We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery”
Review of 1883

1883
Ranked #23 of 34 Restaurants in Dullstroom
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We stayed at Dunkeld Estate during the long weekend at the end of April - we received really friendly service from the hotel staff and the scenery is just breathtaking.
There's a good selection of wines available and the food was great.
The buffet breakfasts was not exceptional but still very nice.
We will definitely return to 1883 and Dunkeld in future.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Gawie-Isebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

My parents visit every year and this year they decided to bring friends with them. We ordered wine and drinks. Wine was just brought to table and the waiter left with out presenting wine or pour it in. We ordered our food at 19:30 food came out at 21:00 the sides were different from what we ordered. One order was completely incorrect. The two orders of trout on the grill was so dry it could have been chalk. We told the waiter the issues he brings the shift manager and he apologises and so they bring another manager her name is Anne or something like that and tell us oh there was no other customers that complained but yeah we aren't that type of people. She tells don't worry your bill is sorted. As we walk out she says oh I thought you would atleast pay for your drinks!!! I worked in the front of house and this was just completely unprofessional!!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Martin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

What an absolute gem! Service was great. Ambience was great... but the food ... beyond words. We had the trout with stuffed mango and calamari steak with cherry. To die for. An absolute must visit.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Do they even have staff??? After 10min of waiting...we left and then staff popped out..not even apologetic..case of i have to work but I really don't want to...

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank SuperCallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Very average restaurant with average service. Menu could be better as could the wine stock. But more convenient than driving into the town for a meal after dark.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank G8233ZNdavew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1883 also viewed

Dullstroom, Mpumalanga
Dullstroom, Mpumalanga
 

Been to 1883? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing