We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
228
24
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
228
24
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tented camp game drives wild dog puppies morning drive the entire staff the managers the reserve off road mokoro ride outdoor shower ak butler andbeyond ranger tracker singing okavango
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2021 via mobile

Nxabega is a wonderful lodge to go to experience Botswana’s beautiful Okavango delta. It’s a tented lodge (nicest tent I ever saw) with a swimming pool, bar and dining area, overlooking a plain where animals such as impalas appeared regularly. Our suite was large and comfortable with a shower, and outdoor shower, mini bar, lots of space for clothes and luggage and good WiFi. We left the flaps open at night so fresh air could blow through the screens. Nice patio with table and chairs for an afternoon drink, and also a swing to enjoy while watching wildlife.

What really makes Nxabega great is the staff. Tshepi took really good care of us bringing meals, drinks, and cheerfully greeting us all day. Chef Vincent prepared wonderful meals every day with many creative delicious choices. The managers were checking with us regularly and met us after every game drive with cool towels and welcome drinks.

The game drives were among the best we experienced in many years of coming to Africa on safari. We witnessed a leopard stalking and eventually killing an impala, dragging it into the bushes where it’s cubs we’re waiting. We saw baby hyenas ( a first), wild dog puppies (a first), and a wild dog hunt. Our guide AK and spotter Action are among the best, if not the best, we have experienced. AK took the time to explain how the delta came to be and made many unforgettable experiences. AK and Action made our overall experience very special and we are very enthusiastic about a return to Okavango delta in the near future.

From listening to the delta night sounds, to experiencing an elephant joining us for dinner at the boma (he only stayed for the salad course) we had a great stay, all made possible by the warm friendly staff at beautiful Nxabega!

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roxtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 July 2021

If you could only do one camp in Botswana, this would be the one as you great great game drives, boat outing, and Makuru (but dont do just one camp; just saying this camp offers a lot). Candrew (guide) and action (tracker) were great. Our safaris were action packed (pun intended). 1st drive- leopard 10 minutes in; within 4 meters for 30 minutes and as close as 3 meters. Then came across wild dogs getting active then going on hunt. In later game drive, saw leopard hunting (stayed with for an hour) and saw wild dogs with Cubs at den when dogs returned after hunt to feed Cubs. Because the camp was not very full, there where no plans to do use the Boma for dinner. But after I asked about it, they set an did for just 4 people (they did not have to do this, but was very appreciative that this was the only camp of our 6 camp itinerary were we used the Boma.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 June 2021 via mobile

We recently stayed at andBeyond Nxabega Tented Camp in the Okavango Delta and it was absolutely incredible! It is a 5 star lodge in the middle of the bush that feels like a cozy b&b. From the safari drives and beautiful tented camp to the warm, welcoming people; andBeyond exceeded every expectation we had for our first trip post-COVID. The camp is literally in the middle of the bush and were completely immersed in the experience. There are no barriers separating the camp from the rest of the area and animals often stop by. There was a family of elephants that fed on trees right off the camp almost every day as well as a family of very entertaining monkeys that roam the camp. 

We also learned so much about the history and culture of the area. Our guide, Candrew, and tracker, Batani, were absolutely amazing! They are incredibly knowledgeable about the area and we enjoyed getting to know them over the course of the trip! We went on two game drives every day, one in the morning and one in the evening. They try extremely hard to find everything you want to see. We were very lucky and saw the Big Five within the first 48 hours plus had some really crazy experiences. We were up close and personal with lions, elephants, a leopard, baboons, giraffes, zebras, and a white rhino just to name a few.

The general outline of the day was:
5:30am - wake up call
6am - pick up from tent and breakfast
6:30am - 11:30am - morning drive
12pm - lunch (time is flexible)
1pm - 3pm - free time at the camp, we laid out by the pool 
3:30pm - afternoon tea/snacks 
4pm - 7pm - evening drive or activity (boat and mokoro activities)
7:30pm - pre-dinner drinks with the group after returning to the camp
8pm - dinner (time is flexible)

The food was great and had a variety of options every day. The "tent" was spacious and very comfortable. The WiFi isn't the strongest - we were able to connect to send texts and access social media easily but getting work emails was challenging at times so plan ahead if needed. 

We weren't sure what to expect when packing but we definitely over-packed. We only needed about 2-3 days of clothes for safari and definitely needed layers. Most people don't change for dinner after the evening drive so we didn’t need additional dinner outfits. We stayed at the end of May and the temperatures were in the 40's (F) in the early morning/night and low 80's in the afternoon. Laundry is included and comes back very quickly so is very helpful. The truck is covered so you're not out in the sun all day and helps keep it cool in the afternoons. They also provide hot water bottles and blankets for when it gets chilly. 

We really felt like family while we were there. Every single person at the camp went above and beyond to make sure we had an excellent stay. There were a lot of extra touches along the way like morning tea/coffee stops, nightly cocktail stops, boat trips, and personalized touches throughout our stay. A very special thank you to Clint & Sarah, Kobus, Daman, Candrew, Batani, Promise, Precious, and the entire staff for making sure we had an unforgettable trip!

COVID Information:

We felt very safe throughout our stay. We are fully vaccinated and so were all of the other guests we encountered on our trip. There was one afternoon where we were the only guests in the camp but most days there were 2-4 other couples/families. The staff wore masks and most of our meals and activities were outdoors. COVID did not take away from our experience in any way. 

Botswana has a great system for tourists entering the country. We needed a PCR test within 72 hours of arrival, which we completed before we left home. We arrived in Maun from Johannesburg (about an hour and a half flight). On disembarkation, we were brought right to an outdoor testing area where we completed a health form and took a rapid COVID antigen test. The whole process was very well organized and very efficient. Once the test results came back, we were allowed to proceed to customs and then were greeted by an andBeyond staff member who assisted us with the rest of our travels. From Maun, we boarded a small aircraft that brought us to the camp. It's about a 20 minute flight. Once at the camp, they took our temperatures once a day at lunch (required at the time of our stay by the government). This was done very quickly and was not an inconvenience. They also arranged our PCR COVID test needed to enter South Africa.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank nic_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 June 2021

We stayed here for 2 nights. This was our very first trip with AndBeyond and our first impression was incredible. Our guides were Candrew and Sea who were phenomenal. We loved loved loved our game drives and the mokoro ride. There is nothing like it and we will never forget it. Our tent was comfortable and had everything we needed. We even had an elephant come say hi along the path and stopped to eat some leaves right at a tree on the edge of our room! Every team member there is fantastic at what they do and making you feel special. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank kristenoeser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 March 2020

We went to Nxabega in November 2019 as part of a trip for our 50th wedding anniversary. The staff could not have been more caring and helpful. It’s a beautiful camp and the cabins are great. The camp provides a great pair of binoculars to view the animals, various books and pamphlets to help orient your experience. It was great seeing the “resident” elephants come to the water hole in front of the lobby/dining area (but far enough away to be safe) each day. There is also an old hippo living in that basin who the story says was chased from his pod and found Nxabega for his watery refuge. Of course, as it got drier and the elephants came to drink the water, I worried that he might soon find himself without a place to be. Just hope the rains have started.

The last day we were at Nxabega, an elephant and her baby came to snooze next to our cabin. I didn’t know at that time that elephants could sleep propped up by their trunks but that is what this lady did. I slowly moved to take a picture of her as I didn’t want to make any sudden moves (which one does not want to do with an elephant only 5-10 feet away from you.)

We saw all sorts of wildlife on the safari rides – elephant, black maned lion, leopards, African Cape Buffalo, rhinoceros (the Big Five from just this one camp!), hyena pups, zebra, red lechwe and other antelopes, Pell’s Fishing Owl (a rare sighting), many different birds, and even a monitor lizard crossing the road. A highlight was our last Sundowner in front of a basin of hippos. Champagne, loads of different types of gin, wine, lots of yummy snacks.

Nxabega is a truly unique place. Our only regret was that we did not get to see the Okavango Delta in its normal flood stage

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank DianneS487
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews