We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They don’t really know what they are doing”
Review of Roundhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roundhouse
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beacon
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

I am actually in the room right now and felt compelled to write this review. I came up here with my sister and my mom for a girls night. We called to ask about options for dinner. The restaurant was closed so we asked about the menu at the lounge. We were then transferred to the restaurant.. that was closed... so we called back to ask again and were told to look online. But there was no menu listed online...
We ended up just going there to eat. Ordered the soup... $14 for a 1/2 cup of soup.
We decided to head back to the room to watch a movie. There were a long list on on demand movies. So we tried to order one but it kept giving us an error. There was nothing in the room to explain how to use the tv so we called the front desk. We were told we should just be able to order it. We tried a few others and called back asking for more instructions. He didn’t know. We asked to speak to a manager and he said he would call back. When he called back he informed us that we actually cannot use any of the on demand channels... even though they all display on the tv. When we asked why we were told it should work the first two times we called, he said he thought we were just talking about tv’s in general... and not specifically this hotel’s tv.
The front desk people don’t know anything about the amenities of this hotel and there isn’t any info in the rooms to provide additional info. A complete joke for $250 per night!!!

Stayed: November 2017
6  Thank schaebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JO O, Manager at Roundhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear Schaebes,

I am sorry to learn of your disappointment with your recent stay at The Roundhouse.
We do post all of our menus on our website for your reference under the heading Menu at the top of the page. Additionally, we offer daily specials as we feature local, seasonal choices, that change based on available fresh crops and are posted and available for viewing at the restaurant front desk. I am sorry if our website was not easy to navigate.

Regrettably, we do not offer in room movie service- although surely something to consider now that winter is approaching and how nice to enjoy while sitting in with friends. The cable company does advertise the option of movies as a feature even though we do not have that service. We have requested that advertisement be removed.

I hope that in spite of some disappointments that you enjoyed your visit to Beacon galleries, shops, mountains, parks, river and vistas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed here for two nights to attend a family wedding at the hotel. The roundhouse is a collection of Old industrial buildings that have been completely renovated into a classy charming hotel. Our room had really high ceilings with exposed beams and huge windows! The location right beside the river and waterfall makes for great pictures. The event space is fantastic spread out on different levels with great views. The lounge down on the Main Street served a wide selection of drinks and great bar snacks.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LeisureGuy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JO O, Manager at Roundhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our rescue of factories that sat vacant and abandoned for over 50 years. A true labor of love for all of us! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Having stayed at The Inn and Spa first, my one night at the Roundhouse was most disappointing. I paid twice as much for half the value in real terms. Room was sparse and grubby. I fail to understand exactly what I was getting besides a bed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
4  Thank carolep33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JO O, Manager at Roundhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

We are very proud of the design of the property and guest rooms, which was handled by the award-wining Rockwell Group. We took their guidance and outfitted the rooms with locally made furniture and we’re proud to showcase some of the great talent right here in our neck of the woods. We are a boutique hotel and the goal was to create a space that felt so different than what most people have in their homes so that time here is a real escape in many ways. With all of that being said, we also recognize that the mid-century modern design is not for everyone. I’d like to think that our website does a good job of providing photos and a description so that guests understand what they are booking.

I certainly appreciate your business and I’m sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

(stayed weekend of Oct 13, 2017) Difficult to tell whether hotel is finished with their remodel. Weird small lobby but very friendly staff. Of course, woman took our number and said our room would be available in 30 minutes and would text us when it was. No text message after an hour so we returned to the hotel. The room was ready and the woman seemed to have forgotten our entire conversation from an hour earlier. Rooms are decently nice but not "beautiful" as other reviewers claim. Industrial and minimalist is how I would describe them. Of note was how the wood trim around the doors and other fixtures were unfinished - meaning, you could see the nails and such but is that the look they were going for? Bed frames were also significantly larger than the bed - by design? Unsure. Mattress was fine. Bathroom was also a bit underwhelming...farm door but left much to the imagination as it didn't quite close properly. Finally, the shower was probably the worst...no water pressure coming from a small compact head. Oh well.

Room Tip: Room 219 had no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JO O, Manager at Roundhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We continue to grow and expand each year and look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Everything is sparse and very utilatarium but cool. No one gets your luggage or takes it to ur room. It's very chill and nonchalant. Barely look up when you walk in. But it's Beacon not NYC so it's a great reprieve from my hectic frenzied life. We loved the town and hotel but luxurious it is not. Hotel was an old factory. It overlooks the falls which is beautiful
(Man made). The cafe is good with good food. We walked the town daily and walked to the Dia Center which is amazing. Lots of dudes w beards, cool girls, unusual stores. Totally enjoyed.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank zeldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JO O, Manager at Roundhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your reprieve from your hectic frenzied life! That is exactly our goal.
Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beacon
1.3 km away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
13.9 km away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
1,031 reviews
5.9 km away
Springhill Suites By Marriott Fishkill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
11.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
6.2 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Fishkill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse

Address: 2 E Main St, Beacon, NY 12508
Region: United States > New York > Beacon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beacon
Price Range: ₹ 15,252 - ₹ 24,994 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Roundhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roundhouse is a unique, historic property overlooking a beautiful waterfall, rushing creek and bustling street corner in charming Beacon, NY. Our singular name represents several masterfully restored buildings that offer a full-service experience, including a boutique hotel, award-winning American restaurant and popular event space for up to 200 guests. Our 41 beautifully appointed guest rooms are located in two distinct buildings on the property. From spectacular suites in the Roundhouse building, to light and airy guest rooms in the Mill building, we have just the room for your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Roundhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing