We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in a great little ski village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ellicottville
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
203 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a great little ski village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This was a last minute change in vacation plans, but it turned out for the best. Ellicottville is a small town with a booming ski culture. The residents are very friendly and there are plenty of places to eat and shop. Located centrally is the new Wingate which was recently built. The facilities are excellent, with a large enclosed pool and sauna area. Prices are decent considering the amenities provided, and the large free breakfast every morning. The staff are very friendly and they go out of their way to make sure you are satisfied with your stay. The rooms are well furnished with new decor and are very quiet and comfortable. TV's are new flat panels with direct wired cable and free HBO. There is wired Internet at the provided in-room worktable along with free wi-fi in the hotel. Internet speeds were excellent and no connectivity issues. The breakfast featured eggs,bacon,sausage, waffles and assorted breads. Served from 6-10 each morning, the food was excellent. All the restaurants in Ellicottville are just a short walk from the hotel, along with gift shops and a small winery. The beds were extremely comfortable and I look forward to another stay at this great hotel. Checkout was easy with no billing issues.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjsherb, Operations Supervisor at Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for posting your review of the Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville on Trip Advisor. Ellicottville is certainly a perfect destination if you enjoy skiing and our location in the center of the village makes us the ideal choice to enjoy all of what Ellicottville has to offer. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!

Justina Carr
Operations Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    286
    74
    13
    6
See reviews for
269
316
22
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I just came back from a wonderful stay in Ellicottville, New York. This was sort of our Plan B. Two days before our trip to Niagara in Canada, I checked our passports. Mine would expire in 2017; my husband's expired in 2010. Doh! We used Googlemaps to find a place near our landing point of Buffalo. Ellicottville seemed to fit in with what we wanted to do. There's a wine trail nearby, a forest, and other outdoor things to do.

The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance of shops and restaurants. We were greeted warmly by the front desk staff every day as we left and returned. The pool and Jacuzzi were wonderful. A hot breakfast was good.

We asked at the front desk which restaurant had the best chicken wings and The Gin Mill was recommended. Wow, what a place. LOVED IT! But that's another review.

So the day we arrived the weather was mild; about mid-50s. The next morning we opened our blinds and surprise! A freak snow storm. Almost a foot of snow on the ground. It was kind of neat to us since we're from Florida.

The Seneca Casino is nearby (ugh, another review) and Corning Glass Museum is about two hours away.

I would definitely stay here again. The beds were super comfortable and our housekeeper was very nice. It was a relaxing and wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DNovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjsherb, Operations Supervisor at Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville with the Trip Advisor community. We are thrilled to hear that your stay was so enjoyable and that you were able to experience much of what Ellicottville has to offer. It is also wonderful that you were able to enjoy snow while you were here as I am sure that is not something you see very often in Florida! We appreciate that you took the time to post your review and we hope to see you again in the future!

Justina Carr
Operations Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alliston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We decided to book a last minute weekend getaway and the town was recommended by a co-worker who has been there before. We booked at Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville for a standard room with a king bed. When we got there Larry D. have upgraded us to a suite free. The room was amazing. He gave us great suggestions where to go and eat and about the town itself. We went to Balloons one night where they had a band which was good. The people were so nice everywhere we went and very friendly. You felt like you have been there several times before. Larry called to see how our room was, was helpful with the internet etc. We brought in food one night and he offered to set up a table in the lounge for us and turn on the fire place so we could have a private dinner. Driving back we said to each other that he is a guy we need at our place of work. A true customer service professional from beginning to end. I hope the hotel realizes what they have in that employee.

We left Toronto that has everything to come to this place. We will definitely go back there again and hopefully Larry be working.

Thank you for making our weekend away....perfect!

Barrett - Atherley

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjsherb, Operations Supervisor at Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville. Larry and the entire staff are pleased we were able to make your stay so memorable. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Justina Carr
Operations Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

As a front desk associate for another Wyndham property, I cannot stress how amazing this hotel is. I could not find one thing that I did not love about this hotel. This was my second time at this hotel in the past few months and every time I come here, I am greeted by amazing front desk staff (Carol the first time, Larry this time). Larry gave us recommendations on Ellicottville restaurants, we decided to go to "The Barn", and we were very pleased with our food. The rooms are very clean and modernized. One thing I may recommend getting are updated televisions for the parlor rooms. But, the televisions worked with a great picture, the jacuzzi tub worked awesome, and it was all around a terrific stay. We left Carol and cookie cake with our appreciation for all that everyone does in the hotel.
When we were called for our followup stay, our phone didn't seem to be working (or we just didn't know how to use it!). Larry personally came up to our room to make sure our room was exceeding our satisfaction. That is the definition of hospitality customer service: Exceeding Expectations, and that is what everybody strives for in this hotel.
We will be back in June, and there is nowhere I would stay other than the Wingate.

Many Thanks and Warm Regards,
Mike Cardarelli

Room Tip: Every Room is Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeCardarelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjsherb, Operations Supervisor at Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville with the Trip Advisor community. Both Larry and Carol, and the entire staff at the Wingate are thrilled that we had the opportunity to make both of your stays so enjoyable! I am happy to inform you that we are currently in the process of updating all of our televisions with the 32 inch high definition flat panels that are in the majority of our guest rooms. We look forward to seeing you again in June!

Justina Carr
Operations Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Larry at the front desk helped us with restaurants and attractions in the area..nothing was too much trouble.The manager Carol was very helpful when I called with questions.This was the first time we had stayed at a Wingate property.We arrived as guests and left as friends!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnbchihrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjsherb, Operations Supervisor at Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for posting your review of the Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville on Trip Advisor. Both Larry and Carol, and the entire staff at the Wingate are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Justina Carr
Operations Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicottville
1.5 km away
Inn at Holiday Valley
Inn at Holiday Valley
#2 of 5 in Ellicottville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
14.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
15.2 km away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn
25.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springville
26.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Olean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
Address: 11 Mill Street, Mill St & Washington St Intersection, Ellicottville, NY 14731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Ellicottville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ellicottville
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,162 - ₹ 18,128
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Ellicottville Hotel Ellicottville
Wingate Hotel Ellicottville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing