We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Other than ball? Historically minded?

If you like covered bridges, go out of your way to see this one. Not just the oldest in NY but the... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
briandX7555RO
,
Ithaca, New York
via mobile
Really nice place

Large campsites. Exceptional clean through out the whole camp ground. We found the personnel to by... read more

Reviewed 9 October 2018
Transwizard
Read all 177 reviews
  
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
108
51
13
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
51
13
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews covered bridge hiking trails hyde hall beautiful campground picnic area bath house great beach cross country skiing walleye lake beach spent the afternoon ice fishing nice afternoon entry fee worth the effort t shirts new york
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

If you like covered bridges, go out of your way to see this one. Not just the oldest in NY but the oldest in the US.
Even out of season you can drive close enough to see it and walk over.

Thank briandX7555RO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Large campsites. Exceptional clean through out the whole camp ground. We found the personnel to by very knowledgeable and more than willing to help with any questions. Close to many worth while venues. We will go back next year for a longer stay.

Thank Transwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

We went to the state park to specifically take the Wellington hike. We didn’t realize it but we completely missed the trailhead. We walked down the path and came to a gate that stated it was private property. Just to the right there was a large rake and little blue flags along a pathway so up we went. It was uphill but mainly gradual. It turns out we weren’t on the actual trail. The actual start of the trail was just after the trailhead little kiosk. It was pretty much straight up. The view of the lake at the summit was minimal and once we were on the trail, it was pretty much straight down back to where we started from. I wouldn’t waste my tine doing it again.

1  Thank casualtraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Had a great family day! Park was clean and beautiful! Water was wonderful. Easy parking. Restrooms clean.

Thank dfreed2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Family friendly and convenient. There is a cafe/snack bar that is reasonably priced and easy to access restrooms. The lake is primarily quiet and a lovely place to kayak.

Thank Chajrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

Took a short hike along the beach area and picnic area and checked out the covered bridge. Nice place to spend the day in the water having a picnic lunch or take a stroll in the evening

1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We came here just to photograph their covered bridge. We told the attendant that when we paid our $7. He told us to stop as we were leaving in less than 15 minutes, and he would give us our $7 back. And he did just that.

1  Thank Bob19512014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

Stayed here for two nights on our way back to Ohio from Maine. Was very impressed with this campground and park! Site was level, easy to back in to and was VERY spacious! I consider this the hidden gem of our trip, because we weren't sure what to expect, but loved our stay here. Cooperstown is only a short 10 minute drive away. If you stay here, I highly recommend visiting there, even if you are not a baseball fan, you will still enjoy the visit. I really wish this campground was closer to home, as I would definitely stay there more!

Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We spent a lovely day at the beach. Our kids ages 10-12 swam while we had a picnic on the shore. Great place to visit when you have down time from Cooperstown. Carry in-carry out garage.

Thank Dani630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

Beautiful view, ....lots of Duck crap on the bocce courts and grounds!! Nice spot for our company outing, great building to host our lunch.

Thank donnamessina6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews