We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true oasis in the South West.”
Review of Casa Gallina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Gallina
Ranked #1 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Richard, the innkeeper, should write a book on how to run a magical B&B. Having stayed in quite a few B & B's, I must say this one is my favorite. From the note on the door to the "girls"
(chickens) we truly enjoyed every minute there. The artisan decor is whimsical and every little detail was just perfect. If you are going to Taos give yourself a treat and stay here.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank dconblz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 257 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

I just returned from my fifth visit to beautiful, Casa Gallina. It doesn't seem possible, but it just keeps getting better and better. The problem is, it is so wonderful that you never want to leave! Richard has created a magical place that stays forever in your heart, mind and soul. Whether you are traveling solo, as a family or with a significant other you will undoubtedly fall madly in love with Taos and Casa Gallina. Counting the days until I return again!

Room Tip: Every Casita is gorgeous and totally charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmeliesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We arrived at Casa Gallina worn and frazzled from too much work and stress. After 3 nights in our beautiful and relaxing casita we were refreshed and serene. Our host , Richard, truly went out of his way to make us feel welcome and pampered. We arrived to wine and cheese and crackers and Richard kept us supplied in eggs and home baked goods for the duration of our stay. He helped us to find hiking spots, restaurants and more. I can't wait to return to Taos and the Bantam Roost. Can't say enough about the property and Host.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The units at Casa Gallina are unique and wonderful, but what truly makes it a great experience are the efforts of the owner, Richard Spera. Richard goes "above and beyond the call of duty" to make his guests feel at home and ensure that their stay is a memorable one. My wife loved the furnishings and details of Barred Rock. Rather than the generic or standard furnishings one would find in most accomodations, Barred Rock is unique and warm and reflects the inspiration and hard work of the owner. My daughter fell in love with Richard's chickens and fed them several times a day. Richard took the time to take her with him to collect eggs in the morning and since then she has been telling everyone she meets about it. Casa Gallina is in a rural setting and yet is only a few minutes from the centre of Taos. It is both delightful and peaceful and enables you to slow down and experience for a few days a slower life, to absorb experiences and memories that you will take back into your daily life, wherever you come from, and that will call you back to Taos and Casa Gallina again someday. Thank you.

Room Tip: Barred Rock has two bedrooms and hence is good for a family or two couples travelling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Casa de Gallina was recommended by a dear friend who has stayed there several times and raved as much about Richard Spera, its visionary owner, as the place itself. There is no way to "overcompliment" either. Without being cloying or intrusive, Richard welcomes you into what feels like home -- lovely, cozy, individual casitas, each unique, and each beautiful, each comfortably appointed (with kitchen supplies like coffee and olive oil and wine and the freshest eggs I've ever had, and delicious homemade noches) -- as if you'd come back to your own wonderful vacation home in Taos. Not only is everything done with an artist's eye and a poet's heart -- a library of CDs in the entertainment cabinet and books in each room -- but all of the artwork is by local artists and is available for purchase. It's clear that Richard is a vital part of the Taos community and considers it part of his mission to promote Taos' "artists," be they locavore restaurateurs, jewelers, potters or boutique owners. I have never been to a place that is as homey, beautiful and embracing as Casa Gallina.

Room Tip: The room you choose really depends on availability and how many are in your party. There is no &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
3.5 km away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,220 reviews
3.4 km away
The Historic Taos Inn
4.5 km away
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Ranchos De Taos
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
4.2 km away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#3 of 23 in Taos
538 reviews
3.9 km away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gallina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gallina

Address: 613 Callejon Rd, Taos, NM 87571-5144
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: ₹ 15,419 - ₹ 18,194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Gallina 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of town in a quiet, pastoral setting, Casa Gallina's three gorgeous adobe casitas offer an oasis of home for visitors exploring the Taos area. Spacious, charming and just a five minute drive to historic Taos Plaza, each casita is decorated and appointed with furniture, art, antiques, and textiles from New Mexico, Old Mexico and the world over. Casa Gallina feels truly like your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Gallina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing