We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique, high-end, comfortable, great...”
other travellers have booked this property
Your introduction to the inside of 'Sunrise at the dOme' living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your introduction to the inside of 'Sunrise at the dOme' living room
Dining room that can seat up to 10 of your friends/family with the views. The view of dOme from the formal dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Your introduction to the inside of 'Sunrise at the dOme' living room
Dining room that can seat up to 10 of your friends/family with the views.
The view of dOme from the formal dining room
Sunrise at the dOme
You enter through the teak doors
Two acres with a pasture and corral. You can bring your horse!
Entrance with the 38 foot beams
Beams continue inside. Wood stove and the wood is provided.
Entrance: secure gated property
Kitchen: granite, stainless steel. Everything you will need. I am a foodie!
Kitchen Bar
Kitchen is large
Dry Bar with all the glasses for your cocktail needs. Hallway to the back bedrooms, bathroom
Living room inside the dOme
Great entertaining space
Full size Sauna
Loft sleeps 4: queen and full (Euro lounge opens)
Living area in dome and steps to the loft
Steps to Loft
Separate stall shower with a view
Double sinks and a hot towel bar. Tub is a jacuzzi style.
Looking up in the dOme
King bed in the view room
Bedroom with a walk in closet. Robes await you. All rooms have the full mountain view.
Entrance area. Bench to change into slippers
Master Bedroom with a king bed
View from the Master Bedroom
Nicho in Master Bedroom
Slippers for you comfort
Washing Machine and Dryer
View of Property after a fresh snowfall
Every morning the Sunrise is different
Sunrise from the dining room window
Sunrise
Sunset Glow
The dOme home
Reflection in window
Summer View
Master Bathroom: two sinks, separate shower, two person tub.
Master Bathtub. Soak together.
Master suite Kitchenette
Original art throughout the home.
Afternoon Light in December. The view from the home.
New Decking and step system to get to the Sunset view spot on the property.
There are three art installations along the path up.
Art installation along the path.
The top deck with 360 degree views. Cocktail time during sunset!
The patio and covered porch outside the bedrooms.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Taos, Taos County, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Cynthia T
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
“Unique, high-end, comfortable, great location...wow!”
Reviewed 3 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We absolutely loved staying at the dome house. We saw beautiful sunsets up on the deck, prepared and consumed amazing meals, skied a challenging mountain and perhaps even danced in living room. Thank you Ellen!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skibumgyp...
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We had the Best Time Ever!”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our stay at Sunrise was wonderful! We found it to be exactly like the pictures on line, and everything was just beautiful. We were even welcomed with a bottle of wine and a bottle of sparkling cider - very thoughtful and much appreciated after our arduous trip due to weather. Ellen, the owner , has thought of everything one could ask for and more. She has lots of books to read and movies to watch, in addition to cookbooks if you feel like trying new foods. The dome is just lovely, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The views are gorgeous. - from the loft you can look out the skylight and see the lights of Taos, and from the bedrooms you can watch the sunrise over the mountains. At night you can hear coyotes yip and howl. The kitchen has everything you need to cook with and set a beautiful table. I especially loved the pretty dishes, as well as the view from the dining room which is absolutely stunning! It made it hard to leave to go skiing in the morning...coming home to the sauna was a real treat though. We wished we didn't have to go home but we will definitely come back to Sunrise!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was great, but my daughter's favorite thing was feeding the fish in the pond, and my husband was impressed by the engineering of the dome.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald D
Austin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible hidden gem”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Sunrise at the dOme is a wonderful hidden gem that was far beyond our expectations. From the moment you walk into this home its wow factor just keeps on giving. If you have the opportunity to stay at this home don't pass it by. The owner was quick to respond to all questions, and she even sent us a packet with things to do, places to eat, and information about the area as well.

If we make it back to Taos we will make sure that we stay at the dOme!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire house itself
Liked least: The turn off is a little tricky to find the first time.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2016
Thank you Donald for picking my home for your stay. It is my dream home that I have been working on for years. I do love hospitality and I am wanting to share it with quality people like you. I know that my guests 'get' what I have done there and they respect it very much. Please do return if your plans bring you back to Taos.
-Ellen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamos67
New Braunfels, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it so much we already booked it again!”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is my favorite house I have ever rented. We loved it so much we booked it again for next year. Ellen, the owner, was very helpful and informative. Taos was beautiful and there was plenty of snow for skiing. Beautiful town and beautiful house. Looking forward to next time. Thanks again Ellen!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was more than we expected
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy B
Cypress, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was an awesome home to stay for our vacation!!!”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Ellen (the owner) was fabulous to us...she was very informative about everything. Such a kind person and made us feel right at home.
It was our first time to go to Taos and go skiing, so all the information was soooo helpful. Much appreciated. I would definitely stay at her home in the future. The dOme is beautiful, comfortable and very convenient to the ski slopes as well as the town. It was more than perfect in every way!!! Thank you sooooo much for your hospitality and everything you did for us. Our ski instructor was awesome too. Thanks to Ellen for putting us in contact with him and all the instructors at Taos ski valley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing