We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The front of Old Smithy situated in the village centre on the village green
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of Old Smithy situated in the village centre on the village green
The view of the house from the village green First floor lounge room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
The front of Old Smithy situated in the village centre on the village green
The view of the house from the village green
First floor lounge room
First floor lounge room with open fire and wooden floors
First floor lounge room stairs to second floor external door leading to stone steps
First floor lounge room seating for eight
Ground  floor living area beamed ceiling
Ground floor living area multi-fuel stove
Ground floor living and dining area
Ground floor dining and open plan kitchen
Ground floor open plan kitchen, dining and living area
First floor double bedroom door leading to bathroom
First floor double bedroom
Second floor landing area and twin bedroom
Second floor twin bedroom
Second floor twin bedroom
Second floor additional single bed on landing area
Second floor double bedroom
Second floor double bedroom
Ground floor double bedroom en-suite shower room
Ground floor ensuite shower room
First floor bathroom, bath and overhead shower
First floor bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Garrigill, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jade C
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

a group of 8 of us decided we needed an escape to the country so decided on this little beauty! generally you think ooh the pictures look lovely but i wonder if its as lovely when i get there! well i can tell you 100% it is! beautiful 3 floor place, it had beautiful views and was exceptionally clean! the fact of 2 living rooms was fantastic also as we had people down the bottom floor and then a number of us on the middle floor watching TV with the beautiful log fire lit keeping us all warm! the price is definitely reasonable for the place and i would recommend this to all! the place is out in the middle of nowhere but would be fantastic for anyone who liked walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful log fires on both floors
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2015
Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed it.
See you soon.
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean G
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“home from home”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival we received a very warm welcome. Everything was as advertised with the property and we soon settled in. Our one week stay at the old smithy was relaxing and at no point were we disappointed with what the property had to offer. We would recommend booking St Johns pool for a fantastic family activity (this is £25 for one hour hire of a pool \ jacuzzi\sauna - literally a stones throw from the house). The local pub was lovely. Recently reopened and the couple in charge were very friendly, a must visit if you're in garrigill. The walks nearby are breathtaking. The local residents made us feel so welcome. Happy to answer any local questions we had. This holiday home will take you away from a usual busy life schedule and takes you back to family basics enjoying all of what garrigill has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2015
Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed your stay.
See you again soon
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Apr 2015
Glad you enjoyed yourselves, thanks for the review.
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
phildisbu...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The first thing to mention is that the area in which the cottage is set is beautiful. The cottage itself is very nice, well-appointed and makes a good use of space. The cottage owner was polite, helpful and friendly, which helps you to be more disposed to enjoying the break to start with. The local village of Alston was beautiful too and you could pretty much buy everything you're likely to need there.

For travellers who look to make an issue of every small thing (see the one-star review) there were some very minor things to complain about but why make issues of insignificant stuff, life's too short to be so grumpy.

The only thing we genuinely found to be an issue was that the cottage wasn't very baby friendly, no cot, high-chair or functioning safety gate available, so we had to feed the baby on knees, bring our own travel cot and get off our behinds and chase the him round a bit more...but that helps to burn off the holiday cooked breakfasts.

We had a great time all in all and would recommend the cottage.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2015
Glad you enjoyed it and we will try to get a high chair in the near future.
Hope to see you again
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCB82
Gateshead
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty looking cottage ruined by what's inside”
Reviewed 27 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

All 6 of us were really looking forward to our weekend break as this cottage has a 5 star rating and glowing reviews. This was not what we found though. The cottage looks very pretty on the outside. From the first moment we arrived it was let down after let down. We had to climb slippery, moss covered stairs to retrieve the key, which only opened the top half of the stable door that is upstairs. My friend had to climb in to go downstairs and let us in. I had to scrub the fridge out as there was mould and dirt inside. There is a toilet on the ground floor and a bathroom on the second. Both toilets needed cleaning, the bath had black mould around it and was dirty. Then we discovered signs saying we couldn't flush toilet paper down the toilets and we're supposed to use the bins provided, we had to empty them ourselves every day!

Beware the carpet on the stairs! We have never ever seen carpet as badly and as dangerously laid, ever! It was overlapping the stairs, it had creased up against itself, ive provided pics to show but you can't see just how bad it was on them! The owner said he only noticed this after I emailed him when we had left, but they'd been down quite a while by the state of them. The heating system was padlocked, yes padlocked! We found how to turn the heating up and down but couldn't turn it on when we wanted to. We had to try and keep two fires going if we stayed in which was hard work. And this was at the end of November into December!

The wifi stopped working on the second night and didn't come back on at all. Apparently you can get a mobile signal if you walk up a hill out of the village.

The village of Garrigill is beautiful, quiet, peaceful and in a great location for travelling and walking. Alston is just down the road, High Force is the other way along the road. It is surrounded by fields and trees and rivers, which make for lovely fresh air and the locals were friendly. I would very much recommend staying in this village if you can, but this cottage certainly isn't 'luxurious' as one reviewer reckons. A big disappointment for us all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The village we were in
Liked least: The cottage
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2015
Thank you for your feedback from your stay at the Old Smithy. We appreciate all feedback so that we can use it to improve our guest’s holiday experience.
The stairs we climbed outside to get the key from the key store were very slippy and quite dangerous.Our reply: The stairs have recently been covered with an anti-slip resin to prevent slips. However we are moving the key store to the ground floor but this is because of the stable door being locked at the bottom.
2)The key only opened the top half of that door so one of us had to climb over the bottom half of the door to get in and go downstairs to open the front door. Our reply: – we are sorry that the bottom half of the door was locked- this may have been due to the last guests who lost the key for the upper part of the door and locked the door via the bottom half –either way we will make sure that we check this next time – thanks for pointing it out.
3)The kitchen needed a good clean, I sat and scrubbed the fridge out before we could put any food in it
Our reply- the kitchen is fully cleaned between each guest – the fridge/freezer was internally dismantled after last guests, shelves/door containers were taken out and washed in warm soapy water in sink, I know this as I did it myself. The fridge/freezer is virtually new(bought new 6 months ago) and can’t understand why it would need ‘scrubbing’.
The toilets had signs saying we couldn't put toilet paper down it and we had to put it in the bins provided! Both of the toilets! How come that wasn't mentioned in the description or the reviews? That was really the worst thing I've ever encountered on a holiday in England!
Our reply – this sign has been up for 2 years and no-one has ever mentioned having a difficulty with using the bin as most people are aware the need to protect the environment by saving the waste put into the water system. The cottage is often let out to groups of 8 and experience has shown that up to a roll of toilet paper per person (we could tell by the colour of the toilet paper in the drains) had been put down the toilet over one weekend, along with baby wipes, face wipes, sanitary pads, etc etc on other occasions.
6)We also had to clean both of the toilets before we could use them
Our reply– both toilets were cleaned with bleach both inside and out and bleach put down them, bins emptied toilet paper provided– (again I can clarify because I did them myself)- after last guests - perhaps they need a final check to make sure any dust that may have settled is removed – thank you for pointing out.
7)The carpet on the stairs from the ground floor to the first floor were so badly "laid" they were dangerous!
Our reply – we noticed this after you left and this has been remedied.
8)There was no reception to make phone calls from mobile phones and the phone box was broken in the village so we relied on the wifi in the house to keep in touch with our families and kids, but the wifi stopped working on the Saturday night and didn't come back on even after we reset the box
Our reply– sorry about this but we have no control over signal strength – we will change the details of the cottage to let people know this and also that they can drive two minutes either way to the top of the two hills out of Garrigill to get a perfect signal so they can communicate with friends. The wifi was working on the Sunday you left when we went up to clean and check the property. But thanks anyway we will make sure guests are aware of the limitations of the wifi
10)The heating timers were actually padlocked so we couldn't get access to them! In winter we found this to be in extremely bad taste. Not all of us could manage going out for the day and struggled to keep two fires going to get some heat
Our reply – the heating was set on timer so that it came on for 4 hours in morning and 6 hours in evening. This is increased when the weather deteriorates.
12)In the bathroom the dirt/mould around the bath was really awful.
Our reply – there was some mould and this has been cleaned and re grouted.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing