We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
204
32
7
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
32
7
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolwilderness safarissunken living roomgame viewingwild dogsraised boardwalktented suitemain areasitting areaoutdoor showerleopard cubsprivate guidesun loungersevening drivethe managersgames drivesduma tau
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

After our brief stay at Vumbera Plains South Camp, my hubby & I would like to just move in and forget the rest of the world! Everything about the camp was lovely, the staff are excellent - particularly all the local Batswanas and our guide ST was first class. Wilderness Safaries looked after us so well from the time they met us at Maun Airport til the time they put us back on our flight 7 days later. There is no mobile/blackberry reception - totally bliss!! We saw plenty of game, highly recommend the water activities like Mokoro & the boat trip - you may not see much game but it's so beautiful and you notice all the little things around you. The food was excellent - nothing we could fault. We will be booking our return trip!

Room Tip: We prefered South Camp. The common area of North camp was rebuilt after a fire so it may be newer and a bit fancier but lacks the lovely big shadey old trees of south. They are all connected by one big walkway in anycase.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K8C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Of the 4 game camps we stayed at, this is the only one we wished we could have stayed longer than the 3 nights we had booked. Amazingly beautiful location and property. Huge rooms (complete with baboons running across the roof!) Top notch guiding provided by Morongo, including a night drive tracking lions on the hunt. Delicious food, great staff. Lovely massage on our private deck (all that eating and being driven around watching the incredible wildlife is hard work). Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RebeccaVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed at Vumbura from 29 dec 2011 till 1 jan 2012. Flew in from Johannesburg to Maun, then approx 30 minutes with a chessna plain to Vumbura. Great welcome at the lodge by most friendly staff!! Plan on gaining some weight while you are there, breakfast at 06.00, lunch/brunch at 11.00, tea at 16.00 and dinner at 19.00, and all fantastic considering the fact that its located in the middle of nowhere. The accommodation is fantastic, rooms without walls, open toilet, fantastic huge soft beds and a great outdoor and indoor shower. Large sundeck with sitting area, private plunge pool and sunlounges. Excellent and very friendly management especially the german manager!! Great game viewing by Zee - his motto: its not for nothing that the word sometimes means some times you see something, some times not.. but we loved each and every game drive!
No internet and no phone reception, but helpful staff offered to send out an email to our relatives on our behalf.
To our suprise on new years eve they organised a bush dinner party, which was a great treat. Sundowners are also a special treat. In short Vumbura is exceeding expectations!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gijsje100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Recently stayed at Vumbura South Camp and was very impressed with camp, excellent beds, sitting room adjacent to bedroom and huge outdoor area with sitting area and small pool. Had a fabulous time here after staying at three wonderful camps and was not sure what to expect but it exceeded my expectations. The staff, top notch, excellent executive chef from UK and lots of surprises and I'll leave it at that. Viewing excellent, four young adult lions, a fabulous viewing on two days of a young leopard and 23 wild dogs - who could ask for anything more. But there was more. Definitely a camp to twin with Duba Plains for superb viewing.

Room Tip: Stayed at Zarafa, Duba Plains, Selinda Camps if anyone if looking for other camps to stay in. Have also stayed at Savuti on another occasion which was wonderful also. Great Plains and Wilderness are the camp operators.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richardson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This was our second camp on our trip. The property is superb, the accommodations are outstanding!!! Huge accommodation with our own plunge pool, huge outdoor patio and great outdoor shower, large indoor sitting area, huge shower, his and her sinks, a fridge !!!. You name it you got it. Excellent food, although if you are not careful, you will easily eat too much.

This camp was the best of the three that we ultimately visited. The Botswanian guides and workers are the best !!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews