We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cozy, well-located, budget option!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York/London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A cozy, well-located, budget option!”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of December and had a lot of fun. We booked the 'La Luz' room because of the amazing price, and I would definitely go back there. There are a lot of stairs (made worse by the altitude!) but there's a cute little couch, coffee table, and desk, as well as a full bed, fridge, and microwave. Bathroom is average sized and very clean. The big problem with this room, though, is that there's no door! At the top of the stairs are essentially large shutters: this means that you can hear everything below (and everyone below can hear you), and also that if people decide to take a little trip up the stairs they can see into the room. We had to tell people we were up there 3 times in as many days. This problem could be solved by a sign on the staircase and we suggested that when we left. I would still stay in this room again due to the price, but you should know that there's definitely a lack of privacy.

The inn itself was lovely. Great location in the center of town, cozy interior, and good breakfast, as well as friendly staff!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nylonbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donaluz, Owner at La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thank you for your review and kind words about our place!
Your timing was excellent as I just finished installing a beautiful hand-made, hand-carved custom door in the room you stayed in. It took almost a year for a local woodworker to finish it……life moves at a slower pace in Taos! As you noted, the old double doors, while beautifully made and quite lovely with willow branches in place of solid panels, did not block noise. They will now serve as closet doors. Check out the photos on our facebook page.

As this room is on the third floor, I also have plans to take even more advantage of the incredible mountain views. Stay tuned!

All our rooms feature the architectural details for which Taos is well known and are thematically decorated with fine art and regional treasures.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to hosting your future visits!
Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    43
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
61
152
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I've stayed at La Dona MANY times and Paco and the crew are always excellent. Nice rooms, great atmosphere, close to everything and all around a delightful spot to stay.

Room Tip: Ask what kind of tub they have, if there is a fireplace in the room and how close the room is to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogperson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Our first visit to Taos, NM, and La Dona Luz Inn was the perfect B & B to welcome us to town. The hospitality sincere, welcoming, enthusiastic, and most helpful. The Inn is cozy and the building and rooms are each a work of art in their own right - beautiful attention to detail. The location is ideal, a short walk to the plaza. We will return again! A truly delightful and relaxing stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
179 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

As seasoned travelers it is always a joy to find something amazing and wonderful - Dona Luz is such a place. This B&B is a product of love, history, and ingenious dedication to the details that make Taos special. We stayed in the Yellowbird Deer Room. The room was filled with a plethora of art and crafts from Taos history. Our Kiva fireplace was a wonderful touch as was the Jacuzzi tub. The house many common areas and is very comfy. Paco the owner and Nicole the breakfast hostess could not have been more accommodating. It was a highlight of our first New Mexico holiday. I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: e his on-line site or callck out The place has some difficult steps with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shorevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We travel as much as we can, and I cannot recommend LA DONA LUZ INN highly enough. If you want an authentic South West experience, this is the place to stay. Parts of this inn dates back to 1802 and the rest has been lovingly restored with two foot thick adobe walls, vigas, and wooden ceilings by our charming host Paco, whose hand in decorating shows his obvious artistic talents. Each room is unique, most having both a bedroom and sitting room. Original artwork, carvings and pottery adorn each room. It's located right in the middle of town, walking distance to restaurants and squares. Breakfast consists of toast, dry cereal, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee and tea and waffles made just for you. We enjoyed our conversations with Paco and the serving staff very much. Of all the places we have stayed, this ranks among the top three. The highlight of our trip to the South West.

Room Tip: Check out the web site to choose the room which appeals to you most. We stayed in both the Yellow Bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FUBSYWOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.6 km away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.2 km away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.9 km away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
1.0 km away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast

Property: La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast
Address: 114 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-7012
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,753 - ₹ 14,804
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the ambience of our quaint and colorful adobe inn. Our rooms are richly decorated in the Taos tradition and feature a large collection of fine art, Native American and Spanish antiques.Located in the heart of the historic downtown area, just a few steps off the old plaza. Recommended by The New York Times and USA Today. Featured on The Travel Channel series "Romantic Inns Of America". "The Essence of Old Taos". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Hotel Taos
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing