We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful View, Horrible Beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
Ranked #4 of 11 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful View, Horrible Beds!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The weekend of the 13th, my girlfriends and I spent the night at Glenora and we stayed in the cottage, which is located at the bottom of the property as you look towards the lake. The cottage itself was very pretty and perfect for the 5 of us. The cottage had linens, cutlery, dinnerware and other amenities you would find in your own home. They even had a complementary bottle of sparkling wine, which was very nice. My only complaint are the mattresses. If you have a bad back and don't like firm beds, the couches are MUCH more comfortable. For the price we paid to stay, you would think they could afford to have comfortable mattresses.

We originally made plans to eat at the restaurant on site, however, we were told that they closed at 8 so instead we decided to eat at a wonderful Italian restaurant in Watkins Glen called Jerlando's Pizza Co. I will write a separate review on that, but the food was wonderful as was the service. I should also mention that with the rental of the cottage we received a complementary wine tasting in the main building.

Overall, I would go back to their winery for their wine, but I would not stay in the cottage again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    91
    35
    15
    8
See reviews for
29
180
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I stayed there for a night over the weekend. The hotel is located on the hill side and overlooks Seneca Lake. The view from our room (with balcony) is stunning. It is particularly nice during sunset. The room is very clean and the bathroom is big. My only complaint is that the bed is too soft. If they can replace the old style TV with a flat-screen, it would be another plus. Overall speaking, it is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on 2nd floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Our winter get a way included the Select room with a fireplace. Service was outstanding at check in and out. The room was great except for the bed. The mattress had seen better days and the bed sloped to the headboard. We did not find this out till late in the evening and just slept on it rather than go to the hassle of changing rooms at that hour. With the complimentary wine in the room, Glass of Champange at check in, free wine tasting and a contintental breakfast this is still a great winter get a way.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chip56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We were looking to visit the Fingerlakes area and saw the Inn at the Glenora recommended here on Trip Advisor. We wanted to do some wine tasting in the area and have a base from which to travel. The room was very nice with a great view of the lake with vineyards in the foreground and all of the autumn colors in full display. The room was very nice and comfortable. The highlight of this location is definitely the restaurant. We have been fortunate to travel widely and this restaurant matched up with many in large cities. Everything we had was excellent. We also did wine tasting at perhaps a dozen wineries during our stay. We found Glenora to have among the best wines in the region. I was surprised that they had many acceptable varieties beyond the Rieslings for which they are well known. During the excellent tour of the winery, we were told that this is a quite recent event since the locals have now been able to successfully produce Cabernet Savignon, Pinot Noir, Chardonnay, and others. We found a couple of these to rival Napa quality. All in all, a very pleasant stay. WHile there, be sure to visit Watkins Glenn STate Park. See reviews for that.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papabuck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

We got married here so I might be partial :) The service is awesome. Room service- delicious! Quiet. Right on the lake with a balcony or patio in every room. Fire place. Whirlpool tub. Easy parking. Restaurant on site. 5 minute drive to other restaurants in Watkins Glen, NY. My only complaint would be that the bed was not comfortable. We will certainly visit again and again. Watch for midweek specials!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skierkd17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
20.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
13.6 km away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
8.4 km away
The Savannah House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.1 km away
La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
3.9 km away
1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
14.0 km away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars

Property: The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
Address: 5435 Route 14, Dundee, NY 14837
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,196 - ₹ 19,981
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to one of 30 spacious and inviting guest rooms at The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars, each beautifully appointed with Stickley furniture and brand new pillow top mattresses and box springs. Every room features a private balcony or patio with a view of the vineyard and Seneca Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Glenora Wine Cellars Hotel Dundee
Glenora Inn
The Inn At Glenora Wine Cellars Dundee, NY - Finger Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing