We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owners, You Can See They Are Trying”
Review of Buena Vista Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buena Vista Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Delhi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 February 2017

After reading the bad reviews here--on several recent trips to Delhi I drove an hour extra to stay in Phoenicia b/c there's just nowhere else to stay in Delhi, which is crazy. Finally we decided to give this place a try since we wanted to at long last spend an evening in Delhi and not have to drive home. It's a pretty good location--kind of a long dark walk if you don't want to drive into town (drink at PICCs--local, good fun). The new owners of the Buena Vista Motel are clearly new to the hotel trade. It looks like they are trying and learning as they go. I think the desire to be good is there. Until they get their sea legs, it's best to see the room before you book. They are renovating the whole place slowly so some rooms are much better than others. I didn't like the overpowering cleaner smell in one room so asked to see another. It kinda feels like a college kid's dorm. This motel is not for anyone who cannot overlook that. Breakfast was simple continental norm (several cereals, juice, coffee, toast...). The management I interacted with were very very nice. Room rates are inexpensive.

Room Tip: Ask to see rooms first--they differ in quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DGrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex-Jerry-Managers-, Manager at Buena Vista Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We always appreciate input from our guests so we as management can do a better job in accommodating our guests. Especially thanks in pointing out particular flaws in our rooms. We are now using a much better cleaning system to give our rooms a fresh smell rather than cleaner smell. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2017

This hotel has the distinction of being one of the worst one's I've ever been in. Room #115 reeked of the cleaner/disinfectant so bad I needed an inhaler to breathe. Couldn't really tell that the mis-matched, antique bedding and towels were even clean. Quite a time to get warm water for a shower and the neighbors bathroom fan sounded like a jet engine in the walls. No hair dryer. The sofa was old and stained with the legs off of it sitting on the floor...

I am not sure I even want to know about all the people coming and going all night in the room below me, the furniture moving around and the party noises. Never again will I choose a place like this out of convenience!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex-Jerry-Managers-, Manager at Buena Vista Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

We are sincerely and respectfully sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our inn. We are still doing improvements to our inn so we will take everything you have said into account as it will greatly benefit us. We hope you can come again when our improvements are 100% finished. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

I called to confirm my late arrival and the front desk seemed confused. The door was unlocked (as promised) upon arrival and the room was filthy. Not suitable for a family, nor a person that has allergies. We did not stay, we drove 35 minutes to get a clean room.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Regina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex-Jerry-Managers-, Manager at Buena Vista Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Hello Ms. Regina A,

We are very sorry you were displeased with the room that you were given, it is very possible that the room you were given was by mistake as we would never give an unclean room to a guest. If you can give me more info on the matter I'm sure we can clear things up or at least help us improve on our inn. Thank you for your input as we will surely use this to further improve our inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 25 October 2016

This is my second time staying, I stayed 2 years ago and once again last week. I see they made some renovations. they also have new managers and stuff, they are nice and helpful, always put on a smile and seem happy to help

Don't expect the taj mahal but for the price its fair. Rooms are clean and not much i could really complain about.

It's also pretty much only place to stay in the area,
I come up every once in a while for a conference so I plan on coming back.

Overall I enjoyed my stay, no complaints hope this helps

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex-Jerry-Managers-, Manager at Buena Vista Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We always appreciate input from our guests so we as management can do a better job in accommodating our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

As long as you are not expecting luxury accommodations, the Buena Vista will probably work for you. It's your very basic old-school small-town motel. It's plain, comfortable and relatively clean. Don't expect fancy. However the price is less than you might expect to pay at a chain hotel. In Delhi, it's pretty much the only game in town. The staff is friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay a good one. Breakfast is included, but is pretty basic; coffee, cold cereal, donuts and toast. We ended up driving to the diner in Delhi, which was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank runnerskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex-Jerry-Managers-, Manager at Buena Vista Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We always appreciate input from our guests so we as management can do a better job in accommodating our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delhi
23.5 km away
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Holiday Inn Oneonta
#5 of 9 in Oneonta
271 reviews
24.2 km away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
25.6 km away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
118 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Inn

Address: State Hwy 28, Delhi, NY 13753
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Delhi
Price Range: ₹ 5,481 - ₹ 6,254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buena Vista Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the new owners of the Buena Vista Inn. We purchased this business in April of 2016. Our number one goal is, and always will be customer satisfaction. We will work hard to provide the best customer service possible. Much of the motel is old and outdated which is why we are currently undergoing an in depth renovation project that we plan to be completed before the summer season ends. Please feel free to write reviews and comments so we can better improve our business. Customer input is always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Buena Vista Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing