We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prettiest place we've stayed in a long time.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inger Jirby's Guest Houses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inger Jirby's Guest Houses
Ranked #7 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Taos
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Prettiest place we've stayed in a long time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We spent three days at Inger Jirby's Guest House and we couldn't have been happier. The property is absolutely beautiful - tons of her art and full of bright colors and sunshine. The house is enormous. Nice kitchen, great living room. Location is terrific, within walking distance of the square and tons of shopping. Inger and her assistant Sarah couldn't have been nicer. Sarah had everything ready for us when we arrived, including maps and brochures of things to do and she told us the best place to watch the fireworks for Fourth of July. The only warning is that the bedroom is upstairs in a loft reached by a spiral staircase so I wouldn't recommend it for anyone mobility impaired. But if you are looking for something with personality and charm and space, you can't go wrong with Inger Jirby's Guest House.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimInDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
santa rosa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Sarah, Ingers assitant, offered
to show us the casitas at Inger Jirbys when we visited her gallery next door. The next day when I sprained my ankle and had to find a place to stay for one more night, we were thrilled to find the casita available. Sarah got it ready for us in minutes, making it work for me and my crutches. I had a great bed downstairs, and my sister was able to climb to the loft to sleep in the queen bed under the wall of windows. We had a full kitchen to prepare dinner so no need to go out for dinner. We loved staying here. Just the kind of place you want to hang out.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crboisvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My family and I needed a place to stay overnight in Taos - one leg of a much longer roadtrip we were taking in the Spring. We were booked into the Jirby Guest Houses by mistake - normally they don't take bookings for one night - but they honored the booking. Boy, are we glad they did.

The space was beautiful - essentially a lavishly furnished one bedroom apartment, in the heart of the beautiful town. our only complaint is that we wish we had had more time to enjoy Taos, and the Guest House!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karnes City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Once I returned home from our stay, I realized what jewel we had picked for the location. Upon arrival we were greeted and treated like royalty. The casita was absolutely perfect, decor off the charts, the gallery and sculpture garden were alive with light, and the artist's work. Our time was spent walking everywhere to museums, galleries and restaurants in literally minutes. At the days end we didn't have to go but minutes to freshen up and walk for dinner or just enjoyed snacking as we had a fully equipped kitchen. I also appreciated having a washer and dryer. Could of acutally packed lighter and will the next time. Our casita couldn't of been a better choice. The sculpture garden was one of the favorite enjoyable experience along with a personal visit with Inger. Our visit inspired me to resume my passion of painting and teaching. Inger couldn't of been more gracious with the time she gave us. I recommend this as a not to miss experience, Hope you find your way to this incredible place.

Room Tip: I am sure the other casita was as clever and rich with art, textiles and just thought out comfort wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chimayo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

My fiance and I came across Inger Jirby's gallery and guesthouses when visiting Ledoux St. in October. When we decided to marry in Taos (about an hour from our home) in December, these were the first places I wanted to see if we could reserve. We stayed two evenings before the wedding and on the wedding night. Inger and her assistant, Martin, made us feel completely welcome; Inger even gave us an enormous bottle of prosecco to help us celebrate. The family and friends were in and out over the weekend, and they loved our "casita," too. We were in the Red Hawk Casita. The living room was charmingly furnished--Inger's lovely paintings added a really personal touch--and the full kitchen had everything we could have needed. Who else has a full service of Cuisinart cookware? The bath was enormous, lots of soft towels, and complete with a washer and dryer. The loft bedroom was pretty, comfortable, and, best of all, above a very quiet street. To top things off, Inger had put up a Christmas tree for us with homemade Swedish ornaments! This location is on a tiny, historic street with lots of galleries and museums, and just a short block from the Taos Plaza. One of our relatives (staying at a "sacred mountain" resort, asked if I'd share the price of our casita with her; she and her husband told me our casita was much nicer and much better for the price. Please stay here; you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Both casitas a very nice. Ours had the bathroom downstairs, which was more convenient for all our f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorseGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.4 km away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.8 km away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.0 km away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.7 km away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inger Jirby's Guest Houses? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inger Jirby's Guest Houses

Property: Inger Jirby's Guest Houses
Address: 207 Ledoux St, Taos, NM 87571-5943
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Taos
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,931 - ₹ 15,382
Hotel Class:2 star — Inger Jirby's Guest Houses 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1860, this New Mexico accommodation is located in Taos’ Historic District. Featuring original Southwest art and a fireplace, our guest houses feature a full kitchen as well as a washer and dryer in each unit. These 1150sf guest houses are truly your home away from home. Blending historical elements with modern amenities, villas at Inger Jirby's Guest Houses feature wood beamed ceilings and a flat-screen TV with satellite. The bright kitchen includes tea and coffee making facilities. Inger Jirby's Guest Houses share the compound with the world-renown artists’ gallery. Guests are encouraged to take a stroll through the outdoor sculpture garden. Founded in 1923 and showcasing both traditional and modern Taos art, the Harwood Museum is a short walk from these guest houses. The ancient Taos Pueblo ruins are 3.5 miles away. Room type: Villa Featuring a full kitchen equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, this villa includes a flat-screen TV with satellite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inger Jirby's Guest Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing