We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and good food.”

Doug's Pretty Good Pub
Ranked #8 of 27 Restaurants in Cold Spring
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 15
Description: The village pub where you can wash away the dust of everyday life and enjoy great pub fare.
Restaurant details
Description: The village pub where you can wash away the dust of everyday life and enjoy great pub fare.
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Our cadet grandson just completed cadet basic training and wanted to come here for a burger. The place is not very big but we were seated at two rows of tables next to each other. {there were ten of us} I had a grilled cheese with tomato, someone else had a salad, my husband had a BLT and the others had burgers or hot dogs. Everyone claimed the food was DELISH. and it was.
I appreciate we were able to sit together and we were all treated with the utmost regard.
When we go to West Point again, we will travel across the river to the quaint little town of Cold Spring and eat at this establishment.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2018

A group of us stopped by Doug's on Wednesday last week to round off a good celebratory dinner with a few night caps. The pub was homely, the drinks were enjoyable and the atmosphere was lively. There was little to complain about the experience apart from the behavior of the owner, Doug, who was drinking at the bar with an acquaintance for the evening. When talking with a male member of our party, he made two disparaging, sexist comments, one in relation to women in general and one relating to specific members of our party. This was completely unacceptable and very much soured the sentiment for us.
In summary, I would appreciate the bar's offering as a lively, efficient spot for a few drinks with friends, but management behavior was unacceptable.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank dublinman2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Had lunch at Doug's Pretty Good Pub; what a find!!! "Pretty Good" doesn't begin to describe the burgers. We opted for the Fun Guy burger, which, as you can imagine, was loaded with sautèd mushrooms and a healthy amount of swiss cheese. Served on a lightly toasted English muffin, get ready to enter burger heaven. Hot and juicy, the muffin is no match for the deliciousness. Get ready to go through all your napkins! The accompanying fries were perfection. Hot & crispy on the outside, pillowy soft on the inside....they are the perfect side. We are already planning our next trip!
Make sure you read the bottom of your bill; the owner, Doug, has a wonderful sense of humor and is a jovial host.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank CamelotLady139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Doug's Pub is a lot more than just "pretty good." As a matter of fact, it's great! He offers a great selection of beers (8 on tap--pilsener, pale ales, IPAs) and your standard bottled beers (Bud, Coors, etc), an extensive selection of Kentucky, local and western bourbons, single malt scotches, seven types of Tequilas, Irish and "just plain old whiskey" (quotation marks mine). The burgers and French fries are super. You have a choice of eight different types of burgers (I had the Breakfast Burger--half pound of juicy fresh ground beef w/bacon and sunny-side up fried egg on toasted English muffin, with golden brown French fries!--WOW!) If you don't want a burger, there are eight other menu items to choose from--BLTs to hot dogs to chicken wings to shrimp and red cabbage tacos. Something for everyone!
Diner's in Doug's Pub enjoy a comfortable and friendly atmosphere--authentic pub ambience. Amber, the Day Manager, does an excellent job ensuring that all of the diners' appetites and thirsts are satisfied.
I highly recommend Doug's Pretty Good Pub because of the excellent choice of beers, large, tasty and satisfying burgers and French fries, excellent service, and true pub ambience.
It doesn't get much better than Doug's!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Food
Thank b17bill67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

If you are looking for a place to sit down and have a burger and something cool to drink in Cold Spring, Doug's Pretty Good Pub fits the bill. Fun atmosphere and very friendly service. Relaxed place with a pretty nice burger served on an English muffin (it's really good). The wings were also worth trying.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dukestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doug's Pretty Good Pub also viewed

 

Been to Doug's Pretty Good Pub? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing