We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bayside Inn & Marina
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Cooperstown Inn & Suites(Cooperstown)(Great Value!)
US$ 281
US$ 255
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Otesaga Resort Hotel(Cooperstown)
US$ 301
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hickory Grove Motor Inn(Cooperstown)(Great Value!)
US$ 144
US$ 133
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 280
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cooperstown B and B(Cooperstown)(Great Value!)
US$ 218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Front Hotel(Cooperstown)(Great Value!)
US$ 200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 218
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 225
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Main Street Bed and Breakfast(Cooperstown)(Great Value!)
US$ 241
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cooper Inn(Cooperstown)
US$ 464
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
204
146
39
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
204
146
39
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree kayaksthe cottagescharcoal grillview of the lakebedroom cottageroom was cleanglimmerglass operaswimming areastay there againbaseball hall of fameopera housepicnic tablesthe lower levelin towncooperstown areastaff was very friendly and helpfulgreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Our family met at Bayside during the Youth Baseball Hall of Fame gatherings in Cooperstown. I had not seen by brother and his family in many years. This resort is quiet, simple and offering all the peace and beauty you could ask for. The staff is wonderful, the rooms were spotless and we could move between motel rooms and cabins with ease. The teens thoroughly enjoyed the canoes and kayaks and swimming in the water which was comfortable for a spring fed lake. I had just come with my granddaughter from the poshest hotel in Niagara, and couldn't have been more pleased with this location. Resting on 9 mile Lake Otsego, in the rolling foothills of the Adirondack Mountains, this peaceful resort was for us. Not fancy, but calming and restoring. One family rented a house/cabin that slept 8, with a full kitchen. We loved Bayside.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcarcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Since 1992 I have been returning to the Bayside Inn and Marina during my frequent visits to Cooperstown, New York. Whether I've been alone, with friends or on intimate romantic escapes, for me the Bayside Inn captures the essence of the area’s best qualities. There is nothing more serene and tranquil than experiencing sunrise on the Bayside Inn's own private beach on the banks of pristine Lake Otsego although sunsets are a close rival. I enjoy utilizing all of what the Bayside’s facilities have to offer including the lakeside grills and gazebos for afternoon or evening cookouts and taking out a row boat, kayak or canoe which are included amenities. The woodsy grounds are meticulously kept and fresh flowers regularly adorn the main building and motel's exterior. I've stayed in both the motel rooms and cottages which are clean and comfortable and over the years have come to feel like a second home. The seven-mile distance from Cooperstown is close enough to be convenient and far enough to feel secluded and less than a mile from the Glimmerglass Opera House. In the evening the absence of artificial light provides a spectacular view of the night sky. Over the years I've also stayed at some of the other hotels in town, including the glorious Otesaga resort hotel and its Cooper Inn annex, but I prefer to stay at the Bayside for its spectacular location and serene surroundings. It's one of my favorite places in the world!

Room Tip: The upper level of motel rooms have better views than the lower levels. The cottages are great for extended stays of a week or so and are a little bit closer to the lake. The cottages closest to the lake also have the best views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We've stayed here for the past two years with a group of friends. We've attended shows at nearby Glimmerglass Opera and the hotel is a short distance from that venue. We've had the balcony hotel rooms which are comfortable and have a nice view of the lake (yes as others have said, partially obstructed). The facility is good for groups with several areas to meet, a pavilion, a deck behind the office and a common room in the main building. There was a nice selection of books and games in the common room.

Although, it's a major road, we were able to take a nice walk in the morning along route 80. We like supporting local businesses and this was a nice alternative to the "chain hotels"

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunshineFL221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Our family visited Cooperstown for my son's Dreams Park tournament. We rented Cottage K and found it to be a nice place with enough room for all 5 of us. Overall, we enjoyed the location, the views and the amenities.
However, we would recommend the following upgrades:
- Our TV's DVD player did not work - suggestion to upgrade the TV
- Have more dishes in the cottage, including more prepartion dishes such as measuring cups, baking sheets, pizza trays, etc
- Upgrade the mattress on the fold-out coach/bed - it was very flimsy and uneven

Overall, we enjoyed the place but we felt $1600 for the week was a bit steep when compared to other rental options around the Cooperstown area
We had friends staying in a house on Arnold Lake for the same timeframe and they payed $1500 for a full house and it's amenities ... just something to consider

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckyYost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

I am glad that this family enjoyed their stay at Bayside and I appreciate their upgrade recommendations. Unfortunately, it was not brought to my attention that the DVD player didn't work. I do plan to upgrade all TV's in the cottages for the 2013 season and will strongly consider the other recommendations. Currently all cottages include linens, pillows (1 per twin; 2 per double), blankets and comforters, basic cookware and glassware, cork screws, dishes and silverware, dish towels, iron and ironing board, can opener, toaster, blender, coffee maker and filters, microwave oven, charcoal grills, garbage bags, toilet tissue, cable TV with HBO, air conditioning, dish soap and hair dryer.

Bayside offers more than most private houses in the area and all of our room and cottage rates include full use of all amenities on the property. Our guests have access to the fitness room, game room, hospitality room, small sandy swimming beach, picnic areas and canoes and kayaks. There is something at Bayside for everyone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Bayside Inn is a nice place to stay if you are visiting the Cooperstown area. Although the rooms are older, they are very clean and well kept as are the entire grounds. The Inn is a 15 minute drive from Cooperstown up beautiful Hwy 80.

The rooms with a balcony have partially obstructed views of the lake. The private beach is located a short walk down the hill and has a sandy swimming area and some beach chairs.

The staff is very friendly and eager to make your stay more enjoyable. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony if you want a view of the lake. They have canoes and kayaks available for use during your stay.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meangreenfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews