We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tamales”

Leonel's Fresh Tamales
Ranked #63 of 135 Restaurants in Taos
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 August 2017

I've been a fan since Leonel's was just a food truck. The Green Chile and Chicken Tamales are my favorite, but the traditional Pork Tamales are good too. This is a simple little cafe style place but well worth a visit for authentic food. It is NOT Tex Mex!, it's New Mex traditional cuisine.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2017

If you want authentic Mexican food make sure you stop here. I've tried the tamales, burritos, and the tortas and have not been disappointed. This is not your typical find in Taos. Yes, there are many southwestern food restaurants in Taos, but this is truly authentic Mexican food. The chicharrón burritos are great! The chicharrones are tasty and crispy. The choices of tamales are the best.
The only disappointing thing about this restaurant is they close at 5:00PM. Make sure you order something to go!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Carcarcarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

I like to go to Leonels for lunch. Great burritos & tamales. Everything I have had here is really good. Huge portions....great prices!

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Leesa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

My husband favorite. family owned, good service, fast, homemade, will go back again and again for pure pleasure

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank TeriK105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We had dinner here and had tamales, of course, as well as Navajo Tacos (pork and chicken) and guacamole. I preferred the pork with green chiles, to the chicken with red chiles, but both were great. The guacamole was amazing, and the tamales were incredible--I could eat these every day.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ashsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leonel's Fresh Tamales also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Leonel's Fresh Tamales? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing