We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.com
$1,047
View deal
Destinia.com$1,119
FindHotel$1,053
Trip.com$1,080
Etrip$1,080
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (902)
Filter reviews
902 results
Traveller rating
804
71
14
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
804
71
14
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool eco house game drives wild dogs the reserve safari lodge kids activities watering hole his job little touches his knowledge field guide every evening magical experience star experience out of this world food was amazing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 902 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We had an excellent stay and experience at Madikwe Safari Lodge - saw the Big 5 and lots of other animals/birds in the 3 days/2 nights we were there. The accommodation with our own private balcony and outdoor plunge pool was romantic and amazing. Our ranger Mitchell was very skilled and knowledgable.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lizzied26
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We stayed at Madikwe in July of this year as part of a 3 lodge safari with the More Group.

Madikwe was our first stop and we were absolutely blown away. The lodge itself is beautiful- we stayed at Kopano and loved it. The food was great, and the game drives truly amazing. The staff at this lodge truly go above and beyond.

My only gripe is actually with the More Group- we found it extremely difficult to book through them, it almost felt that they didn't want our business- which is frustrating when you spend that kind of money, but at the end of the day, the lodge is wonderful and is worth the booking hassle.

Date of stay: July 2016
3  Thank holidayperson80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

we stayed in Kampala Lodge. It was a very private setting with hosts and hostesses who could not have been more accommodating. Room was beautiful.
our guide, Billy, was extraordinary he could spot a spider in the dark

wonderful experience

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank SteveE995
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Absolutely fantastic place to stay. I would recommend Madikwe Safari Lodge to anyone. Was quite an experience and we will never forget the time we had there. We were welcomed by the manager Alan and everyone made us feel so welcome.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank phillycampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We spent 4 nights in this amazing place as a family of four (kids aged 12 and 10). We had never been to South Africa before and never been on a safari before so everything was new to us. We transferred from Jo'burg to Madikwe on the Fed Air flight and had to go around at the time of landing due to a baby giraffe on the runway!! My poor son was sick in the bag but that was a combination of tiredness, a bag of crisps on the plane and the quick circuit. We were met by our guide for the next few days and immediately he made us feel welcome and relaxed. He listened with interest in our story and wants and when we saw our first wild elephants he stopped and let us marvel in this new adventure. When we arrived at the lodge we have a lovely welcome with many staff introducing themselves, cold refreshing towels and drinks and our bags were taken to our lodge. We signed the standard waivers about doing what we were told and that the animals are wild :))
We then went on to have four amazing nights, eight safari drives, sundowners, sunuppers, barbeque, boma, etc etc and learnt so much from our guide Luke Abbott that we are all keen to return asap and are already planning the next visit. The whole experience was made by our guide who answered all our naive questions as well as some vaguely intelligent ones. We had one drive with 8 in the jeep and 2 with 6 in the jeep and the rest were just us so we were able to concentrate on what we hadn't seen or wanted to see more of. This was just luck of the draw but we did actually enjoy the safaris with the others as they asked questions we hadn't thought of and it sparked some good conversations.
Our guide was excellent at sharing and collecting info from other guides from our lodge and others so we always felt he was trying really hard to get us experiences and sightings that we really wanted. Not a cheap holiday but an experience we will always remember.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caroline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews