We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tuskers Bush Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$ 766
US$ 711
Hotels.com
View Deal
Jumbo Junction Camp(Okavango Delta)(Great Value!)
US$ 739
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 155
US$ 142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Room 50 Two(Gaborone)
US$ 194
US$ 186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 241
US$ 99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cresta Mahalapye(Mahalapye)
US$ 162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlane Hotel(Gaborone)
US$ 65
US$ 59
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
203
32
7
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
32
7
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolwilderness safarissunken living roomgame viewingwild dogsraised boardwalktented suitesitting areaoutdoor showermain arealeopard cubsprivate guideevening drivethe managersgames drivesduma taustaff went out of their way
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2015

My wife and I stayed recently at Vembura Plains and it was supposed to be the highlight of our trip. The staff was very un engaging and did not go out of their way, the food was so so and the room needs updating. The only positive is the game viewing was excellent.

This place is soooo incredibly over priced! For this kind of money there are many other places to stay that you actually get what you pay for.

It seems Wilderness Safari does a great job in marketing to tour companies and travel agents, but this property in my opinion is very mis represented.. Maybe a few years ago it was different but they seem to have lost their focus.

We did reach out to Wilderness Safari upon return and they hid behind the tour company we booked through. In the end they were quite un interested and dismissed our observation and comments.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank vermont1newyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2015

Dear Vermont1newyork,

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us in July was unable to meet your expectations.And please believe us when we say we are very interested in hearing your comments and misgivings with Vumbura Plains.

We were, unfortunately, unable to recall your initial communication with us. If you wouldn't mind could you please contact our Customer Care department again, we will do our utmost to rectify all the problems you found in camp.

Kind regards,
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

We had a very nice stay at VP south but we had much higher expectations for what we were paying. After we spent a week at 2 other safaris in the Okavango delta we were a little disappointed in VP.
The game is excellent- a wonderful variety of hippo, leopard, hyena, elephant, giraffe, wild dog, lions and sable.. We saw an amazing hyena kill. Ban our guide was very knowledgable but also seemed overworked.
The managers are young but very nice.. And the head guy- forgotten his name seemed to go through the motions but didn't seem truly invested. There was definitely a sense of burn out and perhaps it had something to with going in early October.. The last stretch of 3 months of work. When you are paying 5000/ night per couple , I would expect more..
The lobby area had weathered lounge seating and covered with twigs from the tree above. I understand that it is hard to keep up but would expect it to be cleaned more frequently like prior to arrival of guests etc. The rooms at one point were likely amazing but hard to keep up.. The pool was always dirty and though they likely patched the walls with paint, it looked terrible. The lounge chair cushions were weathered. The hard wood floors had a lot of gaps etc likely from the temp change .
I did walk the mile over to VP north and it was much nicer... Though I was told it was recently rebuilt.
We will definitely check out other wilderness safari locations..

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2015

Dear Sally W,

Thank you for your valuable feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the few setbacks you did encounter. We will be sure to pass along your notes about the weathering of the décor to our operations department for further investigation.

An eco-retreat offering the best of the Okavango’s wildlife and activities with a contemporary and unique design, Vumbura Plains comprises two separate satellite camps, consisting of 14 rooms overall (of which two accommodate families). Each camp has its own sumptuous raised lounge, dining and bar area with magnificent vistas across the Okavango Delta, while a deck with comfortable cushions protrudes into the floodplain, either for star-gazing or as a convivial camp fire setting.

Thank you again,
The Vumbura Plains Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015

This was the last of 5 Wilderness camps and they tied for first place with Kings Pool on every aspect - although the room at Vumbura South was absolutely amazing. Lops, Chris, Itty, Jacks, the entire staff couldn't do more for us - trying to keep us cool in the very hot temps! Our guide Emany along with Ernest made for the most enjoyable time - wildlife viewing was extraordinary - Can't wait to come back and visit you all - thanks for the special Halloween celebration in the Bush - the wonderful smoothies when it was scorching hot and the overall caring about us.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patteski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2015

Thank you Patteski, for your kind and amazing review. The opportunity for us and all our staff to be able to make your journey such a special and memorable one, is the reason we do what we do, and love what we do.

Wilderness Safaris and the Okavango Community Trust have formed a partnership that involves the employment and training of the local community members in all aspects of lodge employment. At this stage Wilderness employs 120 community members in its camps, and those with the greatest potential are selected for the Wilderness Safaris Localisation Training Course, a programme designed to train local Batswana people to become skilled and effective camp managers. Wilderness is also in the process of assisting and advising the community on administration matters and business planning decisions. This is geared to helping with other small business projects such as vegetable gardens, shops and basket making, which will further enhance the self-realisation and self-employment prospects of the members of this community.

Thank you again,
The Vumbura Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015

This was our second stop on our Safari and it certainly did not disappoint. We did not think we could get much better than what we experienced at the Kalahari Plains Camp, but Vumbura was a class above.
The accommodation itself was some of the best I have stayed in anywhere in the world, the rooms are huge and you have your own private plunge pools. The common areas are just as good with a fantastic fire place looking over the plains at night.
The animals in the Delta are everywhere. We saw a huge array of them on our trip from the airstrip to the camp, which was not even part of the safari. We stayed for 3 days and nights here and once again each day was a new adventure. The guides have an amazing knowledge and feel for where the animals will be, this was demonstrated best when our guide spotted a leopard in a tree from about 300 meters away. Seeing how these animals ignore the safari cars (when engines are turned off) is something you need to experience to believe. We saw everything here including, Lions, Leopards, Cheetahs, Elephants, Water Buffalo,Giraffe, Zebra, Wart hogs, Heyna's, Hippos and many others and I can not begin to name all the birds we saw. We were also fortunate enough to see some of the elusive Sable Antelope.
You also get the opportunity to ride in a Mokoro. This was a great experience given that many of the locals still use these to get around nowadays. Our Mokoro driver was in camp for 3 months at a time and then would make his way back to his village in a mokoro which takes a week. It is an extremely relaxing way to see the waterways of the delta. I can not speak highly enough of the amount of wildlife you see at this camp. It is extraordinary to say the least.
The food here once again was amazing. We were treated to both a morning tea and a lunch set up by the staff in the middle of a jungle. This is certainly an experience you will remember for the rest of your life if you get the chance to do it. We also got to see a traditional dance and eat some traditional food (a monthly event at the camp). This really added to the stay.
As you can tell I can not speak highly enough of the this camp. They take care of everything and the staff at the camp will tend to your every need. It is so refreshing to interact with such friendly people who appear to love their work. The safari guides are exceptional and will try and help you find whatever animal you are trying to tick off your list. Our guide managed to find every single animal we wanted to see. Once again we were treated to a candle lit dinner on our own balcony one night given it was our honeymoon. An amazing personal touch from the people at Vumbura.
A trip to The Delta would not be complete without visiting this fantastic camp in my opinion.

Stayed: February 2015
Thank JavierPavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2015

Dear JavierPavier,

We cannot thank you enough for your beautiful and heartfelt review. We are honoured to have been able to enjoy this special time with you and glad to see we could help in making it a memorable anniversary.

The annually flooded grasslands of the Okavango Delta surrounding Vumbura Plains are locally referred to as 'melapo' and offer good seasonal viewing of elephant, giraffe, impala, sable antelope, kudu, zebra, common waterbuck and reedbuck, tsessebe, wildebeest, red lechwe and Cape buffalo. Hippo and crocodile are common in the waterways. Predators include the African wild dog, several resident prides of lion, as well as leopard, cheetah and African wildcat. Birding is exceptional all year round, with the possibility of sighting some endangered species, such as the stately wattled crane, slaty egret, white-backed night heron and the wonderfully adapted Pel’s fishing owl.

We hope to welcome you back soon,
The Vumbura Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

I visited on my own for 2 nights. The staff were attentive and provided everything wanted. Our guides were very knowledgeable and took us on great safaris, so we saw lots of animals and birds, they also explained lots of local culture and gave us some demonstrations of dancing and weaving with grass. The food is very good, they will cater to any needs. They rooms look out onto a lagoon, they are fantastic with mini bar etc, with a beautiful background noise at night of the nature.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
Thank sjontaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2015

Dear Sjontaela,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your time with us and especially your time spent learning about the local culture and getting to experience a taste of true, “African hospitality”.

In keeping with the ecotourism principles set in place by Wilderness Safaris and in addition to helping to conserve the area. Vumbura Plains is part of a community participation plan that brings the benefits of ecotourism to the communities that live around the Okavango Delta. The greatest benefit of this is the ability to delight our guests with a cultural visit. Guests are invited to visit one of the villages of the Okavango Community Trust, meet the people and learn about the local culture. *This activity is at extra cost.

Thank you again,
The Team at Vumbura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews