We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
9
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
6
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We came into Tucumcari late in the evening, and saw that many establishments had already filled or closed. The Buckaroo's neon sign was still shining, though, and we registered. Same minor issues with a hot room for the first hour or so, but the A/C eventually more than cooled it off. Comfortable beds, a clean room, and a very good price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank RCMoeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed there as part of our Big 2013 Road Trip. Great neon sign. Spacious & clean room - not fancy or new, but decent, with original furniture (only minor complaint - A/C took a while to cool the room). Very reasonable price. Friendly people, & a friendly cat too. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RCMoeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

This has been the best place we have stayed throughout our trip. Friendly hosts checked our family in quickly and hassle free. Our room was spotless and had alot of character. It was very quiet and the ac worked great. At less than $35 per night, this is absolutely a great deal. Way better than a chain hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

If you're going to stay in Tucumcari, for goodness sake, don't go for the Super 8 or Hampton Inn. Instead, get a little taste of American history and spend the night at a motel that travelers might've visited during the heyday of Route 66. The Buckaroo fits this bill very nicely indeed. A quiet, clean, motor court, as they used to call them, with friendly office and housekeeping staff that are a pleasure to talk to. The rooms are basic, but clean and appear recently refurbished. You'll still get a key instead of a plastic card. Plus, you can't beat the nightly rate.

I wholeheartedly recommend the Buckaroo. You'll want to take a photo of the neon sign, too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jmhouse73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

OK, this place is the best. I never spend big bucks on overnight when crossing the country and this place is killer. Really nice owners, cheap rate ($25), quiet as heck, clean and solid value. I will always stay here, not enough of these places left on the map anymore. The rooms do not stink either. Budget but great budget. No chocolate candy on the pillow but totally great American value. The Blue Swallow down the street charges 10 bucks to turn on the neon lights for a photo opp. who needs that ripoff route 66 hospitality????

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bigwhiteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews