We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Agoda.com
$1,152
View deal
Destinia.com
$1,218
View deal
Trip.com
$1,182
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (907)
Filter reviews
907 results
Traveller rating
809
71
14
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
809
71
14
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool eco house game drives wild dogs the reserve safari lodge kids activities watering hole his job little touches his knowledge every evening magical experience star experience out of this world food was amazing brown hyena
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 907 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We enjoyed a fantastic 3 night stay in the Lelapa Madikwe Safari Lodge, with the highlight being the wonderful room and exceptional service from Lebo in particular. We enjoyed some fantastic game drives with great sightings of wild dogs, elephant, rhino, hyena and black-backed jackal pups and a wonderful experience where we followed two male lions on their patrols and scent marking missions.

The food was generally very good, we were a bit disappointed by the lapa "braai" dinner, which was not up to the standard of the rest of the meals. We found the lunches to be particularly enjoyable on the lodge deck surrounded by birdlife.

All in all a fantastic, relaxing weekend where we met some great new people.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wayne_Harpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 November 2016

A fantastic experience in Africa! Nice people, great food and services from a dedicated staff. I would certainly reccomend this lodge to you! We'll come back with the rest of the family. A nice atmosphere.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hansw287
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We have been to many lodges and on numerous wild excursions and this was one of the best ever. Our Ranger, Luke, was great. His knowledge and passion shines like a bright star and he made the trip worth the while. The staff and food was excellent and you made extra effort to make our 24th Anniversary something to remember. My challenge now is how do I improve on this for our 25th anniversary? - Thanks - we ill be back.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank WouterFourie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Spent 3 nights at Madikwe and could not get enough of the place. The rides in the bush were incomparable and we also took a walk with one of the rangers--what a different perspective that is (now you know what the prey feels like). Highlight, besides the sundowner breaks for a cocktail, was the night ride. Hundreds of animals came out of nowhere as soon as the sun went down---rhinos, hyenas, cape buffalo--you name it. On our last ride our guide, J.P., went out of his way to find a pride of lions. To say they were almost in the land rover is an understatement. Being so close to magnificent creatures like elephants and giraffes in their natural state is a feeling you cannot forget.

Room tip: Any of the free standing cottages works
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank judgesully
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

We went on safari with our three children aged 8,6 and 3. We were given or own dedicated safari vehicle which meant our children could if they wished come on all game drives. Or guide Daniel was amazing with the children and spent lots of time explaining things and answering some crazy questions from the kids with patience and lots of humor. The children's activities were varied and the kids enjoyed every moment, Lebo who was in charge became a favorite of our kids and they even cried when we had to leave. The babysitting service was also great allowing the older ones to enjoy some peaceful game drives, fantastic experience.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank julesh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews