We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari in luxury”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2015

Wonderful safari experience at private lodges overlooking the river. Great staff. And great food. We felt very pampered and enjoyed our stay. Lodges have plunge pool for hot days. They are large with open views and screen in for blow thru breezes.
The staff has different experiences planned for you every day beyond the safaris. It was a pleasure,fun and entertaining. The food was great.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lysandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear Lysandra T,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback about the staff, the food, the activities and the safari experience at Vumbura Plains! It pleases us greatly to know that you felt very pampered during your stay as this is something we constantly strive for at all our camps and as one of the Wilderness company values is fun, it is good to know we delivered on the front too!

Warm regards
Vumbura Plains

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2015

My wife and I stayed recently at Vembura Plains and it was supposed to be the highlight of our trip. The staff was very un engaging and did not go out of their way, the food was so so and the room needs updating. The only positive is the game viewing was excellent.

This place is soooo incredibly over priced! For this kind of money there are many other places to stay that you actually get what you pay for.

It seems Wilderness Safari does a great job in marketing to tour companies and travel agents, but this property in my opinion is very mis represented.. Maybe a few years ago it was different but they seem to have lost their focus.

We did reach out to Wilderness Safari upon return and they hid behind the tour company we booked through. In the end they were quite un interested and dismissed our observation and comments.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank vermont1newyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2015

Dear Vermont1newyork,

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us in July was unable to meet your expectations.And please believe us when we say we are very interested in hearing your comments and misgivings with Vumbura Plains.

We were, unfortunately, unable to recall your initial communication with us. If you wouldn't mind could you please contact our Customer Care department again, we will do our utmost to rectify all the problems you found in camp.

Kind regards,
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

We had a very nice stay at VP south but we had much higher expectations for what we were paying. After we spent a week at 2 other safaris in the Okavango delta we were a little disappointed in VP.
The game is excellent- a wonderful variety of hippo, leopard, hyena, elephant, giraffe, wild dog, lions and sable.. We saw an amazing hyena kill. Ban our guide was very knowledgable but also seemed overworked.
The managers are young but very nice.. And the head guy- forgotten his name seemed to go through the motions but didn't seem truly invested. There was definitely a sense of burn out and perhaps it had something to with going in early October.. The last stretch of 3 months of work. When you are paying 5000/ night per couple , I would expect more..
The lobby area had weathered lounge seating and covered with twigs from the tree above. I understand that it is hard to keep up but would expect it to be cleaned more frequently like prior to arrival of guests etc. The rooms at one point were likely amazing but hard to keep up.. The pool was always dirty and though they likely patched the walls with paint, it looked terrible. The lounge chair cushions were weathered. The hard wood floors had a lot of gaps etc likely from the temp change .
I did walk the mile over to VP north and it was much nicer... Though I was told it was recently rebuilt.
We will definitely check out other wilderness safari locations..

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2015

Dear Sally W,

Thank you for your valuable feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the few setbacks you did encounter. We will be sure to pass along your notes about the weathering of the décor to our operations department for further investigation.

An eco-retreat offering the best of the Okavango’s wildlife and activities with a contemporary and unique design, Vumbura Plains comprises two separate satellite camps, consisting of 14 rooms overall (of which two accommodate families). Each camp has its own sumptuous raised lounge, dining and bar area with magnificent vistas across the Okavango Delta, while a deck with comfortable cushions protrudes into the floodplain, either for star-gazing or as a convivial camp fire setting.

Thank you again,
The Vumbura Plains Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015

This was the last of 5 Wilderness camps and they tied for first place with Kings Pool on every aspect - although the room at Vumbura South was absolutely amazing. Lops, Chris, Itty, Jacks, the entire staff couldn't do more for us - trying to keep us cool in the very hot temps! Our guide Emany along with Ernest made for the most enjoyable time - wildlife viewing was extraordinary - Can't wait to come back and visit you all - thanks for the special Halloween celebration in the Bush - the wonderful smoothies when it was scorching hot and the overall caring about us.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patteski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2015

Thank you Patteski, for your kind and amazing review. The opportunity for us and all our staff to be able to make your journey such a special and memorable one, is the reason we do what we do, and love what we do.

Wilderness Safaris and the Okavango Community Trust have formed a partnership that involves the employment and training of the local community members in all aspects of lodge employment. At this stage Wilderness employs 120 community members in its camps, and those with the greatest potential are selected for the Wilderness Safaris Localisation Training Course, a programme designed to train local Batswana people to become skilled and effective camp managers. Wilderness is also in the process of assisting and advising the community on administration matters and business planning decisions. This is geared to helping with other small business projects such as vegetable gardens, shops and basket making, which will further enhance the self-realisation and self-employment prospects of the members of this community.

Thank you again,
The Vumbura Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015

This was our second stop on our Safari and it certainly did not disappoint. We did not think we could get much better than what we experienced at the Kalahari Plains Camp, but Vumbura was a class above.
The accommodation itself was some of the best I have stayed in anywhere in the world, the rooms are huge and you have your own private plunge pools. The common areas are just as good with a fantastic fire place looking over the plains at night.
The animals in the Delta are everywhere. We saw a huge array of them on our trip from the airstrip to the camp, which was not even part of the safari. We stayed for 3 days and nights here and once again each day was a new adventure. The guides have an amazing knowledge and feel for where the animals will be, this was demonstrated best when our guide spotted a leopard in a tree from about 300 meters away. Seeing how these animals ignore the safari cars (when engines are turned off) is something you need to experience to believe. We saw everything here including, Lions, Leopards, Cheetahs, Elephants, Water Buffalo,Giraffe, Zebra, Wart hogs, Heyna's, Hippos and many others and I can not begin to name all the birds we saw. We were also fortunate enough to see some of the elusive Sable Antelope.
You also get the opportunity to ride in a Mokoro. This was a great experience given that many of the locals still use these to get around nowadays. Our Mokoro driver was in camp for 3 months at a time and then would make his way back to his village in a mokoro which takes a week. It is an extremely relaxing way to see the waterways of the delta. I can not speak highly enough of the amount of wildlife you see at this camp. It is extraordinary to say the least.
The food here once again was amazing. We were treated to both a morning tea and a lunch set up by the staff in the middle of a jungle. This is certainly an experience you will remember for the rest of your life if you get the chance to do it. We also got to see a traditional dance and eat some traditional food (a monthly event at the camp). This really added to the stay.
As you can tell I can not speak highly enough of the this camp. They take care of everything and the staff at the camp will tend to your every need. It is so refreshing to interact with such friendly people who appear to love their work. The safari guides are exceptional and will try and help you find whatever animal you are trying to tick off your list. Our guide managed to find every single animal we wanted to see. Once again we were treated to a candle lit dinner on our own balcony one night given it was our honeymoon. An amazing personal touch from the people at Vumbura.
A trip to The Delta would not be complete without visiting this fantastic camp in my opinion.

Stayed: February 2015
Thank JavierPavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2015

Dear JavierPavier,

We cannot thank you enough for your beautiful and heartfelt review. We are honoured to have been able to enjoy this special time with you and glad to see we could help in making it a memorable anniversary.

The annually flooded grasslands of the Okavango Delta surrounding Vumbura Plains are locally referred to as 'melapo' and offer good seasonal viewing of elephant, giraffe, impala, sable antelope, kudu, zebra, common waterbuck and reedbuck, tsessebe, wildebeest, red lechwe and Cape buffalo. Hippo and crocodile are common in the waterways. Predators include the African wild dog, several resident prides of lion, as well as leopard, cheetah and African wildcat. Birding is exceptional all year round, with the possibility of sighting some endangered species, such as the stately wattled crane, slaty egret, white-backed night heron and the wonderfully adapted Pel’s fishing owl.

We hope to welcome you back soon,
The Vumbura Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
31.8 km away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
228 reviews
78.1 km away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#15 of 71 in Okavango Delta
151 reviews
25.8 km away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#2 of 71 in Okavango Delta
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
85.6 km away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#16 of 71 in Okavango Delta
199 reviews
6.1 km away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#19 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
80 reviews
26.5 km away
Jumbo Junction Camp
Jumbo Junction Camp
#54 of 71 in Okavango Delta
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp

Address: Vumbura Plains, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Okavango Delta
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vumbura Plains, a luxurious retreat of contemporary design, seems to float on a sea of waving reeds in the midst of a large floodplain. The sumptuous rooms, each with its own plunge pool and sala, are uniquely designed, spacious and raised on wooden decks to take in a wide-angled vista. Because the area is a mix of water and dry land, wildlife is diverse, so water-loving lechwe splash through the reeds, while rare sable antelope can be seen in the dry savannah. Lion, leopard, elephant, cheetah, wild dog and buffalo along with plains game and prolific birds provide an excellent all-round wildlife experience. • 14 tents • 100% solar • day and night game drives • village visit • mokoro • boat • nature walks • catch-and-release fishing • spa ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vumbura Plains Camp Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing