We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch your wallet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White's City Cavern Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Whites City
Reviewed 22 March 2015

sad to say that all the hotel / motels in the area are gouging because of all the oil drilling going on, whites city was by far the least expensive at 118 per night ( others in town were raging from 140 on up) not much can be said about the room, not bad, not great, but peacefully quite and the night sky is something to behold. reservations are a must !

Room Tip: reservations!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2015 via mobile

I was totally blown away with this place. Wasn't expecting what we experienced. 3 of us for dinner. We love Mexican food, and not all Mexican is equal. Whites has excellent food. My steak ranked in the top two that I ever had, and was only $ 12.00. The other steak I had as good was $ 50.00. My wife's and brother meal was very good. This place is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rook H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2014

We stayed at the Roadway Inn, White City because it was the closest hotel to the caverns (Carlsbad is 20 miles away) and the prices in Carlsbad were very high. I was pleasantly surprised. Our room was very clean and spacious. We had a microwave and a refrigerator which was a bonus. There is only one restaurant in the area which closes at 7 PM after Labor day and there is a cute grocery/gift shop which closes at 6 PM. The pool and water park were closed but we didn't care. We had a burger and fries at the restaurant which were good before going to the bat flight program. This hotel filled our needs and saved a lot of driving back and forth from Carlsbad.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roxie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2014

+ Really improved the rooms since we were here 5 years ago - the carpeting, tile, counters, etc. have all been replaced.
- They should have replaced the pillows - these are not hotel quality pillows! By the first morning I woke up with a migraine headache. We had to drive into Carlsbad, NM to buy new pillows.
+ Staff is very nice. When we were rained out by Hurricane Odile, and Carlsbad Caverns were closed, we were refunded our last night, as we left a night early.
- It was very difficult to communicate with all of the employees, including the front desk staff, due to the language barrier.
- Need a little more cleanliness - even my husband noticed the dust caked around the bathroom fan (and that's saying a lot!) There were also some dark smudges on the bathroom doors that should have been washed off (just cleaning details).
- Need to raise the TV up 6-12 inches to be able to watch it from the bed.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Fastmach B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Large room, water park a plus because the hotel pool was not well maintained. Except for the pool, we were happy. Breakfast was not fancy but adequate the breakfast rolls were 4 dollar each at the cafe at the caverns.

Room Tip: Book early was full most of the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank polly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whites City
0.1 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 3 in Whites City
370 reviews
28.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
26 km away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#7 of 22 in Carlsbad
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White's City Cavern Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White's City Cavern Inn

Address: 17 Carlsbad Caverns Hwy., Whites City, NM 88268
Region: United States > New Mexico > Whites City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Whites City
Price Range: ₹ 6,250 - ₹ 6,569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White's City Cavern Inn is not and has not been available for tourists to reserve a room since 2010. This hotel is currently in a private partnership with another company. All reviews after 2010 are mis-labled or from business tenants. The Rodeway Inn is the only hotel available for reservations in White's City, NM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White`s City Cavern Hotel Whites City
Whites City Cavern Hotel
Whites City Best Western
Best Western Whites City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing