We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay for a Young Family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diamond Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We are just back from a 8 night stay at Mt. Knoll. We've been going with our young family for a few years and this was the best stay we've had. A nice property with lake views and easy lake access via a good sized sandy beach. Our cabin was "up the hill" and was a 90 second walk to the water. Great for kids...because they always forget something or need to use the bathroom!

Our 8 year old son had a blast as usual...in and out of the water, but also made a nice group of friends while we were there. Our 2 year old daughter loved digging in the sand on the nice clean beach that was raked each morning. They alos loved running around the large lawn area, using the swings and trying to figure out how to play the throw-back shuffle board game:)

The log cabin we stayed in was great...met our needs and had a good amount of space. A large screened in porch was great for games with the kids and a relaxing spot for the parents after our kids hit the hay.

Our cabin, and all of them, are modest and a bit of a throw back. Yes they have AC and flat screen TVs, but the furnishings are a bit dated:) They are clean and provide a full kitchen and outdoor grills and picnic areas. Except for the rainy day you aren't going to spend much time sitting around the cabin.

Overall top ratings for the location, the view, the amenities, the owner (always there to help...from cleaning the grill to starting a fire on the beach...) and the people! It's a family place and the other guests have always been great. The property is big enough to do your own thing and then to gather with friends on the beach or for evening sparklers and smores with the other kids.

The different cabins are each a bit unique so I can't speak to each of them. If you are looking for the most modern furnishings, you won't find them here, but for a clean comfortbale place with good people and a great location it can't be beat!

Room Tip: All but units 9 and 10 have a lake view...some are really spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Eddie7070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2015

Our family stayed at Mt. Knoll in late June 2015 for a long weekend. It is a small, family-owned property, with 10 cabins and direct access to the lake.

We had a great experience: Our unit, number 6, was perched on the side of the hill overlooking the lake. The cabins, built in the 1940s, have a vintage feel to them, but are very well maintained (even though, admittedly, some of the chairs have become a little rocky over time): The windows are new, the sinks, toilet, shower stall, carpets, in short, everything that tends to wear and tear over time, are either new or very clean and neat. The place makes you feel like a time traveler (in a good way, in my opinion) with its individual pull chain lamps in the bathroom or the little valances and pictures. A big bonus was the screened-in porch overlooking the lake - perfect for breakfast and coffee or wine and candlelight. The place is very child-friendly and there was hardly anything we had to do to child-proof the cabin. The owner, Mike, was extrememly welcoming and accommodating, supplying us with everything we needed, such as a high chair (which was also an interesting vintage piece). He was always busy maintaining the property, making sure the beach was neat in the morning, the grass cut and the cabins clean. As he lives on the property he was always available; this gives the place a more personal feel and a sense of trust and security.

Mt. Knoll is a small, quaint, unique place that gives you a glimpse of how past generations spent their summer vacations, and yet it meets the needs of the modern traveler (Wifi, flatscreen TV, microwave, a big fridge). So if you're looking for a more personal Lake George experience away from the hustle and bustle and a great value (and don't mind vintage), this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Bruno98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2014

I wanted to like this place but it needs so much to make it a great place. Its a shame becaue it really is right on the lake with a nice beach. The cabins haven't been updated since the 70's. I realize its a cabin on the lake but I'm talking the couches are from the 1970's. Instead of getting new ones he just covered them with couch covers from the 80's. The playground set is decrepit with missing steps and my kids got a million splinters. The owner is creepy who is obsessed with catching you doing something wrong. If you ask him for garbage bags he only will give you 2 at a time so you have to make 8 trips for the whole week. I asked him for the wifi password 4 times and each time he said he would get it to me later? I never got it. I went to the blue lagoon next door and they happily gave me their wifi password and said I could use their washer and dryer. It seems like the only people who like this place are the ones who came here as kids and now bring their own. In other words, it has pure sentimental value. Not true value. If the owner just put a little money into the place, it could be great. Sorry. We will not be back

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank pwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed at Mt. Knoll the last week of August 2013. It was a last minute booking when our other rental fell through. It was a stroke of luck that Mt. Knoll had a cancellation and we were able to get one of the cottages down on the lawn by the beach.

The cottages are quite dated but cute and immaculately clean with nice porches and views of the lake. The kitchen is well-appointed for basic cooking, and there's heat and A/C if needed. The cabins sit back from a lovely, sandy beach perfect for children as the swimming area is 3 feet deep at the deepest end. There are kayaks and robots there for guests to use.

This is a beautiful spot, although you should be aware that there are other hotels/cottages on either side, which means a fair amount of people down at the beach and the possibility of some outdoor noise in the evenings. It didn't bother us, but if you don't know the area you might be surprised at how built up it is all along the shore. Our children loved meeting the other families and playing with the other kids.

Of all the places in the area, Mt. Knoll has by far the nicest beach and the smallest number of guests on the beach. It's virtually empty compared to other places.

Michael, the owner, works tirelessly to keep the cottages and grounds in perfect condition. He's also on hand with advice/tips about the area, to help start the evening campfire, or just to see if you need anything. Terrific management and service.

The cabins do need an upgrade when it comes to the mattresses and the living room couches. Very uncomfortable. Other than that, I'd have to say this place is just perfect. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Cabin 1 is closest to the lake and has the nicest porch and view, but they're all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We discovered Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages on Tripadvisor and made a last minute reservation for the third week of June which is before the busy season. It was like stepping back in time. The cabin was immaculate and the screened porch was the best. If you are looking for a simple relaxing atmosphere, this is the place to go. We will be back next year. Thanks Mike

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows and additional egg crates for the bed and don't forget to bring beach tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diamond Point hotels
0.3 km away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
240 reviews
0.3 km away
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
0.9 km away
The Juliana
The Juliana
#4 of 9 in Diamond Point
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#3 of 9 in Diamond Point
111 reviews
0.5 km away
Hill View Cottages
Hill View Cottages
#1 of 6 in Diamond Point
55 reviews
1.6 km away
Treasure Cove Resort
Treasure Cove Resort
#7 of 9 in Diamond Point
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages

Address: 3658 Lakeshore Drive, P.O. Box 115, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824
Region: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Diamond Point
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A seasonal family owned resort, open May through Sept., located in Diamond Point, 3 miles north of Lake George Village. Our private natural sand beach offers a peaceful and panoramic view of the lake, its islands and surrounding mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages Lake George/Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing