We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ”
Review of Eske's Brew Pub

Eske's Brew Pub
Ranked #25 of 135 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Description: The oldest Brew-Pub in New Mexico, Eske's is located in an historic one-time residence in the heart of Taos. We've been serving up Craft Beer and Southwest Pub-Style food since 1992.
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Eske's is one our favorite places to go just to hang out for awhile and catch our breath and relax on the patio with a home brew. The chile beer is my favorite. They have a small menu but everything is good. Excellent Green Chile Stew and Green Chile Hamburger, which is my favorite.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Latigo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Eske's Brew Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Yes, our menu is small, and 0% fillers. Glad you could come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017

In Taos for a few days. My daughter told my husband to stop here for a green chilie beer. This is a must! Staff friendly.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Eske's Brew Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Our Green Chile Ale is an original- the first commercially available in NM, and still the best. Glad you enjoyed it, and so glad you found us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

When we travel we always try and hit the local Breweries. This one is a bit hard to find but is close to the town square. This looks like a converted old adobe home but its in the Historic District it may be newer and made to look this way. The place was not that busy, compared to what it could be. The service was fair to poor. Part of the issue is that it has 3 or 4 entrances and it is seat yourself. We were give a menu and ordered beer. Only 4 of their beers plus 4 guest beers. Those came out fast however we finally had to flag down the waitress to order. (Not Impressed) Once the food came out that was pretty much the last we saw of her until the bill. I know owners squeeze every dollar in small operations but another staff wait person would bring them a lot more income. I saw two different couples walk out in the time we were there. (Lack of Service). The food was ok but nothing special. Same with beer. I tried one of theirs but my wife was pretty much relegated to guest beer, which defeats the purpose of coming to a brewery, Probably will pass on our next trip to Taos

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Eske's Brew Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

The building Eske's has occupied since 1992 was in fact at one time a residence. Not having a main entrance as such, as well as other issues relating to being in a historic building, are a constant challenge. As can be staffing a business in Taos. We try to keep 8-9 of our own beers on draft at any given time, but there was this incident with a brewer, a trampoline and a pilon fracture...
I know, excuses, excuses. There are a lot of ups and downs for a small family-owned business, and I'm just sorry you caught us in a down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Had heard good things at the Visitor Center, but thought it was a bit hard to find...nice assortment of beers, food looked OK (only tried the pie), service was pretty slow

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BLtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Eske's Brew Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Glad you found us, and liked the beers- be sure to eat next time, you won't be dissapointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Excellent food and experience. I had the chili stew with chicken and the green chilis and my wife had the nachos. Both were excellent and the portions just right! Great beer selection and staff that hustles and very welcoming!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank deanmallon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Eske's Brew Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Sounds like we were firing on all cylinders- we appreciate your business, and kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eske's Brew Pub also viewed

 

Been to Eske's Brew Pub? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing