We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
230
34
9
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
230
34
9
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool game viewing main area kings pool private guide other camps small group mokoro ride spent three nights fantastic camp unique experience whole team common areas the camp manager wilderness vehicle drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2021

We were completely WOWED by the Vumbura concession. The landscape is stunning and perfect if you're into photography. Willie, our guide, was brilliant. We were so lucky to get to see wild dogs hunting and lions and even a leopard! The lodge is located right on the water so you have a beautiful view from the main area and the rooms. We had a phenomenal time and can't wait to return!

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Africantravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenneil Zondagh, Owner at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2021

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your experiences in camp.

We hope you have many great photos to capture the memories of the wild dogs, lions and leopard.

We too look forward to welcoming you back in camp soon again.

Thank you again,
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2021

It can't get any better than in Vumbura plains. The suite is as spacious as a loft, complete with its own pool and private view over the fantastic Okavango. During my stay I kept all sides open and the walls were only covered with gauze. It felt like I was sleeping in the middle of the wilderness in my king size bed: magic!
Chris was my highly skilled private guide and had so much passion and fun for his job. Big compliments also to the chef. Never before have I had such an exclusive and delicious meal in Africa. I am very grateful that this fantastic camp has come on my way. And even after many many trips and safaris in Africa, Vumbura and her staff have surpassed my experiences again.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merel238
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenneil Zondagh, Owner at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2021

Thank you for your delightful review, we are thrilled to see you had such a great time in camp and with Chris.

We cannot wait to pass on your high praise to our hard working kitchen staff, such high praise is greatly appreciated, as theirs is often a job where they only receive feedback when guests are not happy.

We hope you will visit us again soon to create more memories together.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2021

We went to Vumburu in possibly the hottest time of the year. Initially we were concerned that there was no air conditioning in the rooms (we have ducted aircon at home that is on most summer). The rooms are beautifully appointed with adequate ventilation. We enjoyed the cool breeze off the Delta. We had a family room. Chris's room was a small courtyard away which was just far away enough but we could easily chat to him.
Raz and his special team could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable, comfortable and happy. This is clearly a great place to work because the staff enthusiasm and dedication cannot be bought. Nothing was too much trouble.
Then there was Emang, our ranger and host extraordinaire. We had so many good laughs with him. We didn't see many cats (but we were not really concerned about chasing game sightings), saw loads of elephants (some very close up) and we made a huge dent in our birding list (120 different birds in 4 days).
This is definitely a camp to enjoy the Delta. We went fishing 2 nights - well more of having sundowners and catching two bream while we relaxed and enjoyed the stunning sunset. Emang even organised for us to have a shallow swim in the Delta. That is a special memory.
An evening spent on the mokoros is a definite. Having sundowners and watching ellies cross 50m away was quite an experience.
The food was delicious and the portion sizes are just what you need. We never felt like we had eaten too much but there was more than enough to feed a 19 year old boy. We asked for quite a few of the recipes.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenneil Zondagh, Owner at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2021

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay at Vumbura Plains Camp. . It is evident that every aspect of your stay far exceeded all expectations – the food, guide, staff and wildlife sightings.

Travelling during the summer months is very advantageous as baby animals abound, with predators close on their heels. We are thrilled to have shared some of our lovely recipes with you, and hope you are having fun experimenting!

We hope you will come back and enjoy many more sundowners with us.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2021

I title this review “be aware before you choose this camp“ as a warning to other travelers. I give this camp four stars as it is very good but there were some things I wish I knew before selecting this camp. First, there is no Air conditioning. While this is not a problem during certain times of the year, if you go when it is hot, there is no relief. There is no air-conditioning in the common areas nor in the rooms. Additionally, we did not have any sun blocking blinds in our room to help keep the temperatures down. Sun blocking shades would be a huge benefit!

Second, the attention to detail, cleaning, checking the rooms before a guest checks in, cleaning the patios, furniture and pool is not there. Although these rooms are all indoor/outdoor, A quick cleaning, checking for bugs, pool cleaning, etc. just before check in would be an excellent idea for this hotel. Needless to say, our room had several insects In our room when we checked in and our hostess told us to just get the poisonous bug spray and to spray them ourselves. Our pool was filthy and we had to ask three times to get it cleaned. It turned out the pool pump and cleaner were broken so they just turned it off rather than fixing it. The patio and patio furniture was in need of a good cleaning also. The rooms are well appointed, but they could definitely use a facelift. The fabrics were old and worn, the phone didn’t work, some outlets didn’t work and other such details.

As some others have stated, there are no trackers on the game drives. There is only a guide. We were lucky and ours was very good, but having a tracker and a guide is definitely an added benefit that it’s not here. When our vehicle got stuck in the sand and we were lucky that another employee just happen to be in the Jeep.. It took them a very long time to get our jeep out of the sand. It was very hot and sunny while we waited for them to get us back on the road.

We have not been to other game parks in the Delta so I don’t have any other frame of reference, but this game park did have some very nice parts to it. I just wish I were aware of its shortcomings before selecting it. The highlights were definitely the animals that we saw, the quality of food and the beautiful location. I hope the owners read my review and implement some of my suggestions so that this hotel can rise to a five star resort!

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Meemsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenneil Zondagh, Owner at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2021

Dear Meemsmom,

Thank you for your review eventhough we are sorry to see that your experience was not as expected. We have spoken to our Operations and Customer Teams who sadly did not have a record of this information.

We would love to investigate this more with you and ask that you contact your agent to get more information to us.

Regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2021

We spent 3 nights at Vumbura Plains North Camp in early September. It is situated on a lagoon with hippos in the water - beautiful setting and great sunrises over the water. It does make for some noise at nights due to the hippos in addition to the tiny frogs that are unbelievably loud. The rooms are as discussed by others and feature wide open screening (there are roll down covers if desired). Ours was close to the main area and very spacious and clean but it should be remembered that this is a camp not a Hilton. It is a unique experience we very much enjoyed. In the early morning and evening, the camp is lit up with gas lanterns and the result is quite magical. The camp is run largely on solar panels which is great but the lighting is somewhat dim at night. Given the wood construction and thatch roof, we had a few insects but they were not a bother. The meals are incredible. Steve the Chef/Cook whips up amazing meals and the serving staff was fantastic (special thanks to Ruby, PJ, Kay and Kaffy and Paul). Raz the camp manager and Gladys were always around checking on things. Of course, the highlight is always the game drives. Our guide (Lettie) was extremely knowledgeable and seemed to always be able to predict where animals were heading resulting in several incredible experiences like the wild dog hunt/kill, a lonely lion guarding his buffalo kill over several days, and a rare attack of one pack of dogs on another smaller pack. Lots of baboons, elephants, giraffes, a few ostrich and various antelope varieties. Our guide joined us every evening for dinner which meant a great way to recap the day and to have a more personal experience. Of course the water everywhere makes the delta such a unique experience so different from any other camps we have visited in Africa. The mokoro ride (thanks to Ola) was excellent and relaxing and gave us a chance to see the small frogs up close and lots of birds. Would highly recommend as a unique experience in the Okavango Delta area. It is outstanding.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_John_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenneil Zondagh, Owner at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2021

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback about the staff, the food, the activities and the safari experience at Vumbura Plains! We will be sure to pass on your kind words to Lettie and the rest of the wonderful team at camp.

Kind regards,
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews