We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Safari Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simbavati River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Our family stayed at the Simbavati Lodge for 4 nights in March, 2012. It was perfect. The staff was accommodating and professional, but not cloying. We saw amazing wildlife. Our guide, Chris and spotter, Daniel were knowledgeable, effective and fun to be with. They worked hard to get us to the animals. The accommodations were lovely. Comfortable and luxurious without pretension. Excellent food, as well. Also, the Simbavati is located on the water, so during our "down" time there were plenty of opportunities to see wildlife. We would go back in a heartbeat. Well managed and even the gift shop had a lovely selection of African crafts. We would definitely return to this gem.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillie921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 365 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

Thanks to Bush Baby Safaris for booking us in to this great place and to Pierre, our guide for staying with us. The welcome was interesting and fun, the tents were terrific with air con and very fancy baths. Showers were outdoors but very private except for the occasional buffalo looking in. I have 27 different sightings in my journal from our first game drive. The highlight was being able to see the white lions of the Timbavati in addition to the Big 5...saw lions and leopards on both days of our stay. Pierre had told us a little about the white lions with their blue eyes but it was an incredible thing to actually see. Thanks Pierre and the terrific staff at Simbavati for a great start to our trip!

Room Tip: The rooms farther from the lodge require a longer walk but often have buffalo, elephants and hippos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiverLadyMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Thanks for much for such a great birthday trip. Our guide Pete and tracker Noel went the extra mile to make the trip amazing. We saw all of the big five and loads more. The leopards were my favourite, so beautiful.

The lodge is comfortable and the staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful.

As well as seeing all the widllife on the drives, the river location means you see all sorts of animals at the lodge itself

Hearing the chorus of staff singing so beautfiully for me on my birthday was a memory that will live with me forever.

I can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbelne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We had a really enjoyable stay at Simbavati - such a beautiful position on the river and we loved the luxury tents. Amazing to stand in our deck whilst watching elephants in the bush a few metres away. Great leopard sightings, loads of elephants, brilliant rhinos - only the lions were elusive! The lodge wasn't full when we visited so we had game drives with only one other couple which made for an intimate safari experience. Our ranger Diff had great knowledge of the local bird life which added a great additional interest. Food was tasty and plentiful and the drinks reasonably priced. Good service from all the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IBB241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is a really great place, the view of the river, the owners, the staff in general great people. All the guest seem to gravitate to one area and you get to meet and chat. The actuall safaris were great, we were there for 2 days and saw the Big 5 both days - COOL. We had 2 great guides. We could have stayed longer....... Really enjoyed......

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mca2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
38.2 km away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
637 reviews
1.0 km away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#9 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
222 reviews
18.7 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#6 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
715 reviews
16.5 km away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
209 reviews
16.9 km away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbavati River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbavati River Lodge

Address: Northern Sector of the Timbavati, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: ₹ 52,577 - ₹ 67,868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Simbavati River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simbavati River Lodge is situated in the northern sector of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, and surrounded by 12 000 hectares of wildlife and rich wilderness in which you can experience an authentic and affordable African safari.The design of this 4-star lodge is contemporary, warm and welcoming. Guest common areas offer a generously proportioned lounge, bar, boma and extensive decks with breathtaking views overlooking the Nhlaralumi river where regular wildlife sightings take place and guests can unwind.Accommodation consists of eight luxury tents and three chalets; all are privately situated, comfortably furnished and with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Simbavati River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbavati River Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Simbavati River Lodge Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing