We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed ”

Cross Gates Fish and Chips
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Crossgates
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Traditional fish & chips served in contemporary surroundings. We cater for gluten free. Poached fish is also available. We do an afternoon special between 2-3.30 which includes small haddock & chips/tea/bread & butter at £5.25 per head. Please note we close Sunday/Monday/Tuesday We open Wednesday/Thursday/Friday/Saturday. Our opening times are 11.30am until 7.30pm. Please note last orders in the café are 6.30pm.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Have been many times in the past and enjoyed every visit. However now no table service. Not quite the same eating out of takeaway boxes and using plastic cutlery and drinking tea out of paper cups. It’s just a takeaway now. Also fish & chips greasy. I don’t think we will be going back in a rush. Plenty of takeaways where we live.

1  Thank PBRinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, Owner at Cross Gates Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your views - we are really sorry you did not enjoy your last visit - as explained in a previous comment we did not take the decision lightly to change the shop to takeaway with seating area - it has worked well that's why we are disappointed you had a bad experience - as regulars you will know how dedicated Tim is in producing excellent fish & chips and we apologise for yours being greasy - this is not something that has been mentioned before in any comments and Tim has taken your comments on board.
Please feel free to call again and have a chat with us.
kind regards Tim & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Having visited many times for the restaurant facilities to be told you can sit in but no waitress service was very disappointing.
Plastic cutlery vending machine hot drinks and no atmosphere and told we didn't charge for those facilities anyway so we didn't make any money from it being a restaurant .

1  Thank myers1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, Owner at Cross Gates Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to make a comment - we are really sorry that you didn't like the new concept - we did not take the decision lightly to change and having been in numerous times you will know that we like to look after our customers and we certainly having changed the concept because we weren't making money out of it we did it for various reasons and I apologise for whoever told you that.
We don't have a vending machine the tea is made freshly in a pot and poured into takeaway cups.
I'm sad that you haven't mentioned the fish & chips as you will know by being regulars that Tim puts a lot of hard work into producing brilliant fish&chips and that certainly hasn't changed.
If you do come back in again please feel free to come and have a chat.
Sue & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Truly the best fish and chips you can eat, all fish is line caught and succulent, three different sizes, with crispy light batter. Chips are not fatty , and tang curry sauce to supplement! Superb!

Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, Owner at Cross Gates Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Thank you very much for your kind comments.
Hope to see you again soon.
Tim & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Excellent - all round. Staff and Friar in particular take pride in their work which results on the best fish and chips we have consumed in a long time. We had this place(?) recommended to us and have not looked back since. Well worth the journey. Excellent, well done. This is one chippie that well deserves the accolade of Chippie of the Year.

1  Thank Charliestu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

we sat inside and ate our meal which was very comfortable. The fish and chips were lovely, cooked to order and not greasey , the staff were all very helpful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tntvasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, Owner at Cross Gates Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Thank you for your kind remarks - hope to see you again soon.
Tim & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cross Gates Fish and Chips also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Seamer, Scarborough District
 

Been to Cross Gates Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing