We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed 5 DAYS. Because the website is...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Villas On Lake George
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed 5 DAYS. Because the website is vague we had low expectations. Partial lake view is a streach. However room was clean. Grounds is nice. Deck over boats has great view. My only complaint is the cost, but if you get past that overall it's a good stay compared to other Lake George motels on the water

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les08844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2010

I've been going to the Thunderbird since I was 2 years old, and I still look forward to it every year. These reviews actually insult me, and I feel like no one gave this place a chance. Every year I've went the rooms have been clean. The service is excellent, and the owners are like family to us. Sure it isn't a 5 star hotel, but you aren't really going for the room, you're going for the beach, which is right on the hotel and is beautiful. You can rent boats, jet skiis, or go tubing. The hotel is also located near various shops and restaurants. I love the Thunderbird, and I hope to stay there for many more years.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rawr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Let me start by saying that the water front area is pretty and the units down near the main house are nice. However, if you're not one of the few who get to stay down there, the alternative might not be what you expect. Their website doesn't really explain that only a few of their units look the way the pictures portray them. At $230 per night we were expecting something similar to that, but got something very different. We understood that Lake George is expensive in July so don't think we were expecting a palace. This place though was very much a dive motel once you step inside the average unit. We stayed there one night and then moved on. To be fair, the manager gave us a full refund so I commend them for that. The first unit she gave us was listed as two bedrooms, kitchen and living room with one bath. However, the reality was this place was more like a low end Manhattan studio apartment. It was extremely small. There was a futon couch that was as hard as a rock and no other lounge type chairs to sit in. The appliances and furnishings were all old, low end and the place contained almost no aesthetically pleasing characteristics. This unit was supposed to house up to 5 people but the rooms were so small it was more like a collection of closets than individual rooms. The living area was no more than 8ft by 10ft. I immediately asked for another larger unit. The manager agreed and took us across the driveway to the other building and showed us a larger unit. However, this unit had no additional places to sit (same futon and no other chairs) and was extremely dirty. When opening drawers we found large spiders, dead flies and the carpets were so full of dirt we couldn't let our son sit down on them. Our view out the front window was the row of units across the driveway. Standing on the porch our view was of a big tree and buildings closer to the water, the walk down to the water wasn't too far though and once on the other side of a large building it was quite pretty. That wasn't enough of a redeeming quality though. We packed up the next day and found a much nicer place. We had to pay about $600 more for the week, but the difference was extreme. We had a clean and cozy villa, right on the water, with lots of comfy chairs and a beautiful view of the water and mountains. Lesson learned. Don't trust pictures on the Internet.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tspanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

i have been going to the thunderbird every year for the past 13 years with my family. some years we get come with as many as 18 people and 6 hotel room while sometimes it's 9 people with 3 rooms. we have never had a problem with the service at the hotel. the rooms have always been neat and efficiencies have always been stocked. if we ever needed anything the stuff has always been helpful and friendly. it has a great lake side area and is nice when traveling with young children. we like to take out the canoes and rowboats with are included with the stay. if you want to rent a boat the services are available at this hotel. when we have a lot of people up we like to have a BBQ which is always nice. we intend to go back end of this summer or next year. the summer would not be the same without visiting the Thunderbird hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank animorpher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

After reading the reviews I was very apprehensive. We had 3 rooms and went with 9 friends. We had a WONDERFUL time. The grounds were beautiful and the staff was incredibly accomodating.Granted it wasn't a luxury room however our room was clean, the AC was fine and it had cable. We spoke to many other satisfied guests who told me they had been coming for years.
Will look forward to returning next year.
Stuart Z

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank luckypartsclerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
9.1 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
4.9 km away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#13 of 89 in Lake George
188 reviews
1.7 km away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
2 km away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#3 of 9 in Diamond Point
111 reviews
0.5 km away
The Juliana
The Juliana
#4 of 9 in Diamond Point
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas On Lake George? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas On Lake George

Address: 3908 Lake Shore Dr, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824-3011 (Formerly Thunderbird Resort & Marina)
Region: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Diamond Point
Price Range: ₹ 21,761 - ₹ 21,825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Villas On Lake George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakefront family friendly Resort, onsite marina, onsite spa services, onsite cafe. Groups, reunions ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Resort And Marina
Thunderbird Resort & Marina Hotel Diamond Point
The Villas On Lake George Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing