We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservation nightmare”
Review of Lewis House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballston Spa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lewis House
Ranked #1 of 3 Ballston Spa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Reservation system required registering online and then having to call in order to make the actual reservation with a credit card. After those motions, the reservation was confirmed via e-mail, but it didn't matter as we were bumped due to their double-booking our room. Their reservation system is in need of a slight upgrade, to say the least.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virgianian, Innkeeper at Lewis House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

I wanted to once again offer sincere apologies for the mix-up with your reservation. We hope the stay at the Medberry Inn that we arranged for you was enjoyable, and that we have the opportunity to change your mind about our establishment in the future. Be well :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2016

My husband and I checked into the Lewis House (not far from our wedding/and reception). We had a beautiful room "The Garden Suite", which included a bathroom, complete with claw-foot tub. I have to say, that was one reason I picked this room. I love a bath in a deep tub. All the comforts were available - bubble bath, fresh towels, soaps, etc. There was an kitchen area, a gas stove heater, a comfy couch, book case full of interesting books, and balcony overlooking the yard. We even had a complimentary bottle of champagne in our refrigerator (which was full size). The decor was lovely and comfortable. We slept well and had a nice breakfast prepared by the owners. Eggs, bacon, muffins, fruit breads, coffee, etc. All delicous. We will return one day for certain.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in the Blue Room. It was a very, very, small room with closets full of the family's personal belongings and no room for your own comfort. There were two closets in this room but filled with Christmas decorations and clothing. The room was overfilled with furniture and no place to put your own luggage or personal things. I tried to find room under a table but this was also full of personal items and old books. The bathroom was so small that it was uncomfortable to use. We basically just used this room to sleep and could not wait to leave after the second night. They seem to try to make it like a B&B but I felt it was like staying at Granny's house that needs help in getting rid of all her old junk and way overpriced for $240.00 a night.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank femmesebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virgianian, Owner at Lewis House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2016

Gee, I am really sorry for your experience at our B&B. Christmas is such a wonderful time
in our home and the Blue Room is where we store our decorations. We usually store them in the space above the door and in the shelve cabinets along the east wall, but when we are decorating sometimes it seems the closets are stuffed. Did you tell anyone on our staff? How can we make it up to you?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Preston and Diane Lewis made us feel like family truly nice people we stayed three nights in October and the fireplace in our room was a welcome addition to our room , the room was a delight we were very comfortable , breakfasts were delicious and plentiful from waffles with cooked fresh apples and bacon ,juice and coffee, to baked cheesy eggs on English muffins ( I got that recipe from Preston ) and excellent scrambled eggs, bacon and hot muffins if you stay here you will not be disappointed !

Room Tip: Stayed in green room but all were very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank linkphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

Beautiful old renovation home on a quick street in Ballston Spa. 5 minute walk to many shops, bars and restaurants. The burgundy room was very nicely appointed - very comfortable with gas fireplace and a great bathroom. Staff very nice and friendly.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank SteveLandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballston Spa
5.3 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Saratoga Malta
5.4 km away
Roosevelt Inn & Suites
Roosevelt Inn & Suites
#21 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
329 reviews
6.6 km away
Best Western Plus Saratoga Springs
Best Western Plus Saratoga Sprin...
#20 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Hyatt Place Saratoga / Malta
7.5 km away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#9 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,206 reviews
10.6 km away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewis House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewis House

Address: 38 E High St, Ballston Spa, NY 12020-1805
Region: United States > New York > Ballston Spa
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ballston Spa
Price Range: ₹ 6,190 - ₹ 24,435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1871 four room bed and breakfast is located 5 miles south of Saratoga Springs in the Historic Village of Ballston Spa. It is operated year round and serves home cooked breakfast daily. Each of the rooms have full baths, two with showers and soaker tubs. It also has cable, wireless and both veggie and perennial gardens. Three of the rooms have gas fireplaces and central air and heat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing