We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We'll be back!”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Vourkari, Kea, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Liz L
1 review
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We loved our stay at Villa Thea. This was our second visit to Villa Thea, and we returned for many reasons. The hosts are very friendly, helpful, hospitable, and concerned for our comfort during our stay. The villa is beautiful with many amenities, and is beautifully situated on a hilltop with stunning views. Villa Thea and its hosts have helped us fall in love with Greece. The people are warm and friendly, the scenery and hiking are outstanding, the Aegean Sea is beautiful, and the food is delicious. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORA L
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“we loved it”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Beautiful location for our 4 day stay. The hosts were welcoming and helpful if we needed recommendations or had questions about the house. Great pool with fantastic 270 degree view. Minimalist interior was clean and stocked with just about everything we needed for our stay.

We booked both Villa Thea and the Petra Guest house as we wanted to have the house to ourselves in July 2015.
It was clear to us from the beggining that there are 2 houses- we also saw and the different lisitings- and since we were 10 people it was ideal for us to book both houses.


We also found very helpful that the hosts would come over the weeekends and stay closte to the house in case we needed anythign or something came up.

We enjoyed our stay very much and we would love to come back sometime in the future. The location of the house, pool, view and decor are unbeatable.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giannis l
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great bachelor weekend”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015

we booked both houses for a bachelor weekend. the choice was great and i would definitely recommend it to anyone who needs privacy and at the same time proximity to all the vourkari bars and restaurants. the house was nicely decorated, very well maintained and clean and the pool was a great addition.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy T
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely NOT value for money”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with my husband and family this summer, and although we were very impressed with Kea and the location of the villa, we were extremely disappointed with the owners of the villa. We paid a lot of money for the villa pictured above for 8 adults, however when we arrived we found out we only had the 'top' part of the villa. The villa advertised here and on other websites shows the entire building, top and bottom villa which are rented out separately. We were actually told we had a private villa and sole use of the pool. This was not the case, and although the family living below were lovely, it was not the luxury nor privacy we had paid for.

We also took the opportunity to book 2 hire cars through the owners as advertised on their website. I was under the impression that the owners were facilitating the rental with an official rental company, however when we arrived it became clear that we had paid to rent the owner's private cars. We were then told not to worry about insurance and to say that we had borrowed the cars from friends in the event of being stopped by police.
We went along with this, however after a day driving one of the cars we noticed the wear on all 4 tryes. The tyres were thread bare, cracked all over and defitnely not legal nor safe. When we mentioned this to the owners we were told that they were fine and just due to the heat. This was totally unacceptable so we stopped driving this car for the rest of our holiday. We paid 1,500 euros for 2 cars for our holiday and ended up with the use of only one.
We were eventually reimbursed 400 euros (very short of the value we paid for the car), the owners were not forthcoming in refunding our money and we ended up having to do shuttle runs for the rest of the holiday with the remaining car. The fact that the owners refused to admit that the tyres were dangerously worn and unsafe shows that they are just out to make money from tourists. This is a shame as if it were managed well this villa would be spectacular.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaynet313
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not a private villa its on top of guest house "petra"”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Without doubt a beautiful place , amazing views and peaceful in the main.

You can read my review and think " petty " but beware of being mislead.This is not a private villa. All we needed was a true representation.

We booked in Jan 2014 for 14 nights for August 2014, after various e mails ( can be posted ) and phone calls we were assured that the villa was private we had sole use of the whole facility we would be ALONE. Confirmed again in writing in July 2014.
We arrive only to find, albeit a lovely family, in residence underneath with an 8 month baby.They booked in mid 2013 for a long term rent and were told they could share facilities ( guest house Petra). So obviously the fact that I asked if it were sole use of a private villa and pool and we were completely private was at best misleading, given the fact that the couple had been there since spring 2014. and there was in fact a guest house underneath the villa I had never been told there was a guest house within the villa or indeed other guests present.
This put us on a back foot as we spent our holiday thinking about a baby and noise levels, spending a lot of time whispering due to echo.
We had booked for 8 people , 4 couples and were told There would be no one else there.

On arrival immediately and extensively I was told how expensive everything was and not to be wasteful,something I am certainly NOT.
The accommodation is very well equipped , short of nothing at all and the appliances are new and high end.
I fully understand the need to ensure care and respect and also not waste , but usage has surely been calculated in the rental and there are ways of getting this across better and this needs to be addressed.
There were times when access to the pool was impossible as the residents underneath had family to visit and that would have made 15 in the pool there being 6 sun loungers and quite honestly the pool is not up for that capacity.
Car hire ................ a whole different episode . In a nut shell we hired via the owners , they are not licensed rental cars , something else we did not know and were mislead ,they are their own personal use vehicles which puts liability and insurance under question. one had 4 split ripped tyres,but were told to continue to use them as the sun causes this ????? new guests will be offered this car without tyre changes apparently? later we were asked to tell the police if stopped we had borrowed them from friends......having paid £1.4k for them I was not prepared to enter into this.


The whole time you are there you have the feeling you are in someones home, the owners are constantly checking , particularly the pool which in the beginning is endearing but becomes intrusive,I am guessing they have had guest problems in the past.

The owners stay on site in a small house in the garden. Private this is not.

We decided to vacate and book elsewhere, we haven't asked to be refunded for the cutting short of our stay as basically it was us who decided enough was enough. it really isn't about money its about transparency and honesty and far more importantly safety ,wasting precious time with my family or putting them at risk is not an option , there is no price for this.
on booking they were well aware that this was a time for us as a family to be together as I recovered from major surgery ( I hate to use that ), having not been together for a year, we chose this place to be private away from view of others somewhere I did not feel I was on show..
I am deeply sad to find myself writing this review , I am not vindictive but I wish I knew before booking we would be sharing as I would not have done so, simple really.
I note with great interest that the site has now been updated to say facilities will be shared
with others so in theory this should no longer happen but there was plenty of opportunity to tell me ,so I question why.
Kea is the most beautiful of places with a host of accommodation available for every budget ,we will be returning to the island without doubt.
Polina is normaly quite easy to contact via e mail or text speaks excellent English and will reply.
All in all you vote with your feet, we did we left.
The views are spectacular ,it is a very quiet area , stunning location
.Taverna food is typical and good value , there are plenty of good beaches and places to suit all budgets.
There is an excellent typical tavern on the road to otzia where a lady sells all her own veg , the food is the same as she serves her family and you will be made most welcome,its basic with odd chairs and tables and an old lady asleep under the tree, Greece of old.
local people are very welcoming I heard only 6 british accents the whole time we were there which was amazing.
Try Annas taverna , the nine sisters , actually to be fair try them all because you can not go wrong .....you will be hooked.

.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view and quiet
Liked least: misleading
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing