We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at a price”

The Coachman Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Dullstroom
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

We had dinner at the Coachmen for my wife's birthday. We made a reservation that morning to be sure we are guaranteed a table that evening. Upon arriving I didnt get a good vibe. But that's just me being a but difficult. After ordering our drinks and going through the menu we almost left. The prices are through the roof. Really expensive, even for a restaurant in Sandton square or Cape Town Waterfront. We decided to stay as we heard some good things of the restaurant. I ordered a rump steak and my wife hake an calamari. The decision to stay for dinner was the absolute right one. The food was absolutely perfect. Perfectly cooked steak and fish. PERFECT. If I had to be critical, I would have liked to have more spinach.

The reason for the average score is due to the very high prices on this menu and the poor interior of the restaurant. The place needs serious upgrading inside. If they want to charge those prices, it should at least be complimented by the look and feel inside. Get the combination right and this place will compete with some of the top restaurants in SouthAfrica.

All and all, a very nice evening. If you are not worried about the cost, you certainly must give them a try. Wont be disappointed

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Janus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce O, Owner at The Coachman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Janus,

Such a pity you did not get a good vibe on arrival, but then you admitted to being a but difficult. We are accustomed with the odd difficult customer so we accept your feedback in a positive light.

Thank you so much for the amazing feedback on our food! Your caps on the word PERFECT is really a compliment to us - thank you so much and we trust that our PERFECT food will honor us with another visit from you soon. Next time you visit us please just ask for a little more spinach should your serving not be ample, it will be served to you by the show of hand - with pleasure and complimentary!

High Price? Let's Compare a Spur Rump 300gr @ R140 and at the Coachman R129? Spur - Hake & Calamari R115 and at the Coachman R125?

The average in our opinion is spot on for a non-franchise family budget restaurant.

Decor is really personal taste, so we accept you do not like our decor and should that be the determining factor from keeping you enjoying a PERFECT meal we accept that with absolute respect.

You are welcome at the Coachman Restaurant!

Blesssings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Had lunch there on a Sunday with a friend. It was warm and welcoming and the food was excellent. Their signature trout was delicious and so were the accompaniments. My friend had the calamari that looked less inviting, but tasted quite good. I also saw someone get a pizza take-away. On a previous occasion I attended a fortieth birthday celebration there with a large group of people and they handled a big group superbly. Real Dullies food versatility.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank hannetjiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce O, Owner at The Coachman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

We truly appreciate review - thank you!
Visit soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

This restaurant came highly recommended by friends, We were a little disappointed in the ambiance of the restaurant, just felt sad, there is no love put into this business. Food was average. Service was about the only great thing about this restaurant. from the service we received at the door to the amazing host.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank R0ganS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce O, Owner at The Coachman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Our heart and soul is in our business - you are truly not correct in stating that we are not putting love into our establishment, what a shame that you nestled this perception....

However, thanks or the compliment on our service and host.

Blessings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Great service! Staff is a real asset to this restaurant. Good wine selection for lunch vibe, attentive waiters... Foods tasty, but considering the location, expected more attention to detail...delicious trout. Nice decor, good restrooms

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Sanz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce O, Owner at The Coachman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for your review - much appreciated!
Come visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

The food was good, we had fish and calamari and one of the girls had a steak and everyone finished their food. The restaurant would have been far more cosy if they had a few heaters as we sat inside in our jackets and we were close to the fire so its a little chilly. But service and food were good.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce O, Owner at The Coachman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thanks Lynda! Yes Dullstroom is chilly full stop. Just happy you were close to the fire!
Come visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coachman Restaurant also viewed

 
Dullstroom, Mpumalanga
 
Dullstroom, Mpumalanga
 

Been to The Coachman Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing