We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, pleasant view but no good swim beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayside Inn & Marina
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
188 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Clean, pleasant view but no good swim beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

BayView is pleasantly staffed, with motel rooms w/lake-facing balconies at road level and cottages on a steep slope to Lake Otsego. It was unreasonably expensive ($280/ motel room) because of Baseball Hall of Fame induction weekend, but if you choose another time it's probably reasonable. Clean rooms, recreation facilities, free coffee (but no breakfast available). Main drawback; though it has a small beach at the foot of the property, the swimming area is between 2 marina docks thus likely to be a bit gunky, and the maximum depth is 4 feet, width not enough to swim more than a couple of strokes; so we merely sunned & read. Convenient to Glimmerglass Opera just north of it perhaps a mile.

Room Tip: Choose Rooms on upper level if you book motel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baysideinn1, Manager at Bayside Inn & Marina, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
I am pleased that this guest enjoyed her room and our staff at Bayside. Unfortunately, Hall of Fame Induction Weekend is the most expensive weekend to be in the area and the rates of all of the accommodations are at a prime during the weekend.

There is a detailed description, along with pictures, of our beach and swimming area on our website. According to New York State Department of Health Regulations we are required to have a roped swimming area for the safety of our guests and especially small children. Adults are welcome to swim past the roped area, at their own risk. The docks don't make the swimming area any more gunky than it normally would be, the lake is naturally gunky in spots. I also want to note that the swimming area is smaller than normal because of the weather that we have had. In addition to having an extremely mild winter with little to no snow, we are also experiencing a drought. It has certainly been a strange season for most of the country and my thoughts are with everyone that is experiencing the loss of their homes due to much more extreme weather than we are facing. In hindsight, I feel lucky that the only thing that I can complain about right now is the size of our swimming area, which no one can change but mother nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    125
    31
    4
    10
See reviews for
147
126
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Our family met at Bayside during the Youth Baseball Hall of Fame gatherings in Cooperstown. I had not seen by brother and his family in many years. This resort is quiet, simple and offering all the peace and beauty you could ask for. The staff is wonderful, the rooms were spotless and we could move between motel rooms and cabins with ease. The teens thoroughly enjoyed the canoes and kayaks and swimming in the water which was comfortable for a spring fed lake. I had just come with my granddaughter from the poshest hotel in Niagara, and couldn't have been more pleased with this location. Resting on 9 mile Lake Otsego, in the rolling foothills of the Adirondack Mountains, this peaceful resort was for us. Not fancy, but calming and restoring. One family rented a house/cabin that slept 8, with a full kitchen. We loved Bayside.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcarcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Since 1992 I have been returning to the Bayside Inn and Marina during my frequent visits to Cooperstown, New York. Whether I've been alone, with friends or on intimate romantic escapes, for me the Bayside Inn captures the essence of the area’s best qualities. There is nothing more serene and tranquil than experiencing sunrise on the Bayside Inn's own private beach on the banks of pristine Lake Otsego although sunsets are a close rival. I enjoy utilizing all of what the Bayside’s facilities have to offer including the lakeside grills and gazebos for afternoon or evening cookouts and taking out a row boat, kayak or canoe which are included amenities. The woodsy grounds are meticulously kept and fresh flowers regularly adorn the main building and motel's exterior. I've stayed in both the motel rooms and cottages which are clean and comfortable and over the years have come to feel like a second home. The seven-mile distance from Cooperstown is close enough to be convenient and far enough to feel secluded and less than a mile from the Glimmerglass Opera House. In the evening the absence of artificial light provides a spectacular view of the night sky. Over the years I've also stayed at some of the other hotels in town, including the glorious Otesaga resort hotel and its Cooper Inn annex, but I prefer to stay at the Bayside for its spectacular location and serene surroundings. It's one of my favorite places in the world!

Room Tip: The upper level of motel rooms have better views than the lower levels. The cottages are great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We've stayed here for the past two years with a group of friends. We've attended shows at nearby Glimmerglass Opera and the hotel is a short distance from that venue. We've had the balcony hotel rooms which are comfortable and have a nice view of the lake (yes as others have said, partially obstructed). The facility is good for groups with several areas to meet, a pavilion, a deck behind the office and a common room in the main building. There was a nice selection of books and games in the common room.

Although, it's a major road, we were able to take a nice walk in the morning along route 80. We like supporting local businesses and this was a nice alternative to the "chain hotels"

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunshineFL221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manheim
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Visiting Cooperstown with our two grandchildren and staying at the Bayside Inn was a very pleasant experience. We had a room with a balcony and although the view was partially obstructed (knew this in advance) it was calm and beautiful to sit and view the lake. The kids had fun down at the lake swimming. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The owners were very pleasant and gave unlimited information on the surrounding area. We would definitely stay here again, without giving it a second thought.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrhdeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
16.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
10.3 km away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
10.8 km away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#11 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
The Lake House
The Lake House
#3 of 4 in Richfield Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
2.1 km away
Lake View Motel
Lake View Motel
#6 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 km away
Lake N Pines Motel
Lake N Pines Motel
#13 of 16 in Cooperstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Inn & Marina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Inn & Marina

Property: Bayside Inn & Marina
Address: 7090 State Highway 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326-3203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cooperstown
#4 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,617 - ₹ 13,685
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bayside Inn & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayside Inn & Marina, on Otsego Lake in Cooperstown, NY, offers pleasant, comfortable accommodations in a peaceful, wooded lakeside setting with picnic areas and gazebos at the small swimming beach. Canoes and kayaks are available free of charge to our guests. Located only 7 miles from Cooperstown, and 11 miles from the Cooperstown Dreams Park, Bayside Inn & Marina is a destination in itself. Our friendly and professional staff will do everything they can to make your "Cooperstown Lake Vacation" a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayside Inn & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Inn & Marina Hotel Cooperstown
Bayside Inn And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing