We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“...congenial staff coupled with gratifying amenities.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Pueblo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Pueblo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Mystic,CT
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“...congenial staff coupled with gratifying amenities.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This was essentially a revisit having spent a delightful week at El Pueblo in the 80's with the kids. Our annual TAOS trips now involve my wife and I spending the first 3 days of the trip alone and the kids joining us with their kids; total 14 in all, for the following week of skiing in a property of their choice to handle the group. The room we were assigned, 103, suited our needs with no complaints and we agree with the previous reports concerning cleanliness, comfort, etc... Em and Gastone saw to the front desk and took their management duties with a sincere professional attitude towards pleasing their guests.
A major plus was the breakfast....picture an astonishing assortment of offerings to please and a facility made up of nooks and crannies to sit and enjoy your breakfast; and without any hassle...I commented on it to the gal in charge and she asserted that getting up at 5am each day was the reason it worked so well.
All in all it was a delightful stay and when it came time to pick the kids and their 7 boys at ABQ on Saturday am we knew the peace and quiet was over. A $650 grocery bill at Costco on the way back sealed it...and of course we stopped at Gabriel's Restaurant on the way up as we always do coming and going.
This was also a certified homerun because the evening they got here we got a foot of snow on top of the excellent base in place and the skiing was A1. Also got 15" the day we left for those who followed.
One of the best years in recent memory in TAOS!

Room Tip: The staff are willing and able to assist you in providing what you need...I spoke with Gastone 3 mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank digidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    369
    70
    23
    12
See reviews for
279
552
48
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
232 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We requested a room with a wood burning fireplace, which was available. It was not a modern cookie cutter room, and therein was its' charm. The room was clean and comfortable.

An above average breakfast is provided in an equally interesting older building, just off the check in lobby.

The motel itself is conveniently located, just minutes from the Plaza.

My understanding is that there are newer units available, but we especially enjoyed the charm of the older units.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kjosker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We were very pleased with this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom looks like it was updated recently and has lovely ceramic tiles around the mirror which made it look bright and cheery. The best part, however, was that it was within walking distance to the center of town. The continental breakfast was good and the staff were very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I would recommend that you do not judge Taos by the first impression that it gives you, and that goes for this Lodge, also. This place and hotel will grow on you. At first glance, you will think that you've arrived at a motel. Some of It clearly used to be a motel, but it has been upgraded and quite of bit of personality has been added. We had a nice, newer room with a fireplace and kitchenette. The breakfast room is well-stocked but you won't get hot foods, other than toast and coffee here. The public areas, inside and outside are nice, but we were there in winter, so, a bit limited. The hotel is convenient to downtown and the Pueblo. We thought it was a very reasonable drive to Taos Ski Valley. Go to Cids for groceries. When I factor in the price paid, I have to say this was a very good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CW2S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This is a truly great value very close in to town. We enjoy walking to dinner and shopping and this motel allowed us to do that easily. We had a king size room with a fireplace and a small balcony. The continental breakfast is not fancy, but we found it perfectly adequate. (We were eating pretty well the rest of the day - there are so many restaurants to try in Taos.) My only complaint was the pillows. This is minor, but they were either hard or lumpy. Easily solved by bringing your own favorite from home.

Room Tip: Ask for the king rooms in the north building. These are pretty quiet and very large. Some have fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richandtrudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.2 km away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 16 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
5.5 km away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.7 km away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
5.6 km away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 16 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
3.3 km away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#11 of 16 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pueblo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pueblo Lodge

Property: El Pueblo Lodge
Address: 412 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5906
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Taos
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,740 - ₹ 12,941
Hotel Class:2 star — El Pueblo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on four beautifully landscaped acres on the north side of Taos, we are a short walk to the Historic Taos Plaza, in addition to shops, galleries and world class restaurants. Taos Pueblo and Taos Mountain Casino are one mile away and Taos Ski Valley only a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your El Pueblo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pueblo Hotel Taos
El Pueblo Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing