We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little motel in a town full of great motels”
Review of Buckaroo Motel

Buckaroo Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buckaroo Motel
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Reviewed 14 November 2015

I had never stayed at the Buckaroo before but I was determined to see whether some other favorable ratings were correct. First of all, the rates run less than half of some of the other highly-rated motels in Tucumcari. I didn't really know what to expect but I was more than pleasantly surprised. The room, while not expansive, was very clean and neat. It looked like it had recently been repainted and the carpeting looked brand new. The bathroom was neat and tidy and had more than enough towels and wash cloths. The TV was not a flat-screen but it was quite new and the available channels came in without any problems. The wi-fi signal was also very strong. This stay will definitely NOT be my last at the Buckaroo.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank flyboy1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We came into Tucumcari late in the evening, and saw that many establishments had already filled or closed. The Buckaroo's neon sign was still shining, though, and we registered. Same minor issues with a hot room for the first hour or so, but the A/C eventually more than cooled it off. Comfortable beds, a clean room, and a very good price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank RCMoeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed there as part of our Big 2013 Road Trip. Great neon sign. Spacious & clean room - not fancy or new, but decent, with original furniture (only minor complaint - A/C took a while to cool the room). Very reasonable price. Friendly people, & a friendly cat too. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RCMoeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

This has been the best place we have stayed throughout our trip. Friendly hosts checked our family in quickly and hassle free. Our room was spotless and had alot of character. It was very quiet and the ac worked great. At less than $35 per night, this is absolutely a great deal. Way better than a chain hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

If you're going to stay in Tucumcari, for goodness sake, don't go for the Super 8 or Hampton Inn. Instead, get a little taste of American history and spend the night at a motel that travelers might've visited during the heyday of Route 66. The Buckaroo fits this bill very nicely indeed. A quiet, clean, motor court, as they used to call them, with friendly office and housekeeping staff that are a pleasure to talk to. The rooms are basic, but clean and appear recently refurbished. You'll still get a key instead of a plastic card. Plus, you can't beat the nightly rate.

I wholeheartedly recommend the Buckaroo. You'll want to take a photo of the neon sign, too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jmhouse73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
2.8 km away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 23 in Tucumcari
288 reviews
2.8 km away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 23 in Tucumcari
755 reviews
2.5 km away
Americana Motel
Americana Motel
#20 of 23 in Tucumcari
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Tristar Inn Xpress
Tristar Inn Xpress
#16 of 23 in Tucumcari
52 reviews
6.3 km away
Super 8 Tucumcari
Super 8 Tucumcari
#10 of 23 in Tucumcari
400 reviews
3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckaroo Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckaroo Motel

Address: 1315 W Tucumcari Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Region: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Buckaroo Hotel Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing