We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
231
34
9
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
231
34
9
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool game viewing main area kings pool other camps private guide small group wonderful experience beautiful setting mokoro ride spent three nights fantastic camp whole team common areas the camp manager wilderness vehicle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2019 via mobile

Overall amazing experience at Vumbura - saw plenty of game, the lodge is fantastic (each house is very secluded and comes with own pool!), and staff is great! What I loved the most is custom-made experience - you tailor your stay to what you want to do and Vumbura delivers!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank andreivor71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2019

Dear andreivor71,

Thank you for your beautiful review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit us again soon. Vumbura offers the best combination of land and water activities and with the help of the local communities we are privileged to be able to share this with you.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2018

I spent 2 nights in November at Vumbura Plains whilst on safari with colleagues. The management and staff here made us incredibly welcome and the Boma dinner out under the stars with all the wonderful singing by the whole team was a highlight of our trip. The rooms and main lodge are beautifully furnished and our private plunge pool was so appreciated in the heat of the afternoon. Ron, our guide was an absolute legend and guided us on the best game viewing of our whole trip. He was totally committed to giving us the very best experience and gave us some wonderful moments.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank amanda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2018

Dear Amanda,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful memories with us. We will be sure to share your kind words with Ron and all the great staff in camp. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Bush regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2018

Marvellous camp. Lovely location looking out over the water - except for when the hippos started calling out at 03.30 in the morning. Our guide was Speedy - very knowledgeable. Able to track animals by their tracks, which meant that we saw the highlights before other visitors. We did the moroko trip, which was terrific - very beautiful - and the motor boat trip. Lovely and helpful staff, and great food.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2018

Thank you SBSevenoaks thank you for your wonderful review, Speedy is a special guy and we are glad to see he was able to show you the wonderful sights of the Plains. We hope you will come and visit us soon.

Bush regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

My wife and I recently stayed at this camp and experienced some of our best safari sightings of our trip. Our guide Speedy was awesome and was the first guide we had that was consistently able to track animals (resulting in us being the first ones to observe certain animals). We stayed in several camps and Speedy was the best guide we had.

The camp is also very nice and the staff were very accommodating. For some reason we were placed in a family unit which was too large for just my wife and I, but the room was very spacious and comfortable. The food was excellent and staff were very attentive.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lukep21SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear lukep21SD,

The annually flooded grasslands of the Okavango Delta surrounding Vumbura Plains are locally referred to as 'melapo' and offer good seasonal viewing of elephant, giraffe, impala, sable antelope, kudu, zebra, common waterbuck and reedbuck, tsessebe, wildebeest, red lechwe and Cape buffalo. Hippo and crocodile are common in the waterways. We are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed exploring this area with Speedy and hope you got many wonderful photos of all your sightings.

Delta Regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights at Vumbura south camp.
I can’t praise it enough. A beautiful camp, the food was lovely, and the staff so friendly and courteous. Nothing is too much trouble.
Thanks to Ron our guide who was amazing. Lions, leopards, cheetah with cubs, six hyenas who were very excited , and a honey badger! Along with all the elephants and antelopes.
The river cruise was just beautiful, as was the mokoro trip .
I would highly recommend a trip to the Delta. Wonderful

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank JulieM0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you JulieM0ss for the amazing review and high praises for the wonderful Ron - we will be sure to share all your great words with all the staff in camp. There is no better way of viewing game and exploring the Okavango than by traditional mokoro (dugout canoe). These excursions reveal the fascinating smaller creatures of the Delta including colourful frogs and lively waterbirds.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews