We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wildlife and setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simbavati River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Simbavati River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Berne
Level Contributor
323 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great wildlife and setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed at Simbavati last september and really enjoyed it. The setting is great - right on a river, so with a lot of animals and birds coming to drink. From the main deck, restaurant and boma, you can enjoy views of the river. The bungalows (good for families and with direct river views) and tents are comfortable, with everything you need, but not as luxurious as in other places (not meant as critism). My tent had a nice big indoor bathroom with a tub, and an outdoor shower (other tents have a indoor shower, and a outdoor tub), which i really enjoyed. Its great to shower outoors, under the open sky, and observe a nyala or bushbock whilst showering.

I had some great sightings on the game drives whilst at Simbavati. Also, really tasty food, good athomsphere, lovely management couple (Elmarie and Charly). However - The most important part of a fantastic safari / lodge stay, is for me - the Ranger (and to lesser extent the Tracker). Chris, our Ranger, found us some amazing sightings, and was really nice, but - and I'm not sure how to correctly explain this in english - was giving us guests a little bit the feeling that we where in the jeep because we are paying guests and he had to keep us happy, but he would rather be driving around on his own.

Overall, I think if Simbavati was the first lodge in Africa I had ever visited, I would be giving 7 stars for it and would absolutely love it. Comparing it to the 20 or so other lodges I have visited in the last 4 years, I can say that it is very good value for money, a lovely place, but not on my top 5 list I have to visit again in South Africa.

Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank nathalieyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    68
    19
    2
    0
See reviews for
169
160
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Have never bothered to write a review of a property before but this was exceptional and really deserves a mention.
The accommodation was lovely and every member of the staff we met were terrific.
A special mention must go to Justice, the young waiter/barman who really did aim to give five star service every day.
The game drives were fabulous and thanks to the tracker and guide we saw all of the "big five" plus more.
A lovely experience

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toone463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Our family stayed at the Simbavati Lodge for 4 nights in March, 2012. It was perfect. The staff was accommodating and professional, but not cloying. We saw amazing wildlife. Our guide, Chris and spotter, Daniel were knowledgeable, effective and fun to be with. They worked hard to get us to the animals. The accommodations were lovely. Comfortable and luxurious without pretension. Excellent food, as well. Also, the Simbavati is located on the water, so during our "down" time there were plenty of opportunities to see wildlife. We would go back in a heartbeat. Well managed and even the gift shop had a lovely selection of African crafts. We would definitely return to this gem.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillie921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Thanks to Bush Baby Safaris for booking us in to this great place and to Pierre, our guide for staying with us. The welcome was interesting and fun, the tents were terrific with air con and very fancy baths. Showers were outdoors but very private except for the occasional buffalo looking in. I have 27 different sightings in my journal from our first game drive. The highlight was being able to see the white lions of the Timbavati in addition to the Big 5...saw lions and leopards on both days of our stay. Pierre had told us a little about the white lions with their blue eyes but it was an incredible thing to actually see. Thanks Pierre and the terrific staff at Simbavati for a great start to our trip!

Room Tip: The rooms farther from the lodge require a longer walk but often have buffalo, elephants and hippos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RiverLadyMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Thanks for much for such a great birthday trip. Our guide Pete and tracker Noel went the extra mile to make the trip amazing. We saw all of the big five and loads more. The leopards were my favourite, so beautiful.

The lodge is comfortable and the staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful.

As well as seeing all the widllife on the drives, the river location means you see all sorts of animals at the lodge itself

Hearing the chorus of staff singing so beautfiully for me on my birthday was a memory that will live with me forever.

I can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbelne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
1.0 km away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
18.7 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
5.1 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
8.1 km away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
9.7 km away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbavati River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbavati River Lodge

Property: Simbavati River Lodge
Address: Northern Sector of the Timbavati, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price range (per night): ₹ 50,020 - ₹ 72,083
Hotel Class:4 star — Simbavati River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simbavati River Lodge is situated in the northern sector of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, and surrounded by 12 000 hectares of wildlife and rich wilderness in which you can experience an authentic and affordable African safari.The design of this 4-star lodge is contemporary, warm and welcoming. Guest common areas offer a generously proportioned lounge, bar, boma and extensive decks with breathtaking views overlooking the Nhlaralumi river where regular wildlife sightings take place and guests can unwind.Accommodation consists of eight luxury tents and three chalets; all are privately situated, comfortably furnished and with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Simbavati River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbavati River Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Simbavati River Lodge Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing