We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Kapama”
Review of Kapama River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kapama River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Our two days stay at the Kapama River Lodge has left an everlasting mark on our memories. Our first safari experience was surpassed by the knowledgeable rangers and overall staff at Kapama. We shall look forward to a future adventure at Kapama and enjoy their many amenities - thank you for a breathtaking holiday in SA.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dlanning12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 1,835 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Kapama for two nights and had an absolute ball - wish we could have stayed longer. The rooms were great and the service was fantastic! Excellent facilities and extremely friendly and helpful staff who went above and beyond to make our experience at Kapama second to none. The food was plentiful and amazing and the wellness centre to first class.
The game drives were amazing and we loved the fact that we had the same ranger and spotter for every drive. Michael and Magnum are an awesome team and they made sure we had the best possible experience. We will definitely return to River Lodge!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mongibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Never been, first time and what an event. We stayed 3 nights at the Lodge, all inclusive ( except alcohol ) and had the pleasure of Nanette and Las our Ranger and Tracker. Up at 5 am every day for the first drive of the day and then again at 4.30 pm for another 3 hours or so. We saw everything we wanted from the closest of positions and it was all truly magical. A privileged opportunity that I will never forget. Every aspect was superb and the staff including our safari team were outstanding, my thanks to all, I will return. Enjoy........

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

The overall structure is very good and the location is excellent, just crossing the road in front of the airport (25 min ride until the Southern Camp Lodge).
The rooms are good, however the hot water of our shower wasn’t working (the team managed to move us to another room but was bad to have to pack everything for that). Also, the position of the air-conditioner could be better as the air goes straight to the bed, and with that we could not keep it on all the night.
The safáris are amazing and the staff is really good, specially our Guide Philip who was well disposed, kind and attentive during all the time! (Thanks Philip!)

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 481rodrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

The Lodge is easy to find and the entrance to the park and the security is very impressive. The site is beautiful and very well run. The team are very welcoming and the service is excellent. The spa on site is beautiful and the range of treatments is impressive. We did 4 game drives and saw all of the big 5 often very very close up. It was breathtaking. Put this on your bucket list and you will not be fail to be impressed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
4.9 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
418 reviews
8.7 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
454 reviews
6.4 km away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
289 reviews
0 km away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15 reviews
53.3 km away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama River Lodge

Address: R40 | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range: ₹ 40,438 - ₹ 92,092 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama River Lodge is situated within Kapama Game Reserve, and presents the perfect blend between luxurious safari accommodation and a generous bed capacity of 64 bedrooms. Although large, it is so stylish, roomy and beautifully positioned along a dry riverbed, that guests fall in love with it. Each spacious room at Kapama River Lodge features a full en-suite bathroom and terrace with uninterrupted views into the leafy-green Big 5 game reserve. The central guest entertainment areas include a large rim-flow swimming pool with sun umbrellas and recliners for lazy afternoons. The long L-shaped relaxation lounge and bar under a double-volume thatch, curves around the pool and on either side is a huge double-sided fireplace creating a wondrous open-plan yet cosy atmosphere. The Rhino Boma dining area with tables arranged under a low thatch in a horseshoe curve, has a central open space where a roaring outdoor fire gives a glow to evening meals. Buffet-style meals introduce African flavours with Pan African dishes using fresh local ingredients and specialist dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kapama River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama River Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama River Lodge Kruger National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing