We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
38
13
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
13
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

From the UK we saw this B&B via a schoolfriend on Facebook and thought it would be a good halfway break on our way to Kenton-On-Sea. On arrival, we were shown to our rooms...Explorer/Karoo View 2 and Karoo View 1... WOW was the comment from all 5 of us!! Stunning rooms.. After travelling we swam in the refreshingly cool swimming pool with the tranquility of the sunset and beautiful scenic views all around us. After sundowners on the pool deck we freshened up whilst our wonderful hosts Ben and Lanie prepared supper. Our meals were delicious!!!! Lanie prepared a special Vegetarian meal which was equally tasty! A fantastic stay.. We wished we had booked for longer. We highly recommend this B&B .. You will not be disappointed. Thank you Ben and Lanie :-))

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

On a two week tour, staying in some appetising looking places, we didn't have this stopover down as a particular highlight - stupid us.
A wonderfully spacious room with a huge private deck offering the most breathtaking views greeted us. The pool looks out over glorious countryside. There's another viewing deck where Ben made us a truly gourmet dinner (the marrowbone starter is a must) for next to no cost.
Wished we had booked for longer.....

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Our room Karoo View 2 was large, spacious and well decorated. The balcony was huge and private and we enjoyed a lovely evening watching the moon rise over the horizon.

Whilst this is the country we were surprised to see 3 dogs at the guesthouse, in the common areas and around the pool. If you are uncomfortable with Great Danes (like us) this isn't the place for you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kath A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benderust1, Owner at De Rust View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Hi!
You stayed with us about a month ago on a Sunday and we are a bit unsure of the specific circumstances of your stay, but we are profusely sorry that you were not perfectly at home.
Yes. We indeed have two great danes. We lived on a farm before moving to De Rust and yes a guesthouse isn’t the most perfect setting to have two very old dogs around. But we only had two options – putting them down or move them too.
They are not allowed in the house, but you can’t imagine how sneaky they can be! Generally guests love them, but we know it is not to everybody’s liking. We monitor the situation and if we see guests are uncomfortable with them, we put them in a large enclosure.
(Luckily you didn’t see the very old Spaniel that only wakes up when there is food around : >). But, the danes and the Spaniel don’t have much time left on earth and perhaps a year from now the only surprise that non dog-lovers will have to face is a small Jack Russell that is very concerned when some-one jumps in the pool.
Thank you so much for you kind feedback.
Kind regards,
Ben
De Rust View Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Better late than never - after our stay in October thought I better get around to posting a review and this place is well worth taking the time to do so.

We only had one night here between our stay in Addo and our next stop of Simon's Town and now wish we had stayed longer.

With magnificent views from every room, this was a highlight of our stay, made more special by Ben & Lanie-Marie and their wonderful cookery - not to mention their menagerie of pets.

The room - Karoo View 2 - was spacious, airy, clean and very, very comfortable. I didn't notice whether it had air-con (although there was a fan) or if a fridge was available or even a hairdryer - however, this was not a concern for us as we were only there on a whistle-stop visit.

I would most certainly recommend De Rust View Guest House as a much better alternative to Oudtshoorn.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

What more can one ask for? Reasonable price. Friendly reception by your hosts. Superb hospitality. Beautiful views - yes in this case as beautiful as the internet pictures. Large rooms and in Karoo View One where we stayed, you even have a beautiful view from the bath! And the food - Ben prepared us a Cassoulet, which is a French dish with white beans. I though I hated white beans, but I had three servings. We cannot wait to visit this superb guest house again.

Tienie and Joy Cronje from Pretoria

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martinus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews