We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cultural Adventure and one of a kind experience”
Review of Inn at Halona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Halona
Ranked #1 of 1 Zuni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Wow! Who would have thought that you could find yourself in an Inn in the middle of an ancient culture - the Zuni reservation. I cannot give higher accolades to this wonderful, magical, spiritual, experience. I recently spent a week at this Inn with my mother, and her two crazy friends - me and the old ladies. Roger, the innkeeper, was an absolute gem. He was always available to help with a smile and a warm cadence that set the tone for the entire time we stayed. We met people from all over the world, and had both wonderful and interesting conversations. The breakfasts were absolutely amazing - go for the corn pancakes. The staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly. The Zuni people themselves conveyed both warmth and acceptance, and were delightful to talk with. The Inn is quirky, but in the best ways. It has so much character that a five star resort can't hold a candle to its charm. If you are looking for an adventure, and you love to experience the local culture - this is the place to be. This is a bed and breakfast for those who truly want a family vibe - high maintenance people need not apply. Thank you Roger and the rest of the staff - including the kitties.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms online first. Their descriptions are pretty much spot on.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberlee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Happy Guests,
It is fair to say that your bouncy presence around our premises was duly noted and imprinted the whole place with joy. And of course, all of us working here appreciate that very much. After all, our Guests are not mere Tourists, but Honored Visitors.
And most importantly, you tapped into one of the Inn at Halona's primary delightful resource: its Guests from all over the world indeed, always willing to gather around the breakfast table, or outdoors on the deck for example, and just behave as if everybody had known one another for ever.
As you point out, our very location and our Zuni staff make it very likely that Guests' stays here will offer plenty of opportunities to get acquainted with our community's lifestyle.
The vigilant kitties, yet mindful of keeping their distances as necessary, say HI of course!
In any case, WELCOME BACK any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Halona
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017

First of all this is the only lodging in Zuni, NM. But that doesn't diminish the fact that the Inn is a first rate B and B. A little difficult to find even in such a small town. Look for the main entrance into the Pueblo off the main highway and the warning signs concerning "photography" and you are near. Halona Plaza next door is a bee hive of tribal activity, providing groceries, jewelry supplies and deli style fried chicken. Halona Inn is a brightly colored two story historical house converted into 5 or so separate bedrooms with a large common living room and kitchen. The Inn is booked out most nights so we were lucky to have found a room complete with private bathroom. We made the most of the large shaded yards, perfect for a good read or photo of one of the resident cats. Night came early to the pueblo and between the quiet, the stars and the cool night air, we slept well. Your breakfast is made to order. Fill out your requests at check-in at the Halona Plaza. Blue corn pancakes, eggs and sausage, fresh breads, juice and plenty of coffee brought out a fee smiles from my table. The innkeeper Roger sat for quite a spell with us chatting about the Inn's history and his family and hopes for future expansion. We waved goodbye and on to Gallup knowing it would be hard to find another place like this one that was as memorable and satisfying.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2. It was across from the entrance door and busy kitchen; although not an issue fo...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Guests, Honored Visitors,
Thank you so much for the accolades; and of course, especially your own impressions of the little details that make our Inn special… To even us working here!
Indeed our little neighborhood, filled with family history and joint background with the Zuni people, is beehive like.
Expansion? Yes, we are in the process of moving our grocery retail operation to a brand new, much larger, better equipped facility, located East on the main Hway 53 that bisects our community. Vacated space at the current premises will become a much larger restaurant. Exciting!!
Much of the time, when Guests arrive here, they are quite surprised to be exposed to so much activity, unfolding and at a brisk pace. Especially since in the type of community we live, clichés abound about "slow pace", "indian Time", etc…
Quite the opposite here: personnel throughout out company are eager to deliver goods and services… And welcome & get acquainted withVisitors.
Your review is quite poetic and agreeable to read. Of course, it is fair to say that TripAdvisor is for the most part frequented by tasteful and experienced travelers, and we welcome their reviews, oftentimes finding pointers amongst them to help improve our operations!
Yes indeed, we have been quite busy lately, often reflecting the fact that we have a number of return Guests coming to see us again en route to other destinations in our region. After all, the Inn at Halona can be a good base of operation to reach important sites in our area.
Welcome back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful surprise this little hotel was. Roger the innkeeper was an amazing host, we felt we could talk to him for days straight. Everyone was kind and Lydia cooked us an amazing breakfast. The hotel itself beautiful and breath of fresh air

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Simone L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Guests,
Well, you have been able, I am sure, to notice that all of us at the Inn and at our adjoining food store (starting with our Office) are pleased you and other travelers are taking time off Interstate 40 to come by and breathe a little Zuni air, and sample our lifestyle. After all, we are located right in the middle of the village!
And of course, we are eager to know about you: we appreciate you as Visitors, not merely Tourists indeed.
Welcome back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

The inn is super nice, old but very clean full of nick knacks with a hint of the dutch heritage this inn has, The house was once build by Dutch immigrants, we stayed in room 21 which has its own private bathroom. Bed is good room is cozy.
the breakfast is super, blue corn pancakes are a local treat and I had a fruit bowl which was super, made fresh in front of us by the very friendly host Francois.

Room Tip: Check in is a bit weird, you have to go to the supermarket and they will get someone to bring you to...
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Thank you, Dear Guests for your prompt review.
We do appreciate them all, the longer ones, the shorter ones, and the ones with a particular focus, such as yours regarding the breakfast food and the manner in which it is served. And it is nice to hear good things about our room 21; a little quirky with detached private bathroom, sloped tongue and groove ceiling (same wood with the walls), BUT nice view and sound from the pond below.
Welcome back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

If you are looking for a modern hotel experience, this is not the place for you. But if, like us, you know something about the Vanderwagen family history and want to stay in the original homestead in the midst of the Zuni pueblo then this is the place to be. We spent only one night at the inn, but found it quite enjoyable. Rooms are small and had a lot of furniture and accessories in them--we were each just one person in two rooms (#s 1 and 4). Not a lot of room to spread out, especially if you had two people in the room, but there are common areas, including kitchen, diningroom, livingroom and outside patios. One downside of the room was that the AC was quite loud; I actually turned it off and slept with the fan, which was fine even though it was quite warm while we were there. The owner and innkeeper were very helpful in directing us around the village, telling us about where to go to see the rain dances, which were quite fascinating. These were not tourist dances, but very elaborate ceremonial dances put on for the Zunis themselves. We also enjoyed the breakfast, which you preorder the night before. Very plentiful selection and the blue corn pancakes were quite tasty. The advantage of being in an inn like this is that you also meet some interesting people. In fact, at our breakfast, we met a Vanderwagen family member as well as a non-native American woman who had brought a small Zuni child in her custody to the village to visit the child's grandmother. Interesting conversations with both parties. While in the village, we went to the visitor center and also a number of trading posts. It was somewhat disappointing that most of the trading posts were run by foreigners rather than by Zunis, which is why we found the cooperative in town a great place to shop (also much better prices than the major trading posts). The visitors' center ran tours, which we would have liked to have taken, especially as the guide seemed to be very informative. Guess this will have to wait for our next visit to the pueblo, which hopefully will be before too long.

Room Tip: Stayed in rooms 1 and 4, both on the small side but comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Fridaysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank you for the extensive review: I had to review IT myself several times to catch akk the information!
Excellent description of some of our amenities, as well as about the underlying history of our buildings and Vander Wagen family's long time adventure in Zuni.
Yes indeed, quite a bit of stuff about the Inn and in the rooms. We are essentially emulating the non-minimalist style of Zuni interior decorating, in that one does not see much outside a local home, but the inside exhibits all manners of family mementoes, creative artifacts, photos of especially all youngsters' phases of life, etc…
A/C units have been working overtime this summer… Time to service/replace some of them indeed. Thanks for the comment.
In regard to shops in Zuni, fair to say that most of them are not run by Zuni Tribal Members, but they still carry locally purchased items are are often ready to contribute to and sponsor community activities.

This review is recommended reading got potential visitors to Zuni in general, as well as Guests at the Inn.

- Roger T/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Inn at Halona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Halona

Address: 23b Pia Mesa Road, Zuni, NM 87327
Region: United States > New Mexico > Zuni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Zuni
Price Range: ₹ 5,128 - ₹ 6,555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Halona 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn at Halona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing