We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why do I pay for this?”
Review of Lake N Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake N Pines Motel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
“Why do I pay for this?”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Sure it's a room with a bed, but the only good thing about this place is that it's clean. There's no water pressure; the towels, bedding, pillows are so thin that it's almost comical (plus the quality is frightening - your " towel" permits you to exfoliate & dry simultaneously after your drizzle); the sink, beds, chairs, etc., are from a1980s time warp (some of this stuff isn't even broke, yet); the free breakfast is so bad that it could be almost funny (there is nothing there that tastes remotely like food - I'm still puzzling over how they make dark brown water that doesn't even smell like coffee, but that's what it must be because that's what the label says on the pot). A few rooms have a lake view, but all are noisy because the walls are as thin as the towels. And please don't ever leave something behind because you'll never see it again even though the very "nice" front desk person will act concerned, it's just a smoke screen - they'll promise you they'll make every effort to return it to you, but the promises are much like their "coffee."

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GracieMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    58
    31
    14
    10
See reviews for
68
52
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Nice old school motel but up to date, neat and clean. great outdoor pool, as well as indoor pool, sauna. we enjoyed our stay and are planning to come back in the fall.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tripster980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We have never stayed in Cooperstown and decided upon a last minute trip for the holiday weekend. We knew our accomodation choices might be limited and that we would probably have to pay a bit more, but we were STILL disappointed. The place is rustic and dated, but we could have put up with that if we were getting the hotel as described on the website. When they say "lake access," you start thinking swimming, fishing, boats, maybe even a beach or lakeside dock with chairs, etc. The lake is gorgeous and so are the views but the skinny balcony outside our room with the ac unit droning in the background is not what we would call "relaxing." The only access to the lake was a skinny, delapidated pier with no accomodations for swimming or fishing! Oh, however, they did advertise fishing pole rentals for $20 each and paddle boats, two that you could borrow. Okay, so we would cope and use the two pools at the hotel. The outside pool was so small that once a large family took it over, there was no place for my daughter and I to take a dip. We went to the indoor pool which was filthy and over-chlorinated. There was very little ventilation and we both left feeling lousy. Plus both pools closed at 9pm, not giving tourists the chance to enjoy the sights and fit in a swim on the same day.
The staff was not friendly at all. When I asked the clerk to recommend a place for dinner, she sighed and complained that she had just gotten through telling another family the same thing. Hello?! That is your business!
The decor in the room was extremely dated - paneling, indoor-outdoor carpet, polyester bed spreads, etc. But that would have been okay. The mattresses were SO uncomfortable that we almost opted for the floor! It was like laying on a block of wood covered by foam that was only an inch thick! The air conditioner was weak and barely cooled the room despite it's loud running noise. The shower trickled out in a small pour like that from a hose with no pressure. The t.v. remote didn't work properly and we could not adjust the channel or volume.
But hey, there's free breakfast! Stale cereal, institutional bagels and watery coffee - Yum!
So you're thinking, well you get what you pay for . . ..BUT, this place cost us over $200 a night!! We've stayed at Motel 8s that were better than this and they only cost $50! Perhaps if the rate weren't so high, it wouldn't have felt so bad to be there. We just kept feeling like the biggest suckers in the world. PLUS, the hotel is NOT in Cooperstown - another deceiving fact. It is in Springfield and is a good 15-20 minute ride in to the actual downtown area of Cooperstown. Never again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yogitrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cooperstown hotels

Bar Harbor, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Lake and Pines Motel was highly recommended, but we were told to be sure to ask for a room on the top floor when we made our reservations. When we arrived, we were told there were no rooms available on the upper story and they were booked solid. The family in the room above ours had two young boys who spent the time running and jumping around their room. Since we were leaving in the early am, we tried to turn in by 9, but the noise from above us was so loud we couldn't sleep. Finally a member of our party got dressed and went to the office to see what could be done about the children above us. The clerk was on the phone and acted annoyed that someone was interrupting her personal conversation. When she finally ended her conversation (10 minutes later) she said she'd speak to the family in the room above us. I think it only made things worse as the children seemed to be even louder and they continued until 10:30 pm.
The child in our party was looking forward to a swim when we returned from Cooperstown. Due to a thundershower, she had to settle for the indoor pool. However, there was green slim in the pool so she was unable to go into the pool.
We were very disappointed in our stay and will probably look elsewhere when we return.
Insist in a room on the upper story if you want to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailor04609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

This place came highly recommended by another Cooperstown motel that does not book out of season, and I'm glad they did because this place was very much worth the cost: very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. The serene lake and beautiful surroundings were the perfect accompaniment to our Cooperstown visit. (The previous review from October mentioned the chilly room but failed to mention the efficient heating system that warmed the room within a few short minutes. Also we saw no lady bugs. They must not be an issue in Massachusetts. But in Ohio (as in NY), the lady bugs appear in full force around October and are relentless through no negligence of homeowners, motel proprietors.... We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueseraOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
16.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
10.4 km away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
17.1 km away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#10 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 km away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
2.2 km away
Lake View Motel
Lake View Motel
#6 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake N Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake N Pines Motel

Property: Lake N Pines Motel
Address: 7102 State Highway 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,385 - ₹ 12,716
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake N Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake 'N Pines Motel offers a tranquil and picturesque view on beautiful Otsego Lake. Our guests can enjoy the indoor and outdoor heated pools, the only motel/hotel in the area to offer both, and a large picnic area overlooking Otsego Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lake N Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake n Pines Hotel Cooperstown
Lake n Pines Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing