We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Monte Sagrado(Taos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
278
43
16
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
278
43
16
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyellow birdb bowner pacofolk artnew mexicofamily historyspiral staircasehot tubsitting roomwithin walking distancelabor of lovetaos plazabeautiful artworkdvd playerother guestsplace to staypleasure of staying
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I've stayed at La Dona MANY times and Paco and the crew are always excellent. Nice rooms, great atmosphere, close to everything and all around a delightful spot to stay.

Room Tip: Ask what kind of tub they have, if there is a fireplace in the room and how close the room is to the kitchen.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dogperson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Our first visit to Taos, NM, and La Dona Luz Inn was the perfect B & B to welcome us to town. The hospitality sincere, welcoming, enthusiastic, and most helpful. The Inn is cozy and the building and rooms are each a work of art in their own right - beautiful attention to detail. The location is ideal, a short walk to the plaza. We will return again! A truly delightful and relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendra33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

As seasoned travelers it is always a joy to find something amazing and wonderful - Dona Luz is such a place. This B&B is a product of love, history, and ingenious dedication to the details that make Taos special. We stayed in the Yellowbird Deer Room. The room was filled with a plethora of art and crafts from Taos history. Our Kiva fireplace was a wonderful touch as was the Jacuzzi tub. The house many common areas and is very comfy. Paco the owner and Nicole the breakfast hostess could not have been more accommodating. It was a highlight of our first New Mexico holiday. I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: e his on-line site or callck out The place has some difficult steps with limited headroom - some rooms would not be appropriate for very tall patrons. Each room is different so it is advisable to check out rooms on-line before you go
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shorevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We travel as much as we can, and I cannot recommend LA DONA LUZ INN highly enough. If you want an authentic South West experience, this is the place to stay. Parts of this inn dates back to 1802 and the rest has been lovingly restored with two foot thick adobe walls, vigas, and wooden ceilings by our charming host Paco, whose hand in decorating shows his obvious artistic talents. Each room is unique, most having both a bedroom and sitting room. Original artwork, carvings and pottery adorn each room. It's located right in the middle of town, walking distance to restaurants and squares. Breakfast consists of toast, dry cereal, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee and tea and waffles made just for you. We enjoyed our conversations with Paco and the serving staff very much. Of all the places we have stayed, this ranks among the top three. The highlight of our trip to the South West.

Room Tip: Check out the web site to choose the room which appeals to you most. We stayed in both the Yellow Bird Deer Room and The Tiwa room, both of which were entrancing. The Angelitos room was also available, but I needed a larger side table.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FUBSYWOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This was our first visit to Taos, and we were looking for someplace convenient to stay. Wow...did we ever find that. La Dona Luz is so centrally located in Taos that it is easy to walk wherever you want to go. We stayed in the Yellow Bird Deer Room, and it was like staying in a museum. It was so beautifully and cheerfully decorated. If I had to be picky, the only drawback was that there was little room available for us to put our suitcases. Also, I was a little disappointed that when we checked in and asked about where certain stores were or where we should go, we were not given much direction. Perhaps it was just a busy time of day.But overall, this was a wonderful place and a great value. Breakfast of banana and cinnamon pancakes was just heavenly! I would definitely come back here on my next visit to Taos.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cw6346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews