We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”
Review of El Meze Restaurant

El Meze Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
El Meze Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 130 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 50
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hail Creek
Description: We are located in the El Torreon Hacienda built in 1847 which reflects our philosophy, our food and the historical influences of Taos. From June - September we have patio seating under a tent with twinkle lights and the most incredible view of Taos Mountain.
Taos, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I was diappointed. I took two friends visiting and they really didn't like it. I thought it was avarage for Taos.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    114
    33
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing...”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

On the recommendation of Trip Advisor, went to El Meze this past weekend and had an amazing dinner. Sat outside on the patio and enjoyed the wonderful views of the mountains and experienced a spectacular dinner. Started with the trio of appetizers and it just got better from there. I had the Buffalo Tamale, and it was the best tamale I've ever eaten. It's hard to describe how wonderful the combination of flavors was but ... it was amazing. My dining partner had the lamb chops and they were amazing as well. We finished the meal with the lemon / raspberry dessert that ... blew our socks off. The waiter was great and we followed his recommendations which were excellent. All in all, probably the best meal I've had in NM for years. Definitely want to go back again soon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HomeinNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We had a delicious and creative meal on the patio. When it got cold (as it does in Taos on a summer's night), the staff brought out soft blankets so we could finish dinner in warmth. Great menu and wine list.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OddNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We eat here everytime we are in town.”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This has a wonderful charm and great environment. The patio has great views of the mountains to the east. We love the trout and the grilled romaine lettuce!! We have never been disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OSUtexasGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“lotta oil here”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The view from the outdoor dining room was fine, the service superb. And overall, the food was very tasty, which it should be when the bill for a party of 3 (dessert plus a bottle of wine) is on the north side of $150. But I have to agree with a reviewer who commented about the olive oil in every dish. It was floating here and there on the top of my gazpacho, with another 1/8" in the bottom of the plate in which my pork chops were served.
I don't know that much about Spanish cuisine. But there must be ways to prepare delicious, moist servings of food without drenching them in olive oil.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank james3343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Meze Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Meze Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing