We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate romantic getaway”
Review of Glenmere Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenmere Mansion
Ranked #1 of 2 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Nyack, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Ultimate romantic getaway”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

After reading a lot of press on Glenmere Mansion, we decided to visit for one night in March for a birthday celebration. We typically stay at 5 star hotels, so our expectations are high. Glenmere not only exceeded our expectations, it set a new bar for all future hotel stays.

Our reception was very warm, friendly and professional. As we relaxed in our suite, we admired the fine attention to detail and quality of materials throughout the room. We were impressed by the gas fireplaces in the living and bath areas, the large soaking tub, heated bathroom floor, steam shower, fine Italian bedding, full marble baths, art work and luxe furnishings. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I could go on and on, but suffice it to say that the accommodations were first class in every respect. The owners must have agonized over every single detail to make sure their guests feel like royalty. It is evident that this was a labor of love.

Even though the furnishings are incredible, the hotel does not feel at all stuffy. Thoughtful accents are evident in every room of the “mansion.” Complimentary cookies, snacks and beverages are available throughout. Magazines, books and game tables are scattered around comfy seating areas to encourage curling up and relaxing. You feel like you are in your own home, only better!

Dinner and breakfast in The Supper Room was delicious. The dining room is over the top romantic. The food and service were on par with any 5 star restaurant in the New York Metro area.

We did not partake in the spa, but we were given a tour. It is absolutely stunning. We cannot wait to visit again to take advantage of the facilities.

The grounds and gardens in the spring, summer and fall must be spectacular. We were there at probably the worst time of year (lots and lots of brown trees), and it was still beautiful.

One last note about the staff. Each and every one was very welcoming and well trained. It is evident that they enjoy their jobs and are proud of where they work.

I wish I had the words to do Glenmere justice. I would be hard pressed to come up with even one criticism, but if I had to it would be that I am afraid that we will never find another hotel to live up to the standards set by Glenmere. Kudos to the owner and the entire staff. By all means, if you have the opportunity, go and experience all that Glenmere has to offer. You will never want to leave!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank karenr58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    11
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
102
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This property is beautiful. Top Shelf all the way. The rooms are pricey but if you live in the area you must go for drinks / dinner. They have an outdoor court where they serve ( seasonal ) and the dining rooms indoors are phenomenal. I recommend going with friends but do not go over a party of six or you will be forced to have a limited menu at a high $$$$.. The food is good but the atmosphere and ambiance really bring this property to another level..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

If you want to be surrounded in sheer luxury, enjoy great food, a beautiful home environment, a beautiful room with all the amenities. . . fireplace, smashing furnishings, great art, fab linens, super fashion, art and design books at your fingertips-forget about heading for Paris or the Tuscan country side - head for Chester New York, and Glenmere Mansion. You will not be disappointed, only thrilled that you found this fab mansion-hotel and you can enjoy this stately home for a day, a week, even just for dinner.

This hotel is absolutely fabulous.

Room Tip: Select a room facing the entrance, gardens, or wherever. All views are spectacular!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TIMLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Wonderful out of the way resort - in the Hudson Valley region - close to NYC.
Beautiful setting, food and accomodations.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinowitz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Much has already been written about the comforts and beauty of this property, but it must be visited to be understood and appreciated.
We used Glenmere as a base to visit Storm King, Dia, West Point, Hyde Park, etc. on a Hudson Valley trip. With close access to the interstates it a good base and even better to come home to rest. The property in magnificent and still feels new, but comfortable at the same time. Everything has been thought of in making the rooms user friendly. The public rooms are gracious and well appointed to be sure. The dinning room is breathtaking and enjoys wonderful views as well.
We were not sure about having the Frog's head tavern on property, but came to enjoy that intimate space. think of it as a small English town pub (upscale).
The gardens are fantastic even into the mid fall when we visited.
The staff, almost all local have been trained to a very high service standard. We had some interaction with one of the owners/managers and the concept was to create a place incorporating what they like when they travel. They are new to the hotel business and have hit the ball out of the park with what they have done.
Our only issue was that the main dinning room is only open Thur. to Sat., so be careful to be there at least one of those nights to enjoy the full experience. Breakfast is always served in the main dinning room, but dinner other nights is served in the Frog's Head pub.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house. Price indicates size, fireplace and tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler234280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
30.7 km away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
952 reviews
27.4 km away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,790 reviews
6.4 km away
Comfort Inn &; Suites Goshen / Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
16.4 km away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
739 reviews
19.8 km away
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Salisbury Mills
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmere Mansion? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmere Mansion

Property: Glenmere Mansion
Address: 634 Pine Hill Rd, Chester, NY 10918-1814
Region: United States > New York > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price range (per night): ₹ 54,755 - ₹ 58,504
Hotel Class:5 star — Glenmere Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenmere Mansion is a Relais & Chatueax, 18-room luxury boutique hotel on 150 Hudson Valley acres overlooking Glenmere Lake. The Gilded Age mansion, circa 1911, underwent a 3 year renovation, opening Jan. 2010. Acres of beautiful gardens, heated outdoor swimming pool, tennis, bocce and croquet courts, and 2 restaurants on site. Spa opens summer 2011. Romantic getaway, (children over 16). Voted "Top Ten Small Boutique Hotel in the World" by Gayot Hotel Guide 2011. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenmere Mansion Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing