We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calitzdorp
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Mountain Nature Reserve
Ranked #10 of 11 Calitzdorp B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

A very special place to stay: very tranquil, lovely setting, large swimming pool, spacious rooms well equipped and delicious evening meals and breakfasts not to be forgotton.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikola_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This was our 6th stay and all I can say is it gets better every time. The rooms are huge and superb, every room has 2 sun loungers, a table with a sunshade and 2 chairs, so you have the choice of relaxing by your room, or you can stroll down to the pool area, (the pool is 25mts long and nice and deep) where you can relax in the shade of a tree, or out in the sun on yet more sun loungers. The gardens are very well spread out, and the lavender garden is lovely. Louis serves pre dinner drinks by the pool, and dinner is on the verander, or if the evening is a little chilly, then it is indoors. Annette is a superb cook, and all meals are beautifully presented, you even get the days forecast on a delightful card on your breakfast place setting. The Red Mountains surround the whole place, and the tones of red change with the sun moving round, and of course the stars at night are fantastic, as there is no ambient light to spoil the view. This is a must for anybody who wants to relax, and see some of the interesting sights in the area. I just hope that we will still be able to stay there again next year, and not find that everybody else thinks the same as us, and they get fully booked up!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaddy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Sometimes you discover a place so special, that you don't want anybody else in this world to know about it. But that is not fair. Not fair to other travelers and also not fair to the people who make a place so special. Louis and Annette (the hosts and more than that) deserve that everybody in this world knows about the Red Mountain Nature reserve (Red Mountain Lodge).
In between Calitzdorp and Oudshoorn (the turn to Kruisrivier) in the Kleine Karoo there is an oasis. A main house, two barns converted in 5 enormous rooms with wonderful bathrooms and a poolhouse in front of the biggerst pool in an african B&B. In bewteen nice lawns, beatiful trees and lovely flowers. This place is surrounded by Red Mountains who change colour every hour. Especially with sunrise and sunset they are specteculair. The breakfast and the diner Anette makes are also the best in Africa. Home cooked food, very tasty and beautiful presented. Louis makes killer g&t's at the poolhouse before dinner. You don't have to do a lot but enjoy the views, seek the shade, frolick in the pool and enjoy your meals. Of couse you can make walks into the mountains. For me Red Mountain Nature Reserve is the ideal holiday destination. ssssttttttttttt

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eimert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
1,053 reviews
317 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,536 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I found the hotel via Google Earth and checked by Tripadvisor. Due to the reviews we've decided to stay a night at the Lodge on our way from Knysna to Swellendam. And we've not been let down at all. Already the drive from the N62 to the Lodge is stunning, the views, indescribable! It's not in Calitzdorp at all, it's 20 minutes driving from the center of Oudtshoorn.

When we arrived we learned that it's a farm which is transferred to a Lodge where the main house serves as the dining room & breakfast terrace and the stone barns have been transferred to 5 suites. It's absolutely picturesque!

The suite itself is okay, the highlight being a double shower were you can shower with your partner the same time without having space and water temperature issues. I rated the rooms with 4 points because there's no Wi-Fi internet inside the room (it's in the main house), the sink serves cold and warm water through different water taps and the refrigerator was a bit noisy (maybe because you really hear absolutely nothing else).

Drinks & Snacks were served by Louis at the pool and we had one of the most stunning views we ever had. When the sun goes down behind the mountains...

Then we were escorted to the main house where we were served the food prepared by Annette. I'm a very, very picky eater (which you can see when you read my other reviews) and I do complain a lot when the food isn't up to standard. But Annette’s food didn't give any reason to complain - it was the first time since arrival in South Africa that I finished my plate. Don't expect molecular kitchen, don't expect ginger infusion etc. - just expect very good home-cooked food. We did have a Spinach-Feta Quiche, an excellent Quince salad with creams blue-cheese dressing, a perfectly cooked high-quality filet with caramelized carrots, other veggie and perfect potatoes. The dessert was as it should be, a very juicy cake with a sauce and a ball of vanilla ice cream.

When walking back to our suite we had a look at the sky which was full of stars, fantastic!

In the morning we got a very romantic breakfast incl. fresh fruits, yogurt with passion fruit sauce, cheese, cereals, fluffy pancakes and very soft tomato omelets with bacon & creamy mushrooms. First time we were served warm farm bread which we liked a lot! Even the water served came with a taste of lemon and mint. Combine this with the setting (on the terrace of the main house) and the view... What could be made better? The orange juice could be squeezed freshly. But that's all.

I've to say that we've been very happy, that for us it has been a totally different experience to all the 5* hotels and luxury boutique B&B, a farm-stay Deluxe! If you want to relax, to recover from work, that's the perfect location.

P.S.: when you do have some time leave the property to the left and take the longer route back to N62. It's 54 km (while the straight is 6 km to N 62) and it takes an hour but it's stunning! The views, the panorama, the Baboons...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This was our fifth time and it gets better and better, the setting is just perfect for a relaxing holiday. The rooms are great, the gardens are very spacious and the pool is a fantastic length and width, not to mention the superb food, and the presentation of the the food served is wonderful. This all wrapped up in a magical place for a B & B. and there are loads of trips to be made if you can drag yourself away from one of the best B & Bs on Route 62. We will be back again and again God willling.
M & A

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaddy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calitzdorp
0.0 km away
Calitzdorp Country House
Calitzdorp Country House
#1 of 11 in Calitzdorp
259 reviews
0.0 km away
Red Stone Hills
Red Stone Hills
#1 of 1 in Buffelskloof
261 reviews
0.0 km away
The Retreat at Groenfontein
The Retreat at Groenfontein
#1 of 20 in Calitzdorp
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Queen of Calitzdorp
The Queen of Calitzdorp
#2 of 11 in Calitzdorp
112 reviews
0.0 km away
Portwine Guesthouse
Portwine Guesthouse
#4 of 11 in Calitzdorp
89 reviews
0.0 km away
Karoo Life Bed & Breakfast
Karoo Life Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 11 in Calitzdorp
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mountain Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mountain Nature Reserve

Property: Red Mountain Nature Reserve
Address: Buffelskloof | PO Box 39, Calitzdorp 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Calitzdorp
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Calitzdorp
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Mountain Nature Reserve has seven luxurious suites - two especially for honeymoon couples. Each offers elegant furnishings, air conditioning, overhead fans, under-floor heating, tea and coffee making facilities, satellite TV and sound system. The views towards the Red Mountains are spectacular. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing