hotel is Fire Island's Premier Gay Resort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing