We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Dunkirk
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dunkirk
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Closer to a 3.5 but the lake view kicks it up to a 4. I've stayed here a number of times while visiting my daughter at SUNY. The rooms are average but clean. The bathroom is fairly large. The furniture is a bit dinged up. The hallways could use new carpeting. The wallpaper is bubbling in places. The bar area is great and a good place to hang out.(Careful. The bartender pours a heavy drink. I like that!) The restaurant is actually pretty good. I've stayed at the other hotels near the school. I'll keep coming back to this one.

Room Tip: Get lake view if you can swing the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verybigv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

in an area with some pretty poor choices, the Clarion is by far the best. Right on the lake, it feels like a vacation even if its a quick trip to visit Fredonia. The breakfast may be average, but the restaurant it is served in is quite attractive. Has a bar and restaurant, and an outdoor pool that seasonally you would actually use. Rooms are fine.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank somefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We were in Dunkirk for one day and night only. The hotel is about one mile from Point Gratiot where the reunion was held. Reception and cleaning staff were most pleasant. The room was very clean and generally had everything we needed. There were only two sheets of Kleenex in the box. The bed mattress was high on the sides and lower in the middle making us feel like hot dogs in a bun. There was no way to stopper the water in the tub for a bath. Otherwise there were no difficulties. Breakfast consisted of sausage,eggs (hard boiled or scrambled), toast, muffins, waffles, fruit, juice and coffee. Just right for us. The staff were very friendly and cordial. Check-in and out were very smooth.

Room Tip: They have lake and city view rooms in case that makes a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile



Stayed here for the night, while attending a family function in town. Hotel is clean. Staff was friendly. Hotel is located directly on lake Erie and has great views. There is an outdoor pool and lounge on site. Close to local attractions and easy to get to. Will stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

The first room I got, the room was locked and I couldn't get in. The second room I got, the air conditioner didn't work in the middle of the night and I had to move. The third room I got was perfect. Other than these glitches, my room was clean, the mattress was very comfortable and the service was friendly. Breakfast was basic - scrambled eggs and sausage. The only problem I had was in the second room where the air conditioner broke. In addition to that, the blackout drapes did not close fully. Ended up not mattering since I had to move in the middle of the night due to the a/c, but that would have been very bothersome in the morning. Overall, it's a good hotel and I would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank swandive208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkirk
3.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Dunkirk
126 reviews
3.4 km away
Best Western Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn
27.1 km away
Holiday Motel Westfield
Holiday Motel Westfield
#1 of 2 in Westfield
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
White Inn
White Inn
#3 of 3 in Fredonia
148 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Dunkirk? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Dunkirk

Address: 30 Lake Shore Dr E, Dunkirk, NY 14048-1645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Dunkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dunkirk
Price Range: ₹ 6,059 - ₹ 10,077 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Dunkirk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center in Dunkirk offers wonderful views overlooking Lake Erie. Located approximately 24 miles from the Jamestown airport, and 45 miles from the Buffalo airport, 3 miles from the State University of New York at Fredonia, 12 miles from Lily Dale, Chautauqua County has 24 unique wineries that are driving distance from our hotel. The hotel & conference center is conveniently located for your getaway, special event or business meeting.The harbor front boardwalk and the center of Dunkirk is a short walk away and offers dining, recreation and entertainment year-round. Hotel guests are afforded an abundance of amenities, like free hot breakfast bar, free high-speed Internet access, free local calls and free coffee. We have an outdoor heated pool open May through September, as well as an exercise room with Cardiovascular options. We have the Windjammers Restaurant/Lounge onsite open for dinner, In the summer we have our Dockside Cafe open for lunch and dinner with entertainment on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Dunkirk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Dunkirk
Dunkirk Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing