We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Restaurant 1915 and Blue Roof Tapas Bar
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 45
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Restaurant 1915 and The Blue Roof Tapas Bar is all about the experience – delivering the highest level of quality and service through our commitment to sustainability and local farm-to-table initiatives. We’re Bringing it Back to Bear Mountain - where old meets new, and vintage mingles with nouveau.
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

We had lunch, decided due to the smaller lunch menu we got a two appetizers (chicken quesadilla and poutine) and two cups of butternut squash soup. Food was good, service was a bit slow, however the couple behind us was hiking and the waiter offered to fill their water bottles. I thought that was really nice and thoughtful!

If you’re in the area and did some hiking it’s a nice place to eat!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Emm3rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia D, Manager at Restaurant 1915 and Blue Roof Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Thank you Emm3rs for taking the time to post a review for the property. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2018

Sunday Brunch is wonderful! Great food, nice staff, amazing views! One of the first great park lodges built in the United States. Where else is the fireplace so large you can walk in to it!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LastSecondTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia D, Manager at Restaurant 1915 and Blue Roof Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Thank you LastSecond Traveller for posting a review on our Sunday brunch. Love your screen name and we appreciate you choosing to come and eat with us! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We were hoping for a relaxing lunch after a long drive...had good food but they were understaffed for the lunch service. The servers (3?) tried very hard and were very nice, but their system needs work.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Karen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia D, Manager at Restaurant 1915 and Blue Roof Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Thank you Karen Z for taking the time to post a review for the property. We are working on the system and the staffing and hope you will choose to return to our property again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

The views were beautiful and esthetically the restaurant was lovely. But, the service was slow. We ate here with 14 friends. And each of our meals were of poor quality. The service was horrible and management was not helpful when we complained. I would not recommend. Do not let the lovely lodge areas trick you.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Seaside802637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia D, Manager at Restaurant 1915 and Blue Roof Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Thank you Seaside for taking the time to post a review for the property. My sincere apologies that you were not satisfied with you meal. Please contact our GM Heather Shafer directly at Heather@visitbearmountain.com and she will be more than accommodating for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

The lodge is the place I proposed to my wife 32 years ago so we took a ride to have lunch. They moved the restaurant out and eliminated the seating area in front of the fire place which was disappointing. We stayed for lunch and were totally disappointed. They only had a buffet and gave us a list of what they had. When we went up for our food it was not what they had listed and the food was just ok. Service was good but doesn’t make up for the food. Bring back the lodge and forget the restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank normans808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia D, Manager at Restaurant 1915 and Blue Roof Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Thank you Norman S for taking the time to post a review for our property. Congratulations on your 32 years together. We do only offer the buffet for lunch in October as the Circleline boat comes up to the property every Saturday and Sunday with over 600 people. In order to provide the best service and food for so many at one time we do need to offer a buffet as they have limited time. I do hope you will give us another chance in the future to exceed your expectations. We wish you a long and happy life together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant 1915 and Blue Roof Tapas Bar also viewed

Peekskill, Westchester County
Peekskill, Westchester County
 
Cortlandt Manor, Cortlandt
 

Been to Restaurant 1915 and Blue Roof Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing