We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent fun”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beacon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Swann Inn of Beacon
Ranked #2 of 6 Beacon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at The Swan Inn about six times and look forward to future visits. Breakfast is always superb and the hosts are always responsive to our needs. The location is perfect for anyone wanting to shop or hike in Beacon and its environs.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently spent a very nice weekend in Beacon NY area and stayed at the Swann Inn for 2 nights. Our hosts, Neil and Darlene were available throughout our visit and offered excellent dining suggestions. We selected the Swann Inn since it gave us ready access to nearby Dia Beacon, Storm King Art Center and the galleries, shops and restaurants on Main Street. Also, the trail entrance to Mount Beacon is right next door. Breakfast both days was very good -- Darlene's Pumpkin Pancakes and Belgian Waffles were a very welcome surprise and a great way to start the day!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank L J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The property and the house are lovely, the owners try to do a good job, but I don't think this is their calling. We didn't feel welcome in a certain way, the proprietors offers of assistance were frequently accompanied by guilt inducing phrases such as "it costs so much money to clean after a dog has been in the room," and "even though I'm watching TV with me wife right now, I'll come and get you anyway."
Although we responded that we do not have any food allergies in the registration questionnaire, we were served amaretto flavored gluten free waffles for breakfast. I really do not like gluten free food, but we were given no choice.
Finally, when I asked the proprietor if I could give him feedback, he took a defensive stance and did not respond. I told him anyway that I thought his room smelled strongly of fabric softener, and he said that 99% of people really like it.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lesliebrueckner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Dark and cluttered interior, though clean and delicious food. The location was convenient to our venue, so it worked for us. Would not likely book here again however, for reasons given along with the B&B cost.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neiljacob, Owner at The Swann Inn of Beacon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you for your comments and for staying with us at the Swann Inn of Beacon. Our inn is in the Victorian style. Glad you enjoyed the food and our location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

The Inn was very cozy with a big porch, comfortable chairs and tables surrounded by beautiful landscaping and flowers. Darlene also has a large garden on the side of the house to stroll through. Coffee and snacks were available all day and excellent gourmet breakfasts were provided. The Inn was clean and the beds comfortable. They are a couple of minutes from town and a few minutes from the Hudson. My only issue was I have allergies. Although I did not see their pets in the guest area my allergies, unfortunately, kicked up

Room Tip: the Blue room has a huge bathroom, The Tranquility room had a kitchenette and fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beacon
2.3 km away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
4.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
13 km away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Springhill Suites By Marriott Fishkill
11.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
20.4 km away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swann Inn of Beacon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swann Inn of Beacon

Address: 120 Howland Ave, P.O. Box 1078, Beacon, NY 12508-4207
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Beacon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Beacon
Price Range: ₹ 8,054 - ₹ 12,048 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swann Inn of Beacon, a Gothic Revival Victorian is a perfect retreat for hikers, and travelers looking to experience the beauty of the Hudson Valley in a relaxed B & B, nestled in a wooded setting at the foot of Mt. Beacon. Enjoy our tranquil homestyle rooms including queen size beds and private baths. NYC guests,we will pick you up at Beacon train station. Ask about Bannerman Island tour packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Swann Inn Of Beacon Hotel Beacon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing