We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simbavati River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$ 46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortis Hotel Capital(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$ 110
US$ 107
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$ 75
US$ 63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 93
US$ 71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$ 79
US$ 64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 95
US$ 93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 195
US$ 141
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
US$ 103
US$ 100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
419
77
20
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
77
20
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily chaletluxury tentsgame driveswalked rightmain deckwatch animalssafari experiencetimbavati reservebuffet stylekruger parkwild dogsgreat safarian amazing experiencethe managerssabi sandsexceeded our expectationsoutdoor shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
383 - 388 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed in the lodge from the 23rd of October till the 26th. We had a very nice stay in the lodge.
We stayed in the Cheetah tent, which was a very special experience for us. Especially when you can hear the rino's around your tent at night!
Many thanks to the staff whcich was absolutly wonderfull, especially Jimmy and Collins our driver and spotter.
I would recommend this lodge to anyone, it will be an experience you will never forget!

Room Tip: Take a tent instead of a chalet, the experience you will get with the outdoors is much better!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanielenChantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We travelled with an open mind and found that the safari game rides were the best. Our guides. Christoff and Daniel were very informative and experienced. They took along very exciting trails and the leopard trail was simply amazing. It was very fulfilling and we plan to have the rest of the family visit next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susiemarshall7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We recently travelled to South Africa on the first leg of our honeymoon and began at Simbavati Lodge. Its hard to overstate how great an experience it was. The staff could not have been more friendly, accomodating and helpful. Our safari guide Jimmy was incredibly knowledgable and friendly. But the biggest surprise (for me) was the food! Every meal was gourmet I felt like we were in a 5-star hotel in NY.

Its hit or miss with the safari obviously, and I see some bad reviews of Timbavati reserve. I can tell you we saw everything we could have hoped to see. The only thing we can even think that we didn't was a cheetah, and we know how rare that would have been. We saw all of the Big 5 including some very rare white lions. Thanks for finding everything for us Jimmy!

You will not regret staying at the lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed 4 nights at Simbavatti River Lodge with friends.
It was our first safari game and we got to see the Big 5 and a lot more, which was far above our expectations. We can't stop talking about it since returning home.
Our guide Christoff and tracker Daniel were well knowledged, professional and very friendly. The experience of being meters away from the animals was super exciting.
We stayed in 'BUFFALO' , a beautiful 2 bedroom lodge with many nice touches + a very special bathroom. The location on the river bank was perfect.
The food was excellent, plenty, extremely tasty and beautifully presented. To eat in the Boma at night by the fire was wonderful.

Our stay in Simbavatti was truly unforgettable!
Saddest check out ever!
Many thanks to Elmarie, Charlie and the whole team.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ramnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Simbavati Lodge is a great place to stay at, with a very pleasant setting right on the banks of a river where hippo bathe. Excellent service by the staff, and they have a great chef too. That said, we had a disappointing safari experience, In 3 outings we only saw 2 of the big 5: elephants (plenty) and rhino. No cats or buffalo insight! In fact we were surprised at the low desnity of animal population in general. Different people that we shared our vehicle had just come from Kruger park and said they saw a lot more animals, including the Big 5. We subsequently heard that some of the rivers in Timbavati have recently been dammed, causing changes to the ecosystem which might explain the absence of animals.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews